1997 Pickup

Consumer Reviews

1997 Nissan Pickup

$1,892 - $2,832  MSRP Range
1997 Nissan Pickup

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

11 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1997 Nissan Pickup?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2011 Nissan Frontier

by The Boss from Merritt Island, Florida on Fri Jul 15 2011

This 2011Frontier is the 5th Nissan I've owned. They run forever, they handle great and the best part is they are relieable. I LOVE NISSAN!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First and only truck

by mr.d21 from west palm beach fl on Mon Jul 23 2018

Ever since I laid my eyes on it, I knew it was an amazing truck. Hasn't proven me wrong yet. The interior for the time period is outstanding for a truck and the performance while it may be a little bit behind still proves it self. Nissan sure made its name with this truck and the 240.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Vehicle I have Owned

by Nissssssan from Dallas, Tx on Wed Feb 07 2018

This truck is more of a tank than a truck. Got me through college and still runs. Nissan did a terrific job building this truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best 4 cyl truck nissan ever made

by nissan man from phx az on Thu Mar 19 2009

I have owned 3 nissan pickups. Every one was great. I could haul and pull anything i hooked up to it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Its Sitting In My Driveway

by JT Puppy from Lansing, KS on Sun Aug 24 2008

truthfully you guys its a good truck ive had mine for about a year and a half and the only thing ive done to it is a tune up. i love it!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck on the Road

by Nissan Man from Dallas, TX on Thu Aug 16 2012

I have a 97 Nissan Pickup with 253,000 miles on it. It is unbelievable . I have fixed nothing major on this truck and I bought it with 10,500 miles on it. It just keeps on running.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

231000 miles

by Larry from Auburn, Maine on Mon Sep 29 2008

Bought the fleet model- no extras, nothing to break. 231000 miles, 29 mpg ,1 clutch,changed metal brake lines this year (Maine winters kill brake lines), 1 starter, 1 water pump, fixed the rust this year. Should be good for another 11 years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very reliable vehicle!!

by Onelover from Phoenix AZ on Thu Sep 27 2007

I've had this truck for 11 years now (bought in 1996) and have NEVER had any major problem with it. Hit a few poles etc....still running and still looking pretty good in spite of it all! I've had people ASK me if I wanted to sell it and no, I did not. Takes a lickin and keeps on tickin!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Decent truck

by Joe from on Sun Mar 11 2012

'97 4x2 with 88,000 miles on it. These trucks will run nearly forever. It's pretty basic - no frills. 2.4L 4-cyl is under-powered and with the automatic it's frustrating. Add to that it gets about 16 mpg combined city/hwy, it's a major disappointment for such a small truck and $4/gal gas. Luckily I only drive about 600 miles/month! It's not quiet. There are not a lot of choices for tires for this model with 14" wheels. If this truck had another 20hp and got another 8-10mpg, it would be a keeper. As is, it's just reliable, semi-cheap transportation.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Many repairs needed

by lookin'4pikup from Lawrence, KS on Sun Apr 22 2007

The water pump on this vehicle repeatedly fails. It is noisy on the road yet handles well. It delivers adequate power and handles loads in the bed well. It is stylish. Mechanically, the reliablility is poor. Otherwise it is a good vehicle.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2