NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Altima

#10 Most Popular Sedan
$10,944 - $20,336  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

262 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

251 - 260 of 262 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This car hums and thrills

by Mizmac from Silver Spring, MD on Thu Mar 15 2018

The seat is designed by NASA. It looks as good as an Acura or Lexus. When they drove it past me at the service department I found myself admiring it. The Bose stereo is awesome. It’s the third most popular car in the US meaning that any nearby Camry or Accord will be targeted by thieves before my car. The ride is quiet and smooth. I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st new car

by Brian from Chicago on Wed Dec 06 2017

I love this vehicle. The car pick is very good. Huge trunk and the gas mileage is fantastic and I feel comfortable to be able to travel in this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Altima

by Dyllan25 from Fort Worth, tx on Sun May 21 2017

41 mpg is great! Style is great! Interior is comfy! Would recommend this car to anyone that wants a good mix of gas mileage, comfort , and style.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I’ve ever owned.

by Altimaadam from Holyrood Ontario on Sun Apr 01 2018

I think Nissan took the time to make a sexy luxury car and really made the difference with the features handling and fuel economy and reliability. I enjoy the Altima.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my altima

by Kym0215 from Lyerly,GA> on Fri May 26 2017

I wasn't happy about the car when my husband first picked it out but now that I have driven it I love this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NISSAN IS ABOVE AND BEYOND ANY OTHER BRAND

by Marcywarren2001 from Italy, Texas on Mon May 29 2017

The Altima HAPPILY surprised us when we purchased our 2015. I always drove a Honda believing it was superior to any other brand but comparing the Accord next to the Altima it was no longer a comparison. The Altima is evrey bit the car the Accord is with one big exception. Price of Accord compared to Altima EQUIPPED identical the Accord is 7-8 thousand more. And I am not gonna jump up to the Maxima with a 9k difference above the Altima for a mere 2ft. More room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Erik M. from on Mon May 29 2017

It's a great car for a small family for the daily commute, it's a real gas saver, has enough power to respond on the highway, 80-90 miles and drives steady. Overall, very happy with the purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome car fun to drife

by dande from Aumsville on Wed May 23 2018

this car has great power and I love driving it. Can pass any other car on the road even up hill. Very pretty and comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I only buy nisan.

by Josh k from Chicago il on Tue Sep 26 2017

Best new look. Price amazing. Great to drive and sporty. Yiu cant get another brand at this price. So happy for autobarn nissan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Beautiful Relaible Car I’ve Owned

by Nikayla Safford from Maricopa, Arizona on Fri Aug 24 2018

This vehicle has been on my mind for years and now that I have the money for t I made the decision to buy it! It is such a smooth ride and has all the technology I need! Nice new interior and exterior in great shape.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Altima

The verdict:

The Nissan Altima was updated for 2016 and, while it doesn't do anything badly, it doesn't do much to distinguish itself in the midsize sedan class, either.

Versus the competition:

Though its ride and interior quality are good, the Altima is hamstrung by engine noise and a driving experience that's unexciting — even in this large, unexciting category.

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 Nissan Altima, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Altima's competitors include the Kia Optima, Chevrolet Malibu and Volkswagen Passat. These and five other sedans competed against each other in our 2016 Midsize Sedan Challenge, for which I was not a judge. I tested an Altima 2.5 SL that cost $32,115, which is more than $4,000 above the price cap we set for that comparison. As a result, my impressions are significantly different from those of my colleagues who judged the Challenge. The fact that there's such... Read More