NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Altima

#10 Most Popular Sedan
$11,183 - $20,083  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

262 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 262 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Leased Nissan Altimas for 15 years.

by LynneP from Mooresville, North Carolina on Wed Aug 23 2017

I have had only good experiences with my Nissan Altimas. Performance and reliability are key and that is what you get with the Altima. Excellent sales staff who make you feel as though you are their only customer and treat you as though you are royalty. Great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love this car !!!

by Tre'Meg Altima Lover from Stanley NC on Fri Dec 15 2017

Wow ! I have so many great features in this car my favorite is the remote start! We have plenty of space! Excellent gas mileage! I would buy again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by L. Alston from Florence, SC on Mon Mar 27 2017

I love my car. It's very reliable, safe, and luxurious! I will definitely have this car for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Erik M. from on Mon May 29 2017

It's a great car for a small family for the daily commute, it's a real gas saver, has enough power to respond on the highway, 80-90 miles and drives steady. Overall, very happy with the purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my altima

by Kym0215 from Lyerly,GA> on Fri May 26 2017

I wasn't happy about the car when my husband first picked it out but now that I have driven it I love this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Altima

by Dyllan25 from Fort Worth, tx on Sun May 21 2017

41 mpg is great! Style is great! Interior is comfy! Would recommend this car to anyone that wants a good mix of gas mileage, comfort , and style.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Car, great on gas!

by Queen Alicia from Twin Citites, MN on Wed Apr 18 2018

Rides smooth, nice features, good family comfortable vehicle. Great on gas mileage. The interior is nice & I love the remote start feature that came with my vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NISSAN IS ABOVE AND BEYOND ANY OTHER BRAND

by Marcywarren2001 from Italy, Texas on Mon May 29 2017

The Altima HAPPILY surprised us when we purchased our 2015. I always drove a Honda believing it was superior to any other brand but comparing the Accord next to the Altima it was no longer a comparison. The Altima is evrey bit the car the Accord is with one big exception. Price of Accord compared to Altima EQUIPPED identical the Accord is 7-8 thousand more. And I am not gonna jump up to the Maxima with a 9k difference above the Altima for a mere 2ft. More room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fell in love with this car

by SenseiRH from on Tue Apr 04 2017

all my questions answered with great feedback on this car, the performance was great. the interior was perfect, and they're having me come back for a finishing touch!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just picked up my 4th Altima

by sfrank120 from on Sun May 21 2017

As evidence by my loyalty to the vehicle, I have found the Altima to be a great balance of interior space, fuel economy, styling, and a responsive drivetrain due to the CVT. Would highly recommend!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Altima

The verdict:

The Nissan Altima was updated for 2016 and, while it doesn't do anything badly, it doesn't do much to distinguish itself in the midsize sedan class, either.

Versus the competition:

Though its ride and interior quality are good, the Altima is hamstrung by engine noise and a driving experience that's unexciting — even in this large, unexciting category.

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 Nissan Altima, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Altima's competitors include the Kia Optima, Chevrolet Malibu and Volkswagen Passat. These and five other sedans competed against each other in our 2016 Midsize Sedan Challenge, for which I was not a judge. I tested an Altima 2.5 SL that cost $32,115, which is more than $4,000 above the price cap we set for that comparison. As a result, my impressions are significantly different from those of my colleagues who judged the Challenge. The fact that there's such... Read More