2008 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2008 Nissan Altima

$3,001 - $9,881  MSRP Range
2008 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

139 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 139 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car for the Money

by Florida Realtor from Fort Myers, FL on Tue Feb 14 2012

I bought my 2008 Nissan Altima 2.5 S last Fall from a new car Chevy dealer at a great price. The car looks and drives like new. I put 2.5 K miles on it and so far no problems. I am very happy with it. Although it's a 4-cylinder car, I really don't feel much loss in performance compared with my 2000 6-cylinder Nissan Maxima, however, great improvement in miles/gallon.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Went from an suv to a car

by Car Lover from BALTIMORE,MD on Tue May 10 2011

Ever since i traded in my nissan pathfinder 2002 for my 2008 altima i have never looked back. The gas mileage is great. I love it.. I drove over 300 hundred milles with only 3/4 of a tank if not more. Its very smooth and the interior is beautiful. Yes leather would have been nice but the dark interior still makes me happy. The car is comfortable and smooth. Pls do not sleep on the i-4 engine it still has plenty of power....GET THIS CAR DONT HESISTATE GREAT VALUE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Poor Mans G35

by Don Mario from Puerto Rico on Fri Jun 25 2010

Excellent car in all aspects. Comfort, A/C, radio, visibitlity, this car has nice pep. Gas mileage is awesome. Only problem I've been having is squealing brakes since new (sometimes) otherwise, this is a pretty nice car. Poor mans G35

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love My Coupe!

by Selina from SF, CA on Wed Oct 27 2010

i saw this Altima Coupe out on the street, and i love it on the first sight because of its styling. So, i went to the dealership and tried couple used Altima Coupe, include 08' and 09'. End up, i bought a used 08 one, and it wasnt a big difference based on the styling between 08 and 09's :) This Altima Coupe was so great on its look and comfortableness. My coupe is loaded everything except Navi. My car has leather seats, Bose, 6 CD changer, etc. It is very comfortable while i am driving. I like this car can hold 20 Gallons of gas, so i dont have to fuel up gas that often. however, every car has its own weakness. the Altima Coupe has blind spots, and it is hard to check even when you turn your head over. So, you have to be careful when you driving. When i get used to driving the car, the blind spots get no troubles for me. Another bad thing i can say, is the mileage per gallon. I have the 2.5S Altima Coupe, average of city and freeway, i only get 23-25 miles/gallon, but the car info paper says city is 25, freeway may get up to 32 miles/gallon. This car drinks a lot gas. However, the performance is good enough because it is a 2.5S. (of course 3.5 will be must faster, but it is not good for gas) I am in love with my Altima Coupe's styling and the driving experience. The Bose and CD changer can company me while i am driving, and i enjoy my car so much. People definitely stare at my car when i driving on the road. Altima Coupe definitely a nice leader car on freeways :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awsome car

by magic from on Thu Jul 01 2010

I have been driving Maxima's for the last few years and moving to an Altima would be culture shock (I thought). The car impressed me with its 4cyl performance. I was a bit concerned because I was coming from a 3.5 and moving to a 2.5 but the Altima can hold its own and the mpg's were the icing on the cake.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Altima Coupe

by Lovin My Coupe from Delaware on Mon Jan 17 2011

Car is awesome! Super fun and reliable at the same time! All the bells and whistles including safety features and warning lights that actually make sense.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Love this car!!! from on Tue Aug 07 2012

Ive had mine for a year and its amazing!!! MUST BUY! So much room on the inside, the sound is wonderful. Huge trunk space. So glad I bought this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nissan - Shift this Altima

by perryjo from Fort Worth, Texas on Mon Jan 23 2012

This is my third Altima, super hot looking car. Continously Variable Transmission is smooth as silk, interior is comfortable (could be classified as large car), gas efficent, engine is very peppy for a four cylinder. love driving this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

A complete disaster

by Hitchhiking from Syracuse, NY on Tue Mar 10 2015

I bought the 2008 Altima when it was 3 years old and had only 18000 miles on it. In the past two years, the car has intermittently featured a vibration that makes it feel like the car is going to fly apart. The first episode took months to resolve and ran me $1500, and that wasn't the end of the story. Two months ago, it came up with a terrible wobble on acceleration. After spending another $1000, I found the car shuddering within days. Then, over the weekend, it just stopped accelerating altogether. Despite driving downhill which should guarantee acceleration with very little work, the car rode like the emergency brake was on (the brake received a repair a few months back, and it's not the problem). The transmission is shot. I need to dump the car with under 75K miles and 9 months of payments still left. Nissan has a 120,000/10 year warranty on the notoriously unreliable CVT, but I've been warned that they typically try to dodge the claim. In short, I'm out thousands of dollars because the Altima is a disaster when it comes to mechanical reliability.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent mileage and handling!

by planter from on Sun Nov 29 2009

This vehicle is fun to drive and handles well on the road. A big plus is the gas mileage also - I've driven one for several months now and really enjoy it. Gorgeous body styling too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14

Our Take on the 2008 Nissan Altima

Editor's note: This review was written in March 2007 about the 3.5 SE version of the 2008 Nissan Altima. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Most car buyers don't have the luxury of purchasing a different car for all the types of driving they do. While a sports car for a favorite road, a luxury sedan for a night out and a wagon for family road trips would be nice if you had the means — and a three-car garage — most shoppers don't. That's why it makes sense to look for a car that best combines all your needs and wants, however conflicting they may be. Nissan's redesigned... Read More