2005 Grand Marquis

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis

$1,192 - $9,108  MSRP Range
2005 Mercury Grand Marquis

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

22 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Why drive small, when you can drive big and win!

by dggohl@aol.com from Shakopee Minnesota on Sat Aug 12 2006

I've been a Ford guy for many years. My first experience with rear drive Ford product was a 1997 Crown Victoria Police Intercepter. It probably was the most fun car I've owned. My next rear driver was a 2000 Mercury Grand Marquis GS. I bought this car with 40,000 miles, put an additional 110,000 on it, and was a committed buyer in the future of Grand Marquis. I sold this car in one day, and it was still a mechanically sound. Which brings me to the 2005 LS I recently bought. Besides enjoying the new (to me) leather interior, upgraded sound system, and factory wheels, this car is on par with any car in its class. With a mear 19,000 miles on this unit when purchased, I've logged an addtional 13,000 and never want to leave the cabin. The ride is as smooth as cars far more expensive, my milage has ranged in the mid 20's and I got all of this for less than $14,000. This is not grandpa's car anymore. And with Mercury being in the top 3 of maintanance free/best made cars of american manufacturers, what more could you ask for? If you want big car ride, and a more than affordable price, then this is the car you need to test drive. My only reservation about buying a 2005 model, is that it didn't have the flex-fuel option.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Hidden Jewel

by Frankenstien from Buckley WA on Sat Feb 26 2011

Lot of choices in cars these days, So unless your in need of a 4 cyl car that drives you to an early grave, this is an excellent choice of Transportation. I commute close to a hundred miles a day, after a while the small cars start to wear you out. This one gets me home and to work feeling as though I've had a chance to relax a little before the next adventure begins. This is a Simple Comfortable car, no satellite navigation, USB, computer control, features that often turn out to be a bigger PIA than they are worth... just a simple get in sit down start it up and go car. You'll find plenty of room for you your Better half and a load of kids ... 2 legged and 4 legged. There is enough room in the trunk to bring the mother in law too. If you do your own Maintenance you'll find most every thing easily accessible, and affordable. This car is a mere 6 inches wider than a Toyota Corolla yet feels much larger. The fuel economy that I have been experiencing is equal to the Toyota I owned previously, steady at 25.7 MPG, With lower cost on Maintenance, and driver wear. So would I do it again... yes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best bang for your buck

by buck from louisiana on Sat Sep 04 2010

have owned this car 5 years,48000 miles and only a heater motor replacement. good ride, excellent value, good mileage, powerful and a trunk you can haul a small pony in. plan on driving it many more years. neighbor has one with 233,000 miles and still going strong. got grand marque?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it.

by Dan-o from Michigan on Fri Jul 23 2010

I just bought my used Grand Marquis and I love it. It rides great and it is a joy to drive. Comfort is top rate. I bought the 2005 with 31k miles on it and got a great deal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

They should have

by Southern from Ft Myers, Florida on Tue May 29 2012

continued to make these cars. Sure it could have used a redesign. But the basic car is Big. Strong. Quiet. Comfortable. Too big for around town IMO, but out on the highway it is magnificent. If you think you are comfy in your Accord or Camry or Sonata...............You ain't seen nothin'! Of course it is big. And Heavy. And uses a V8. But still, on regular gas, getting 24 MPG at 75 MPH ain't bad! I bought this one used about 3 m0onths ago Only 15,400 miles. For $12K. Like new. Will probably last longer than I do.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A powerful car

by safety conscious from Virginia on Fri Jul 11 2008

There are tradeoffs, gas mileage verus power and safety. I like the power, acceleration and safety of this vehicle. There have been no mechanical problems since purchase two years ago.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My forth previous Crown Vic and Town Car

by bobengineer from South Carolina on Sat Jun 21 2008

50,000 and not a dime except oil & filter. Originial tires at end of life but brakes only at 50% Great ride, good comfort, well worth the loss of 5 mpg to smaller cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the finest cars

by Big car lover from hammond, ind on Fri Oct 29 2010

So far this is a fantastic car. Mileage of 17/25 and a Lincoln ride. Napleton lincoln in Blue Island, Ill. treated me great. Mike , a new salesman was equally great. Wonderful follow-up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable well equiped car we've owned

by luxury car appreciation from Mesa, AZ on Mon Nov 14 2011

Extremely attractive car with tan cloth hardtop. maintained by the book, in excellent condition. Looks like new inside and out. Battery, tires and brakes all 80% left. Priced to sell. Must see to appreciate!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Old reliable

by markscarcraze from Worthington on Fri Sep 15 2017

Say what you will about these old full size American cars being outdated ect but everyone who rides in always marvels how well it rides. It has plenty of luggage room It's hard to believe how much car you get for the money! You won't find a better more reliable car period! They will go 200,000 miles easily . I bought a regular GS model with cloth interior and added a stock police dual exhaust to increase the power a little of the standard single setup. Car gets great highway mileage (27mpg) and about 16 city, no worse than a full size pickup/suv The 03 -11 models are still plentiful for a steal!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3