Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2012 Versa

Consumer Reviews

2012 Nissan Versa

$3,151 - $10,775  MSRP Range
2012 Nissan Versa

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

80 Reviews
76% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Nissan Versa?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 80 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Its good!

by Alithedriver from Las Vegas, NV on Sun Apr 15 2012

I bought this versa new. and I drive 184 miles every day, 5 days a week. It's been amazing, never had a problem. It's fairly quick. You'll always find me on the fast lane going at least 70 mph. I recommend this car if you want good mpg and reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Saves on gas

by J from MD on Fri Oct 12 2012

This car drives well, and i'm getting about 36 mpg. My only complaint is the lack of storage space available to the driver.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nissan Versa SV

by Marty from Kennesaw GA on Fri Dec 21 2012

Bought this Versa at Town Center Nissan, Have not had it long enough to give you an experienced review. I can the computer sayd i'm getting 32.5 MPG average. After checking by filling it up twice now. I got 31.6 the first fillup and 29.2 on the second. with about 95% City Driving. The CVT transmission definitely has me wondering if we made the right choice as yet. MPG is good,price on vehicle was good. CVT gets some getting use too. make sure you test drive it uphill,downhill,starts and stops a few times before you decide.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just Bought 2nd Versa

by Medman48 from Cincinnati, OH. on Tue Oct 02 2012

We have a 2009 Versa Hatchback & love it. Two days ago we bought a 2012 Versa SV Sedan & love it also, great styling on the redesigned sedan. I was going to buy a Hyundai Accent but it cost more & the Hyundai salesman basically blew me off when I tried to talk him down on the price but we got a nice deal on a leftover 2102 Versa SV & this has the Magnetic Grey exterior & Sandstone interior so it's really sharp to look at. Our 2009 Versa has been a great car so we are sure the 2012 will be great also. The backseat room is awesome & our 2 6ft tall sons can fit back there comfortably & the trunk is nice & large.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Yes , I'd buy it aagin

by Bill C. from Illinois on Mon Aug 12 2013

My Versa Hatchback has done everything I've asked it to do. You won't feel like your trapped in a economy mini car when you drive the Versa. I found it to be very competitive with similar models by other manufactures without looking like a bargain basement special. The CVT is so different to what I'm used to , but if I don't dwell on it , it seems to do the job just fine. NO rattles , well put together. I'd add a built in garage door opener, factory window tint, and maybe better cup holders , other than that , everythings good.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

6th Nissan

by Dude from Dallas Tx on Tue Nov 22 2011

Overall good commuter automobile. Carpet is cheap. no center armrest. mileage computer runs a bit fast...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Versa 1.6 SL New

by Lyte from VA/DC on Wed Jul 25 2012

Just purchased a 2012 Versa 1.6 SL with the optional navigation package. This model has a clean and smooth ride to it. The navigation unit is touch screen and easy to use. You can also manipulate the navigation screen while the vehicle is in use and being driven. Normally some navis "ghost out" or are not capable of being used while the car is moving. This car has 109 HP and uses a CVT (continuously variable transmission). It has an 11 gallon tank and gets a little over 30mpg city use. The car is efficient and can move in and out of traffic smoothly without hesitation. The biggest difference about this model (1.6 SL) is that it comes with fog lights, chrome door handles (inside and out), 4 speakers (speaker system sounds very good for stock) and alloy rims. Those few items make the car look and feel like a full sized mid class sedan. It really makes a huge difference. I would highly recommend buying the 1.6 SL model over the other two models as the small add-ons are well worth the additional money. This car is ideal for any looking for a small to mid size sedan that has a very comfortable ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my 2012 versa

by 2012versa from Cheyenne, WY on Sun Apr 15 2012

This car is great for the price you pay. I get around 39 mpg on this car. I can do zero to sixty miles per hour in less that 10 sec. I haven't had a problem with this car yet. Hope this helps you with your buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice car

by mmmarzipan from on Fri Aug 24 2012

reliable, roomy and solid. upgraded to the navigation model. even friends with very expensive cars compliment how roomy and comfortable it is. love the usb port to plug in phone or other things to charge.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

DON'T BUY THIS!!

by DawnD from on Tue Mar 21 2017

I bought this car new from the dealership. I had to get a new transmission at $35k miles and now need another one after only $53k miles on the new transmission!! I've contacted Nissan Corporate for help. I wanted a reliable car and I got a lemon. I encourage you to buy ANYTHING other than a Versa!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2012 Nissan Versa


Even with its redesign for the 2012 model year, the Nissan Versa sedan remains a utilitarian subcompact that gets the job done but won't blow away owners with its extras.

Think of the Versa as the flathead screwdriver in your toolbox. This sedan gets from Point A to Point B really well. Like the screwdriver, the Versa is rather bare-bones. There's not a lot to get excited about in terms of features or design cues.

Instead, get excited about its functionality and price. A Versa bragging point is its low starting price. The 2012 sedan has a starting MSRP of $10,990 and is the most affordable new car on the market. My Versa SL sedan cost $15,560. The Versa is also available as a hatchback.

The Versa... Read More