NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Altima

#10 Most Popular Sedan
$11,024 - $20,260  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

262 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 262 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I have ever owned.

by Greg J from Lehigh Acres on Sat May 05 2018

The car is stylish, lots of leg room, comfortable on road trips, great features, the hands free phone is great . The back seats are very comfortable with lots of leg room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is our third Altima and we remain pleaseds!

by Paul & Sally from Middleburg PA on Thu Jun 07 2018

The leg room is ample for our tall frames. And the added basic features on the new models were once treated as "options" on the older models! We remain pleased with our Altima.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My son's first car, meets his desire, exceeds need

by Stbenis from Browns summit, nc on Mon May 29 2017

Very pleased with the purchase, good value for the money. Exterior is very clean, almost flawless. Interior neat and clean. Engine is still smooth and powerful, transmission functions and responds on demand.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Favorite Car!

by clovick3000 from McKinney, TX on Fri Aug 24 2018

I love this car. I have the SR model and it is really sporty, comfortable and also looks amazing. It is perfect for all my needs, this is the favorite of any car I have owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Horrible experience

by Unhappy from Bridgeport on Tue Apr 09 2019

Good looking car bad experience this was the worse car I ever had, never will purchase another Nissan. They drive bad have had too many service problems transmission, drive train you name it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Car with zip

by Dabee from Bloomington, IN on Wed Aug 02 2017

I usually drive a SUV. Driving a car for a week after driving a jeep for 10 years, there isn't much comparison. It did have zip when it got going. The issue was with while going it seemed to stutter when you press the gas. The comfort was on if you don't go far. The leg room was limited and wouldn't go back far enough for a tall person, which caused aches in my knee. The controls were logically placed. But I didn't like the need to bend forward to change the channels due to no steering controls except for cruise and aux/ connected device controls. Overall not bad.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever had

by Joannesdew from Pittsburgh on Sat Sep 09 2017

This car has amazing seats lots of leg room and tons of features including extra usb and aux ports... Keyless entry remote start and push button start.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Proceed with caution.

by Mabel on Sun Jul 02 2017

It's a nice car. Lots of leg room my husband is 6"5 And he can sit comfortable. Downside to me is the way transmission shifts. This is my 3rd Nissan my first Alitma lasted 10 yrs. 2nd was a Sentra that barely lasted 4yrs transmission started going. Decided to try Altima again. But its shifting gears just like my Sentra did in the beginning. All 3 bought brand new.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sleek in design

by Lachelle Warwick from Lynchburg on Sat Oct 27 2018

This is a very sleek and offers a lot of extras; just to name a few, leather, sunroof, navigation and remote start. I'm pleased with my purchase!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I've ever owned.

by HolderSC from Gallatin on Tue Jul 17 2018

This car meets all of my needs. Plenty of leg room front and back. Very comfortable seating. Smooth riding and good on gas. Very nice vehicle to have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Altima

The verdict:

The Nissan Altima was updated for 2016 and, while it doesn't do anything badly, it doesn't do much to distinguish itself in the midsize sedan class, either.

Versus the competition:

Though its ride and interior quality are good, the Altima is hamstrung by engine noise and a driving experience that's unexciting — even in this large, unexciting category.

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 Nissan Altima, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Altima's competitors include the Kia Optima, Chevrolet Malibu and Volkswagen Passat. These and five other sedans competed against each other in our 2016 Midsize Sedan Challenge, for which I was not a judge. I tested an Altima 2.5 SL that cost $32,115, which is more than $4,000 above the price cap we set for that comparison. As a result, my impressions are significantly different from those of my colleagues who judged the Challenge. The fact that there's such... Read More