NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Altima

$11,299 - $19,871  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

264 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

171 - 180 of 264 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

NISSAN IS ABOVE AND BEYOND ANY OTHER BRAND

by Marcywarren2001 from Italy, Texas on Mon May 29 2017

The Altima HAPPILY surprised us when we purchased our 2015. I always drove a Honda believing it was superior to any other brand but comparing the Accord next to the Altima it was no longer a comparison. The Altima is evrey bit the car the Accord is with one big exception. Price of Accord compared to Altima EQUIPPED identical the Accord is 7-8 thousand more. And I am not gonna jump up to the Maxima with a 9k difference above the Altima for a mere 2ft. More room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Erik M. from on Mon May 29 2017

It's a great car for a small family for the daily commute, it's a real gas saver, has enough power to respond on the highway, 80-90 miles and drives steady. Overall, very happy with the purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome car fun to drife

by dande from Aumsville on Wed May 23 2018

this car has great power and I love driving it. Can pass any other car on the road even up hill. Very pretty and comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I only buy nisan.

by Josh k from Chicago il on Tue Sep 26 2017

Best new look. Price amazing. Great to drive and sporty. Yiu cant get another brand at this price. So happy for autobarn nissan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Beautiful Relaible Car I’ve Owned

by Nikayla Safford from Maricopa, Arizona on Fri Aug 24 2018

This vehicle has been on my mind for years and now that I have the money for t I made the decision to buy it! It is such a smooth ride and has all the technology I need! Nice new interior and exterior in great shape.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Big Al from Columbia, TN on Thu Jun 01 2017

This car is awesome!! It rides good,and handles the road well. The interior is really nice, and gets real good fuel mileage

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nissan Altima

by Klewis51 on Thu Nov 30 2017

Very very reliable. My favorite car! I never had any issues until it was over ten years old and almost at 150,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car i ever owned

by Rebecca. F on Thu May 03 2018

I love love this car. I used it to go to work and tske my daughter to school. Very good when it come to gas. Overall amazing car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Lildimp from Windsor Mill on Sun Jul 08 2018

This is a great family car with a lot of leg room. I feel very comfortable behind the wheel and my arthritis does not act up like driving and other cars because there is no space. The backseat leg space is enough for my growing son to sit comfortably. I love the fact that the doors lock automatically. The car is great on gas and the sound system in the car is outstanding . Overall I love the car and although I brought it used I think my next one will be New. my children enjoy the ride so much that when I grab my keys they're right behind me for the ride LOL

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We love it!!!

by Upthecreek2471 from Rock Island, TN on Sun Jun 11 2017

We've had our new Altima for 3 weeks now, and we love it! It has plenty of power, it's very comfortable, and is a good looking car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Altima

The verdict:

The Nissan Altima was updated for 2016 and, while it doesn't do anything badly, it doesn't do much to distinguish itself in the midsize sedan class, either.

Versus the competition:

Though its ride and interior quality are good, the Altima is hamstrung by engine noise and a driving experience that's unexciting — even in this large, unexciting category.

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 Nissan Altima, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Altima's competitors include the Kia Optima, Chevrolet Malibu and Volkswagen Passat. These and five other sedans competed against each other in our 2016 Midsize Sedan Challenge, for which I was not a judge. I tested an Altima 2.5 SL that cost $32,115, which is more than $4,000 above the price cap we set for that comparison. As a result, my impressions are significantly different from those of my colleagues who judged the Challenge. The fact that there's such... Read More