2004 Grand Marquis

Consumer Reviews

2004 Mercury Grand Marquis

$1,485 - $8,349  MSRP Range
2004 Mercury Grand Marquis

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

23 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Classy classic comforts the consumer

by Glenda from Westville, NJ on Thu May 29 2014

This is the 3rd Mercury Grand Marquis we've owned and I'd buy a new one in a New York minute at full price if they were still being made. Drives almost effortlessly, glides over the road, with lots of room for big or tall folks, but easily adjustable driver's side seat controls for a short slight woman like me. I admit I'm a picky perfectionist who does lots of research on major purchases. Many owners keep the car in tip top shape and are just as fussy as I am about maintenance and care. Don't let published consumer reliability ratings override all the plusses of the 2004 model year. Any repairs are probably already done if buying at a dealership or only cost a few hundred to fix otherwise. Very comfortable, classy and reliable, even for a short person.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car!

by Jon from Livonia, NY on Tue Apr 08 2014

This is the 5th Panther Platform car I have owned. These cars are rock solid reliable and actually get better gas mileage than you might think. On a long trip you can tickle 30mpg. They are also very easy and inexpensive to work on. That coupled with a lot of interior room and amazing crash test ratings makes for a no brainer family vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 floats like a cloud

by mercuryman from INDIAN MILLS , N.J. on Sat Jan 18 2014

great car. bought the ultimate edition 46000 miles in Dec 2013. car is beautiful to look at light blue w dark blue roadster roof. the air ride makes the car float like a cloud. fuel consumption is what I would expect [had 3 panther platforms before].bought this car to replace my 06 crown vic that suddenly started making engine noise at 87000 mi. like the traditional look. doesn't look like a wedge or an egg or some other JUNK. the simulated wood steering wheel is an elegant touch. hope it gives me years of reliability like these cars are known to do. sorry ford stopped making them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent used car vaule

by DRJJJ from NW on Thu Jun 13 2013

Find a 2003 or newer owned and taken good car of by elderly with low miles for $5k -6k now and avg 20 mpg, low maintenance and parts cost, upscale, quiet, smooth, safe and low cost of ownership! Easy one of the best used car values now!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable, powerful, comfortable, efficient

by seanscottusa from Dallas, TX on Fri Jul 28 2017

Aside from exterior styling, this car has it all. It runs really well. I've had it in the shop once ever, and that was to replace a broken button. It moves quick... same V8 in the Mustang GT. The seats are like La-Z-Boy recliners. And, even averaging around 80-85 mph, it gets about 26 mpg on the highway. How many cars have big power, comfy seats, seat six people, and get that kind of mileage? Just one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great cars

by Hypoluxo from Florida on Thu Jul 20 2017

Great cars have had 4 of them over the last 10 years with over 600k miles on them.Still average over 25 mpg for long trip on the highway.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GOD's blessing

by Still drvng '86,'91 from Bradenton, FL on Wed Sep 12 2012

Us2 hv been so blessed! Our current car has 250,00+ mls( '91). Carefully carried for is the Main key to longevity. Just prchsd '04 Mercury Marqui>>>100,000 mlg !! Beautiful is not enough to say! Praying w/caring this will be a very long relationship! ( - ; Blsd owner

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car can handle the whole family needs

by Jbflying1 from Sacramento ca. on Thu Nov 23 2017

This is the car that will take you where ever you want to go in complete comfort. We can haul all the family needs and still have extra room

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car i owned

by Rlopez0611 from NJ on Wed Aug 02 2017

Drives so smooth. Fits about 6 people and the b8 engine is amazing. Transmission is great and truck is huge

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy to have an honest car dealer

by Tyler from Federal Way on Tue Aug 14 2018

Choose Mercury because they are known for reliability and comfort. The 4.6 modular isn't the highest horsepower V8, but very enjoyable. Typical electrical issues though but normal for the miles. Easy fixes. I can put anything in the trunk, and seat 4 people quite comfortably.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis

A throwback car: Still huge, cushy and a luxury ride

Mercury Grand Marquis is a full-size sedan that offers luxury features and traditional driving style. The interior is comfortable and conservative, with plenty of room for six.

A couple of years ago, I went back to the old neighborhood and was surprised at how little things had changed.

There were subtle differences, some places upgraded, some in decline, but it all looked pretty much the same.

It gave me an eerie feeling, alternately reassuring and disconcerting. Time warps tend to do that.

I had a similar feeling when I climbed in behind the wheel of a 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis, one of the few great land yachts left on American roads... Read More