Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2006 Nissan Maxima

$1,722 - $8,678  MSRP Range
2006 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

39 Reviews
87% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 39 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Maxima 2006= Great Car

by Rott20 from Chicago IL on Wed Feb 23 2011

I bought my Nissan Maxima SE back in 2006 and have had it ever since. I have over 70K miles on it, and it runs like it is new. I did upgrade the air filter to a cold air induction system and bought a "Bully Dog" chip programmer that both increased HP to about 300, but gave me fuel economy to 30+ in the city and almost 40+ on the highway. Not bad for a 300+hp car! I have had little wrong with the car. The brakes wore out a little ealier than normal, and the standard Goodyear SE tires are garbage, but replace those, and you have one of the fastest, most economical, sport sedan around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good At First

by cmsong from on Thu Feb 16 2017

Got this car at around 67,000 miles and it was fine for about 3 years. By the end of 2013, started experiencing shifting issues then midway through 2014, the car started jumping gears and others issues. In the end, it was either a transmission issue or something else. Didn't realize the '05 and '06 Maximas had issues with transmissions. Nice car. Just didn't last long.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful, but a bit noisy...

by SmartBeauty1981 from Fort Lauderdale on Wed Oct 11 2006

I absolutely love this car. It's spacious and georgous on the inside and a beauty on the outside. It's definetely a head turner. My only problem is that it is a bit noisy. But overall, I give it a 95% overall.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice

by wild bill from on Tue Nov 05 2013

I bought this car used and it is excellent. It had 115000 miles on it and still rides and handles like a ne car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

by good little girl from Joplin, MO on Tue Oct 10 2006

I love eveything about this car. Compared to cars I've owned before, this one rates a triple A. How can Nissan NOT BE NO. 1 in something! The seats are so comfy; the ride so smooth; the mileage better than expected; handling just great. Being female, I can't say anything about the mechanics, but I love my car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far, Great car!

by JLW from Minneapolis, MN on Thu Oct 20 2011

Excellent buy, would recommend to anyone. Very comfortable and stylish. I receive a lot of compliments on the car, from men and women. Roomy and classy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Too many problems with this car!!

by Maxed out from Philly on Wed Nov 17 2010

Transmission and anti-lock brakes are major issues with this car. Very dangerous and should be recalled.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchase for the money

by Jman from Chicago, IL on Tue Nov 08 2011

My friends cannot believe the deal I got on this car. They are green with envy. It is a great vehicle which I hope will serve me for many years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've seen

by Nathan Morrison on Thu May 10 2018

I think it's a car that needs a lot of attention.. it was really dirty on the inside and as well on the outside too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car but bad turning radius!

by MaximaOwner from Toronto, Canada on Wed Nov 15 2006

Maxima runs great! no problems what so ever. Except it seems to have a very poor turning radius (very hard to make U turns) and the engine is a bit noisy. It also makes some kind of water splashing noise .. dont know whats up with that... But over all its a pleasure to drive the car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2006 Nissan Maxima

We hit the highway for this review with extreme prejudice. No, that's not spy lingo for the elimination of a foe. Just an admission that I climbed into the 2006 Nissan Maxima 3.5 SE knowing that it is powered by what I consider to be the best V-6 engine on the planet. It's superbly smooth and plenty powerful at 265 horsepower, and ready toannounce its presence through quad-tipped dual exhausts. Somehow, the Maxima, the flagship of Nissan's fleet, has rumbled beneath the radar of most consumers. When we think American muscle in a foreign skin, we often envision BMW, Mercedes-Benz, or Audi. And yes, Nissan's upscale Infiniti brands that bear the 35 and 45 badges have been given their muscle-car recognition... Read More