NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Altima

$9,664 - $20,580  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

194 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 194 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Altima is great after 2013

by Mister energy from Loveland, Co on Mon Mar 06 2017

We leased a 2013 Altima SV for 3 years and turned it in last May. We loved it - memory foam seats were great a mileage was very good for the size car. 34-40mpg highway . Six months later we purchased a 2016 Altima S and love it too

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by Bones from Spring Hope, NC on Mon Jun 25 2018

Meets all of my expectations for a 2016 vehicle. Haven't had any problems with it since I got it. As long as you get your oil changed regularly, and take good care, should have no problems!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Car !

by DayDay from Flushing ,NY on Sun Mar 04 2018

I was looking for a reasonable car to go with i am a baseball player, website designer, carpenters assitant and a student athlete. Currently just got this car and i plan on working alot because its just me and my mother this car met all of my standards that i wanted and it was comfortable i love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfortable to drive.

by TJH from Bristol, Indiana on Tue Jul 24 2018

We have tried other manufacturers ; but this 2016 is my third Altima, and it has the driving , seating comfort, and safety features that keep me coming back to Nissan.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loving my new Altima

by TonyR from Massapequa, NY on Tue Mar 14 2017

Another car from Smithtown Nissan and I couldn't be happier. Joe Urso and his team got me a great deal and the new Altima is beautiful inside and out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle for the price

by Value is King from Southern California on Tue Sep 13 2016

We love our new 2016 Altima SV. The car exceeds expectations on most every level. The interior is superb. The chairs feel durable, comfortable, and are highly adjustable which is key when you have lower back issues. At 6 foot 3" it is usually a challenge to find a car under 30k that can meet my needs. The seat goes back far enough for more long legs, and the steering wheel telescopes and raises/lowers to get my entire body in an ideal position. The buttons, knobs and switches are easily reachable. The back seat is also roomier than I would have expected. The features are seemingly above what I would expect for the price of the car. the back up camera is nice, though I am still trying to get used to working it in to my routine for backing up. The keyless entry and push button start have ruined me for my other vehicles. I now know that keys are for suckers. To unlock or lock and start the car even with my hands full is a breeze. The lane departure seems to be helpful as well as it has warning lights near the rear view mirrors and makes a sound when something is along side you. In the past I have been known to, on occasion, not see a vehicle in a blind spot and cut someone off. The cars bluetooth with my iphone allows phone call answering from a button on the steering wheel. Siri voice recognition through the cars system allows me to call out completely hands free. For the first time I can actually safely make and receive calls. It also mutes the radio for you and the audio for both you and the person on the other end of the call is outstanding. The cars styling is very attractive to me. When I look downstairs at the Altima it reminds me of a Mercedes aesthetically for some reason. It just gives me an over all feel of a fine automobile. The trunk space is huge. A couple of minor negatives. One, the steering feels a little heavy. Maybe a longer wheel base, or it could also be in part what seems to be a somewhat small steering wheel, also it is leather wrapped and hard which I think contributes. Oddly enough we owned a 1992 Altima and I vaguely remember something similar with the steering on that car. We have had several other Nisans over the years and I dont think this was the case with our Sentra, Maxima, or Frontier. Two, the front end is very low, and we live on a dirt road. We scraped the front end the first day in a small rut/ditch (it was dark) and gouged the paint on the bottom portion pretty bad. It angles down in that section so it isnt very noticeable though. I also have to be very careful with those parking lot bump stops, have hit a couple of those already too. The engine is plenty powerful for our needs. We go from about 6500 feet above sea level to about 1000 to 2000 when we go down the hill and the climb back up is no problem for the motor, even with passengers and cargo. The gas mileage again is above expectations, getting about 31 mpg over all, and that includes the mountain climbs (and descents) and I also like to drive a bit fast. I normally cruise between 75-78 mph on long stretches of road/highway where permitted. I am sure I could get closer to 35 mph if I wished to stretch the mileage and slowed down a bit. The transmission is a CVT which I still dont fully understand but I dont think it has a set number of gears like our cars in the past. However it works, it shifts seamlessly and I only notice it when I focus on it out of curiosity. On our last vehicle which was a 7 speed automatic it felt like the car was never happy in any gear and was constantly changing, and the shifts were very noticeable (especially in the beginning before I got a bit used to it). Too early to know about reliabilty yet but again, we have own several Nissans over the years and they haven't let me down yet. I expect more of the same this time around. All in all we are very pleased with the car. Again, dollar for dollar I dont think we could have done any better. i would highly recommend the Altima

