NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Altima

Consumer Reviews

2017 Nissan Altima

#10 Most Popular Sedan
$10,944 - $20,336  MSRP Range
2017 Nissan Altima

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

262 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Nissan Altima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 262 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This car hums and thrills

by Mizmac from Silver Spring, MD on Thu Mar 15 2018

The seat is designed by NASA. It looks as good as an Acura or Lexus. When they drove it past me at the service department I found myself admiring it. The Bose stereo is awesome. It’s the third most popular car in the US meaning that any nearby Camry or Accord will be targeted by thieves before my car. The ride is quiet and smooth. I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st new car

by Brian from Chicago on Wed Dec 06 2017

I love this vehicle. The car pick is very good. Huge trunk and the gas mileage is fantastic and I feel comfortable to be able to travel in this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Altima

by Dyllan25 from Fort Worth, tx on Sun May 21 2017

41 mpg is great! Style is great! Interior is comfy! Would recommend this car to anyone that wants a good mix of gas mileage, comfort , and style.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I’ve ever owned.

by Altimaadam from Holyrood Ontario on Sun Apr 01 2018

I think Nissan took the time to make a sexy luxury car and really made the difference with the features handling and fuel economy and reliability. I enjoy the Altima.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I test drove

by Joannesdew from Pittsburgh on Sat Sep 09 2017

This car drives great and purchased it based on the test drive. The features are great I bought the midnight edition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NISSAN IS ABOVE AND BEYOND ANY OTHER BRAND

by Marcywarren2001 from Italy, Texas on Mon May 29 2017

The Altima HAPPILY surprised us when we purchased our 2015. I always drove a Honda believing it was superior to any other brand but comparing the Accord next to the Altima it was no longer a comparison. The Altima is evrey bit the car the Accord is with one big exception. Price of Accord compared to Altima EQUIPPED identical the Accord is 7-8 thousand more. And I am not gonna jump up to the Maxima with a 9k difference above the Altima for a mere 2ft. More room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Erik M. from on Mon May 29 2017

It's a great car for a small family for the daily commute, it's a real gas saver, has enough power to respond on the highway, 80-90 miles and drives steady. Overall, very happy with the purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

had a 2011 sentra wish i kept it

by wowwhatasuprise from richmond va on Fri Sep 08 2017

First few days driving it and loved it, and good on gas, now its eating up gas. I only had car now for 2 weeks. I was wondering why car dealership was trying to sell me an extra warranty. reliability not yet sure of because I only had car for 2 weeks, check with me later.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My New Car

by Black Beauty from Mason City, Iowa on Mon May 15 2017

Very satisfied with car and experience with the dealership. Great sound system Nothing as beautiful as a newly washed black car very comfortable interior

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Big Al from Columbia, TN on Thu Jun 01 2017

This car is awesome!! It rides good,and handles the road well. The interior is really nice, and gets real good fuel mileage

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Nissan Altima

The verdict:

The Nissan Altima was updated for 2016 and, while it doesn't do anything badly, it doesn't do much to distinguish itself in the midsize sedan class, either.

Versus the competition:

Though its ride and interior quality are good, the Altima is hamstrung by engine noise and a driving experience that's unexciting — even in this large, unexciting category.

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 Nissan Altima, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Altima's competitors include the Kia Optima, Chevrolet Malibu and Volkswagen Passat. These and five other sedans competed against each other in our 2016 Midsize Sedan Challenge, for which I was not a judge. I tested an Altima 2.5 SL that cost $32,115, which is more than $4,000 above the price cap we set for that comparison. As a result, my impressions are significantly different from those of my colleagues who judged the Challenge. The fact that there's such... Read More