NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Altima

#10 Most Popular Sedan
$11,024 - $20,260  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

262 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 262 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

A good car for my daily needs

by Randlebhz from Memphis, TN on Sun Dec 30 2018

I am enjoying this vehicle with its compact but smooth drive. I really hope to be able to enjoy this car more as time goes on

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car!

by Dragonheart65 from Herrin, Illinois on Mon Feb 18 2019

I live this Altima it has the features I was looking for and the safety and reliability to go with it! I’ll enjoy this car for a very long time!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my new car.

by Shea from Halethorpe, MD on Tue May 21 2019

It is an upgrade from my Cobalt and as my daughter says now I’m driving like a grown up. The sound system is awesome and it drives very well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I've ever owned.

by HolderSC from Gallatin on Tue Jul 17 2018

This car meets all of my needs. Plenty of leg room front and back. Very comfortable seating. Smooth riding and good on gas. Very nice vehicle to have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever had

by Joannesdew from Pittsburgh on Sat Sep 09 2017

This car has amazing seats lots of leg room and tons of features including extra usb and aux ports... Keyless entry remote start and push button start.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Proceed with caution.

by Mabel on Sun Jul 02 2017

It's a nice car. Lots of leg room my husband is 6"5 And he can sit comfortable. Downside to me is the way transmission shifts. This is my 3rd Nissan my first Alitma lasted 10 yrs. 2nd was a Sentra that barely lasted 4yrs transmission started going. Decided to try Altima again. But its shifting gears just like my Sentra did in the beginning. All 3 bought brand new.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Unreliability

by JWH from Albuquerque, NM on Mon Sep 09 2019

I bought my Altima in late 2017 with 5 miles on it. I use it for long trips mainly, and have put 40,000 miles on it. In less than two years the starter has been replaced twice and the Intelligent System Key light has activated making the car completely in operable which has happened multiple times. When I mean completely I mean completely, if the windows were down they are stuck down nothing works period. The vehicle then has to be towed to closest Nissan Dealer for system to be fixed. So when the warranty runs out at 36,000 the extended does not cover it. Other than those issues the car drives nice is extremely comfortable, and I Love the styling the main reason I bought it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Enjoy driving this car.

by Gene golf professional from Cincinnati, Ohio on Wed Feb 20 2019

This automobile is a pleasure to drive. All of the Altima S L extras are terrific. I like the style. My only complaint is that I would like the suspension to be much softer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best drive ever

by Jess Green from phoenix on Wed Nov 28 2018

I commute a lot and i must say yes the newest but yet the best drive in a car with 40k or more miles i have ever driven.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great gas mileage and looks

by Steves7676 from Orlando, Florida on Sun Apr 09 2017

I have the 17 SR midnight edition and my wife has the 17 SL we both love the cars and get amazing gas mileage from them. 5 Stars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Altima

The verdict:

The Nissan Altima was updated for 2016 and, while it doesn't do anything badly, it doesn't do much to distinguish itself in the midsize sedan class, either.

Versus the competition:

Though its ride and interior quality are good, the Altima is hamstrung by engine noise and a driving experience that's unexciting — even in this large, unexciting category.

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 Nissan Altima, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Altima's competitors include the Kia Optima, Chevrolet Malibu and Volkswagen Passat. These and five other sedans competed against each other in our 2016 Midsize Sedan Challenge, for which I was not a judge. I tested an Altima 2.5 SL that cost $32,115, which is more than $4,000 above the price cap we set for that comparison. As a result, my impressions are significantly different from those of my colleagues who judged the Challenge. The fact that there's such... Read More