2001 Montero Sport

Consumer Reviews

2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

$204 - $8,492  MSRP Range
2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV, I've owned mine since 2001

by Jim from Charlotte, NC on Sun Nov 08 2009

I bought my 2001 Montero Sport Limited new and have had it since. It's a beast in both snow and mud, and is very reliable. The heat gets how quickly and the A/C is very cold. One feature I really like is the rear heat, because I have a young child. On a cold day he rides comfortably.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Looking Best Value

by Chazzbo from Milwaukee on Sun Jan 18 2015

This SUV is big and beautiful. Rides like a dream, plenty of power at 197 hp (Limited version). I'm 6'2 and have some difficulty entering and exiting due to high floorboards designed for max offroading efficiency, but I can live with it. 5 stars for everthing else. Ours is a 2001 model and looks much younger..it's very sharp. The heater and air will blow you out of the car. 4WD is easy to engage and gives you a great feeling of security going through big snows here in Wisconsin. LOVE this vehicle!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV ever

by OPmontero from Los Angeles, CA on Wed Jul 19 2017

Reliable, excellent, never a problem, just minor maintenance, actually with 170000 miles still drive like a champion

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable and Good on gas for SUV!

by Bishiman from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Aug 14 2018

This is one of my favorite SUV I've ever owned. (4runner and Montero Sport). This suv can load family, personal stuff, and great for outdoor activity etc.. It's currently at 175,000 and it's still going strong with no problem. Great SUV for everyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best vehicle in my life!

by OPmontero from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Oct 31 2017

I owned about 20 cars and the Montero is one of the best ever SUV. Reliable, strong, low maintenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE my Montero

by Kiliklimber from Central NJ on Sun Sep 15 2013

I bought my Montero Sport new 12 years ago. It has 150,000 miles on it but it still rides well and starts every morning. I just replaced the original battery! My only glitch is the 4WD switches which tend to stick if they aren't used. Put the Montero into 4WD twice a month for a few miles and the switches are problem free. This is a great SUV. I can't understand why Mitsubishi stopped producing them. Foolish move on their part. The Outlander doesn't even come close to the Montero.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love the car

by Alisa from san jose,ca on Fri Jul 28 2006

I just recently purchased my 2001 Mitsubishi Montero Limited Sport and I love it. I haven't had any problems with it yet. My friends can't belive how much I bought it for. It looks like it would cost a lot more. They all are going out and buying this car now. I like the interior and exterior look of this car. It also has great gas milage as well, which is a plus these days. I would recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable SUV out there

by Eddie from FL on Sun Aug 20 2006

This SUV is the most attactive and the most reliable SUV I've ever driven. Drives like a car and has the strengh of a truck. Great vehicle. My hat's off to Mitsubishi!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

was good until we hit 75,000 miles on it.

by Red58 from Albert Lea, MN on Fri Jun 16 2017

We bought it with 26,000 miles on it for $22,000. We LOVED this vehicle, the sad thing with in 7 years of owning it, the check service light came on and no one could find out why, by year 13 one of the cylinders went out, & the transfer case. We were very upset, for we still LOVED out baby.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1