NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Altima

#10 Most Popular Sedan
$10,944 - $20,336  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

262 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 262 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent gas milage.

by tfriend24 from Mabelvale, Arkansas on Sat Jul 21 2018

So far I am very pleased with the car. Good millage and very good performance. Very comfortable car. Would recommend this car to friends and family.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

wasn't what I expected and told

by GERMAN ENGINEERING STINKS from Farmington Hills on Mon Dec 25 2017

I test drove several cars in 2017. It included a Honda civic, accord, Toyota Camry, Mazda 5, Kia optima, Nissan Altima and ford fusion. I have to say without a doubt the Ford Fusion road better that all of these others above. The ride was much more comfortable and less road noise. The Asian cars have terrible road noise. I feel the problem is they are trying to cheapen them up. The competition is so tough that the car companies are doing everything they can to keep the cost down. The cars these days you may as well just leave out the stereo system because you can't hear it over the noise.. Also I found that the Asian cars seem to bottom out a lot. The thing is the fusion is a bit more money but not a lot. I guess you get what you pay for. I was told by a dealership that the Altima road very nice and that was far from the thruth. I drove it about 5 miles and I told the saleslady I want to turn around and go back. That car road terrible, just like the Camry.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The most fuel effort car I’ve owned.

by Dwright from on Wed Apr 25 2018

Car is very fuel Efficient. For the value however I feel navigation should have been included in the package. Very spacious and comfortable at cruising speeds on smooth road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice car

by Jimmy from Georgetown S.C. on Tue May 16 2017

Very dependable and does not cost a lot of money to operate. Looks like a high end car. Very glad I purchased it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty and Stylish

by Nicole C. from Tampa, FL on Thu Apr 20 2017

This car has tons of style inside and out. Drives smooth. Great pickup at acceleration. Awesome sound system. GREAT gas mileage!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Almost perfect

by TheGhost_1 from PA on Mon May 15 2017

My only complaints are not having a touch screen or a blind spot indicator but they weren't a deal breaker. My last car had a touch screen and I rarely touched it so this car not having it is not a big deal, I'm ok with the screen. I can control the radio from my steeling wheel so having a touch screen would almost be pointless, it would just be nice to have a bigger screen. As for the blind spot indicators, the bigger trims have them by not the special Midnight edition SR version, think they would bring a special edition but not having them isn't that bad. I bought little blind spot mirrors to attach on and they work perfectly. The exterior of the car is absolutely beautiful to me. Black rims, black mirrors, black spoiler, daytime running lights and LED headlights. The acceleration is fantastic and the ride is smooth. I've owned 3 cars and this is my 4th and my absolute favorite. I'm always getting compliments on it, people love it as much as I do.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by L. Alston from Florence, SC on Mon Mar 27 2017

I love my car. It's very reliable, safe, and luxurious! I will definitely have this car for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

comfortable and very nice looking

by debv from gloversville,ny on Thu May 18 2017

very comfortable and looks luxurious and drives beautiful! Not to mention that the dealership was a wonderful experience!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Leased Nissan Altimas for 15 years.

by LynneP from Mooresville, North Carolina on Wed Aug 23 2017

I have had only good experiences with my Nissan Altimas. Performance and reliability are key and that is what you get with the Altima. Excellent sales staff who make you feel as though you are their only customer and treat you as though you are royalty. Great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My New Car

by Black Beauty from Mason City, Iowa on Mon May 15 2017

Very satisfied with car and experience with the dealership. Great sound system Nothing as beautiful as a newly washed black car very comfortable interior

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Altima

The verdict:

The Nissan Altima was updated for 2016 and, while it doesn't do anything badly, it doesn't do much to distinguish itself in the midsize sedan class, either.

Versus the competition:

Though its ride and interior quality are good, the Altima is hamstrung by engine noise and a driving experience that's unexciting — even in this large, unexciting category.

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 Nissan Altima, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Altima's competitors include the Kia Optima, Chevrolet Malibu and Volkswagen Passat. These and five other sedans competed against each other in our 2016 Midsize Sedan Challenge, for which I was not a judge. I tested an Altima 2.5 SL that cost $32,115, which is more than $4,000 above the price cap we set for that comparison. As a result, my impressions are significantly different from those of my colleagues who judged the Challenge. The fact that there's such... Read More