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, LOVE IT!

by Retired Navy from Cumming, GA on Sun Sep 04 2016

I've had this car for 5 months and 5,000 miles. So far it has been great. I have a Sciatica problem and seat comfort was extremely important for me. I did a lot of research and test drove several different brands. I traded in a XLE Camry with leather seats that were just not comfortable for me. The leather seats in my 3.5 SL Altima are great and offer just the right amount of back support for me. In my research I found that Nissan was having some issues with the CVT but for the seat comfort I thought that I would take a chance. The ride is quieter and smoother than my Camry was and I just love the features of the Technology package.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The shiniest piece of xxxx I’ve ever owned.

by JunkNissanOwner from Lima ohio on Sat Dec 01 2018

I loved it when I first drove and purchased it. Only had 39k on it. Fully loaded SL with the V6. Within a week the transmission was giving me trouble. Stuttering while trying to pick up speed, getting confused in stop and go traffic, xxxx sometimes it won’t ’fake shift’ as it’s programmed to do and just revs stupid high before it finally ’shifts’. Not once ever throwing a trouble code or a check light. Called the dealership that same week of driving it off the lot to let them know something is wrong. It has a full warranty. But low and behold every time they drive it it’s ’fine’. Told me to bring it back in if there was trouble but again, low and behold, every time there is trouble they aren’t open or available to ride along. Let’s not mention the radio constantly freezing up, the cluster gauges glitching out, the xxxxty sounding rattling ’Bose’ stereo that’s supposed to be the premier sound system, and the awful vibration throughout the car that came around 41k miles that nobody can figure out what’s causing it. xxxx I put all brand new tires on it fully balanced and it still rides like trash. Dealership won’t do anything. I eventually just gave up and continue driving it like this thinking when it eventually takes a xxxx on me the warranty will kick in. But my luck it will troop it out beyond the warranty and eventually cost me more money once it takes a xxxx. The pros’ It’s a beautiful looking car, drives and performs like trash. My 07 Altima 4 banger performed better than this xxx. Really kicking myself in the xxx on this one. Hoping someone takes it out while parked so I can get a different better performing vehicle. Nissans have downgraded. This car is trash. All the way around. Do NOT buy this car. They run and perform good until 40k miles then give you the run around. You have been warned!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car...

by 3rd Altima from Westchester, NY on Fri Jul 15 2016

But overall very little changed in the 2016 from the 2014, which is disappointing. The SL in "Gun Metal is really cool looking! Still, its a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Nissan Altima

by Steve from Port Wentworth Ga on Tue Mar 14 2017

Bought New Years Eve and have been very satisfied. MPG in mixed driving 29-33.... depends if I keep my foot out of it and out of sport mode. Plenty of room and comfort is surprising. Highway MPG is between 39-42 depending on my foot again. I have been so happy with this car I helped a co worker pick her new Altima out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2016 Nissan Altima

The verdict: The Nissan Altima was updated for 2016 and, while it doesn’t do anything badly, it doesn’t do much to distinguish itself in the midsize sedan class, either.

Versus the competition: Though its ride and interior quality are good, the Altima is hamstrung by engine noise and a driving experience that’s unexciting – even in this large, unexciting category.

The Nissan Altima’s competitors include the Kia Optima, Chevrolet Malibu and Volkswagen Passat. These and five other sedans competed against each other in our 2016 Midsize Sedan Challenge, for which I was not a judge. I tested an Altima 2.5 SL that cost $32,115, which is more than $4,000 above the... Read More