2000 Montero Sport

Consumer Reviews

2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

$635 - $8,087  MSRP Range
2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

14 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

I love my Montero Sport

by Daily Drive from Raleigh, NC on Tue Apr 12 2011

My Montero Sport now has 160k miles on it and besides having to replace the alternator I have had no major problems with it at all. It handles very well, has a very good balance between power and weight and has plenty of space for me without being too big. Very nice and one of the better cars that I have owned over the last several years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great for work/travel/fun

by Mistu lover from Chicago, IL on Sat Aug 18 2007

I've owned this car for three years and I have had no major mechanical problems. I've fixed the AC, and had brakes put on and I'm up to 86,000. I do need a flex pipe becasue it's starting to get a little loud when I hit the gas. The lights go out all of the time though. (Interior and Exterior) so if you buy this car, keep some spare bulbs--you will need them. The ride is smooth and I like the look of it. It's great for moving stuff.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ye old Faithful

by Ye old faithful from Grand Forks, ND on Tue Mar 10 2015

I bought this car when my Nissan got totaled in a crash. I bought it for a couple grand at a dealership and was quite hesitant as it had 184K on it. I am not disappointed. This car has been reliable and with routine maintenance I have kept this car running well and am well over 200K miles and going strong. This car is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good SUV

by Sports car guy and only 4x4 if you Have a SUV from Olathe,Ks. on Wed Nov 14 2007

Had an extended warranty and had the notorious oil seals replace behinde the engineand anything that could be fixed! Need ceramic brake pads! 4x4 sensor went bad! Very soild vehicle. Comparable to the 4runner (have one of those also). Runs excellent! Just your normal small things that needed replaced other wise great vehicle!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

12 years, 160,000+ miles

by Steve and Linda from Tulsa, OK on Thu Dec 06 2012

Finally traded our 2000 Mitsubishi Montero Sport in on a new car. The Montero Sport lasted much longer than we ever expected. We took good care of it and serviced it regularly, and we had very few problems. We definitely got more than our money's worth. We traveled across the country, on-road and off-road. 4-wheel drive was great in snowy conditions. If you come across one of these that has been well cared for, it should last for many, many miles!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 montero sport 4x4

by Mark from Knoxville tn on Fri Mar 27 2015

My 2000 montero sport has 290k and still running strong, feels like maybe 50k. Im overly impressed with it. Ill probably keep this thing forever! Most reliable vehicle I've ever owned or even seen!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Value for the money

by Tangier from Baltimore on Tue Jul 16 2013

This is the second Montero I owned. This is definitely one of the best SUV that Mitsubishi ever made. Very reliable and good value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

amazing car

by that best car from Salem on Fri Jun 16 2017

since 2001 have never broke not major troubles. repairs are a little expensive but is money well spend 18.000 when was bought now 130.000 miles and going strong. why or how they made it this good will never know these days suv are garbage cars recalls and workmanship are very poor

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luv my suv

by Sissy2 from Bothell wa on Sun Mar 07 2010

I would recomend this suv to anyone. We love this truck and would not trade it for anything. we actually want another one. BUT, we only like the 2000 model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

VERY RELIABLE CAR AND GREAT LOOKING

by ANDREW from HOUSTON TX on Thu Apr 03 2008

I BOUGHT THIS CAR USED AND I HAVE HAD ZERO PROBELMS I LOVE IT ITS A GREAT CAR ITS HAS LOTS OF SPACE AND THE FEATURES ARE GOOD

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2