2016 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Maxima

$13,306 - $23,198  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

112 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 112 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Sexiest Car Ever!

by Syracuse, NYGirl from Syracuse, NY on Mon Mar 02 2020

I own the Platinum in Black. Always wanted a Maxima. This car is fun to drive, sleek & sexy looking, handles curves great. Need more headroom though. Love all the features and I couldn’t ask for anything more. I still can’t seem to understand the Moonroof button. All I want to do is close the moonroof but then the shade will close as well. But I don’t want the shade to close. All in all a wonderful designed car that is a joy to ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by Elisha from Manhattan on Tue Dec 31 2019

This car has plenty of leg room and i enjoy the interior as well. It has plenty of trunk room and I would refer this car to others also.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice vehicle.

by Black Max from Statesboro, GA on Mon Aug 26 2019

So far, I like this car. It's my second Maxima and it hasn't disappointed. Very comfortable, nice performance, like all the options and it looks sleek even though it's a sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Maxima

by OhioKid from Bowling Green, OH on Sat Feb 29 2020

Absolutely everything I expected. My dad has owned several Nissan’s so I knew what to expect as far as performance handling and reliability, but the jump in quality from 2014-2016 is incredible, even for the basic S model. Very happy with it so far

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned!!

by Brad from CHANDLER on Fri May 01 2020

Perfect in every way! This car is a great value with a true sports car feel and drive but at a sedan price... I would recommend this car to anyone...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars we own!

by C Geary from Conde SD on Sat Feb 15 2020

This car had everything I was looking for. Heated package for steering wheel & seats, Sun roof, air, Bluetooth, navigation, inside was I. Great shape , so was the outside. There was so much more!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this Maxima

by Zloves from Lithonia on Thu Jan 16 2020

Love style and handling. Good on gas. Sits low to the ground but nice luxury, sporty car. Interior appointed with great features on platinum model. I like how everything is placed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Nissan owner from Pennsylvania on Mon Sep 14 2015

I have a 2016 Nissan platinum wit 1,000 miles on it. I traded in my 2009 Nissan Maxima SV. The interior styling is much better and the car is loaded with new technology. You get all around camera with motion detection, a little more front leg room and a multi information screen. It is too early to tell u about the reliability but I had no problems on my 2009 soil don't expect any problems on the 2016. The car had good pick up power for any situation and handles nice in the sports mode.the platinum comes with every option. I love the look of the new body style. Once you get adjusted to all the technology in this car you will begin to see that there is no reason to spend more money on another top end car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Maximus Prime

by JamesG from Midwest, IL on Fri May 13 2016

The 2016 Nissan Maxima is a intermediate level sports sedan which some serious attitude. This new Maxima sports a V6 mated to a CVT that produces 300 horsepower and a SR trim level which is performance based and offers some great driving excitement. Styling is really a departure from the norm. The exterior is bold and has a presence. That ending roofline to back window does look at bit odd when the car is equipped with other colors other than black or grey but, its livable. Interior design is driving focused and the infotainment system is easy to use. Maxima also, offers a nifty sport mode to get your heart pumping when on the go. Overall, this Maxima is stand out in its class and deserves high praises for the bold presence it has and for the quality of vehicle it brings to its segment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This is the ultimate Dad Car

by apfaff from daphne, al on Fri Jun 16 2017

Move over BMW 5-Series, the latest update to the "4 Door Sports Car," the Nissan Maxima is nothing short of brilliant. From an aggressive exterior styling that feels more "GTR" than "Altima," the Maxima has once again started to define the Japanese Full Size car segment with an affordable, fun to drive, and well balanced vehicle. I call this the "ultimate dad car" because it does three things very well, that most other mid-size and even full-size sedans do not: 1. I can fit 2 infant or 2 convertible car seats in the back seats , all while I (6'2) and my wife (5'9) sit comfortably in the front seats. 2. I can fit a ton of luggage, including a double jogging stroller, 2 coolers, a suit case and a diaper bag all in the trunk. 3. If and when you want it to be fast, IT IS. Nissan got some flack for the CVT transmissions in the Pathfinders and Altimas in the 2013 era, but it seems that the latest Flagship Maxima is using it to it's advantage. They tuned the classic Nissan 3.5L V6 engine (originally debuted in the reincarnation of the 350Z in the early 2000s) into a 300 HP Beast (much more than even the twin turbo BMW 528I) all while averaging about 26MPG in mostly city driving. I drove the vehicle to and from texas (600+Miles each way) and got a combined 29MPG. While i love nearly everything about the car, three things really stand out as being merely "manageable." The maxima platform (used for the pathfinder as well) is front wheel drive. I get it, it's hard to get the Japanese automakers to create anything RWD aside from a few Lexus products - however, making an AWD version would create an even better driving experience. The second is the departure angle. While I know the styling is that of a sports car, and in reality, the ride height is pretty darn great, I do find myself scrapping the bottom bumper a bit more than I would like. Finally, make a 6 Speed manual option. I love the sport mode, and when the kids aren't in the car, I throw this baby in Sports Mode with manual control and have a blast. But for those of who "enthusiasts" who need a 4 door full size sedan, but want the feel of a weekend beach racer, a manual transmission would be the perfect balance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2016 Nissan Maxima

The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate’s performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.

“Maxima” is Nissan’s longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn’t fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up... Read More