2014 Outlander Sport

Consumer Reviews

2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport

$8,533 - $16,097  MSRP Range
2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

45 Reviews
78% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

One Year Review

by Daily Driver from Chicago, IL on Sat Feb 22 2014

I wanted to give a one year review of living with the SE FWD version of this small SUV. I bought the 2013 model last February and there have been a few changes for 2014, but most things are the same, so here are some notes for you potential buyers: Reliability: 19,000 miles and no problems at all. I have noticed that in -10 degree or colder weather that the CVT may stay in a little higher "gear" until the car is warmed up. Mileage: I drive 80% highway and 20% city and in the Summer I average about 32 mpg at the pump and about 28 mpg in the Winter. Favorite Features: rain sensing wipers, HID headlights, push button start/stop ignition and the stereo. I was surprised at how good the sound is for a pretty economical vehicle. Also, the outside looks are sharp and stand out from the crowd. Least Favorite: The interior could use a little more color, but when I bought the car I also looked at other small SUVS and a dark interior is a consistent theme across the board by other manufacturers too. The dashboard MPG meter consistently underestimates actual mileage by 2-3 MPG from what you actually get if you do the math yourself after filling up. I hope Mitsubishi recalibrates this in future models. Overall I have been pretty happy with the car. I needed something reliable that would not break my budget and the good looks of this small SUV are an extra bonus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car, In Love with the road!

by Experienced Buyer from Irvine, CA on Mon Aug 18 2014

This is a great car! for the price this is a steal, I have almost driven this 4k miles in the first 2 weeks taking long road trips. Comes with an amazing warranty. The handling and ride are super smooth with minimal body roll and the car is very spacious. I own the base model and have no complaints. The car is stunning looking. Super happy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sharp and tough!

by GDog from on Tue Aug 30 2016

Simply, It looks sweet, it performs admirably and can be trusted like an old dog that is always by your side! Great SUV for the money!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

so new really hard to tell

by bill from El Paso Tx on Thu Dec 19 2013

Little SUV is almost everything I expected, I was under the assumption it came with a 6 in dash CD changer, but no, they stopped with the 2013 model. Gas mileage is around 27mpg in town and a little freeway driving. not bad. 148 HP is plenty for this vehicle, it has good pickup and go. Got the SE with the moon roof and some extra goodies. It's my 50th car so I hope it last a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Update

by JM from MD on Sun May 11 2014

2014 Outlander Sport ES CVT AWD I just did a 240 mile trip that's was 80% Highway-20 % city and got 31 mpg combined trip average with 675 pounds of passengers and the AC running in 2wd mode only. I drive it with no care to register good mileage. Its fun and toss-able and the flat seats are great on my bad back. At idle I can not even here the 2.0 L run and I have good hearing. The ride is breaking in nicely and it handles the rough stuff better and smoother them my 13 Accord Sport. Very happy with it. Very fun to drive. If they put in the 2.4L from the larger Outlander there would be no penalty on MPG and with a few tweaks it would be a segment leader. here most dealers only have 1 or 2 on the lot. Word is getting out quickly. That means higher prices in the future.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Reliability and Nice Ride

by Lily Xu from Calgary, AB on Fri Nov 07 2014

Purchased an RVR GT last year. Best winter driving vehicle ever. Never had any issue with it, and based on my research, best warranty in the industry. It doesn't have a lot of power, but great on gas. Perfect crossover for city driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good little SUV so far

by jdh from Graham, NC on Wed Sep 24 2014

I bought this suv for my daughter who is in college. The gas mileage is great. She had a Jeep Liberty and the mileage was very poor. Nice sporty little suv. Good vehicle for the money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and fun to drive

by EvoFun from Los Angeles on Mon Mar 27 2017

Very smooth riding SUV with awesome glass roof. On LA freeways average 31mpg each day. The 710 watt stereo sounds like a live concert when listening to Sirius. Very reliable and inexpensive maintenance. Easy to maneuver for parking lots and tight spaces. Would recommend to my own family.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So pretty with all the extra toys

by Love My New Car from The Woodland Texas on Tue Apr 08 2014

I love the ambient lighting on the moon roof and the seats are fantastic on my hips. The middle console is very user friendly and has 2 pockets and it telescopes, as well, just great! Very roomy for a single person and seats 5.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned

by carlycccc from New Smyrna Beach, FL on Fri Jul 21 2017

This car is a great value for the price! Excellent fuel mileage for a mid size. I was worried about going back to a manual after driving an automatic for several years, but this is SUCH a fun little car to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport

The 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport is very affordable, but that's about the only thing going for it; it's small, slow, loud and lacks overall refinement.

It's not a good sign when someone hands over car keys and simultaneously apologizes to you. Such was the case with the 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport. I know what you're thinking: It's a weekend driving a brand new car; how bad could it be? Well, it's probably a lot like the Jennifer Lopez dud, Gigli: It takes more than a pretty face to disguise flaws this big.

Mitsubishi's smallest crossover, the Outlander Sport is not to be confused with the larger Outlander. The Sport was updated for 2013. Changes for... Read More