Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2009 Xterra

Consumer Reviews

2009 Nissan Xterra

$4,618 - $13,806  MSRP Range
2009 Nissan Xterra

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Nissan Xterra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Understand it first, drive it second, Love it.

by 4Now from Northern Michigan on Mon Oct 12 2009

Okay guys, lets get on board here, ok? This is not an BMW X5, A Mercedes or your Dads Suburban. This is not your Moms Lexus R 350(or what ever its called). This is a vehicle that can take you nearly any place you want to go----on or off road. Please stop the nonsense complaining that the Xterra is full of plastic parts or doesnt handle well over 80mph. Who would ever even consider a vehichle like this to manuver well over 80 like a ferrari???? If you want a ferrari then get one. If you want a vehicle that can--and does perform like an around town grocery getter, casual tripper, off road hooligan, then get a bloody Xterra! People people people, we all need to stop comparing these rigs to a Bentley. We need to look at these rigs for what they are and what they can do. I live in northern Michigan and love the out doors that living here has to offer. I can take my wife and kids out into the woods and show them places that a Suburban, BMW,Expedition could never even dream of getting to. And I can do it all treading lightly. The xterra does absolutely everything that I ask of it and that I want it to do. If I wanted it to do other things I would have bought something else. People who buy these types of vehichles like a Jeep, Land Rover, Toyota FJ, they did the research and new what they wanted. All I can say is do your own research and get the vehichle that is right for your lifestyle---Me, I'm over 50 years old and my faorite color is dirt, snow and mud---with a little pavemnent thrown in on the side. I still crave the adventure that only a vehichle like this can give me and my family. My other vehichle???? a Nissan Rogue.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

New Xterra owner

by Driving enthusiast from Vancouver, Canada on Wed Aug 11 2010

I am very happy with the Xterra in terms of its storage capacity and off-road capabilities. Nissan used a minimalist philosophy for its Xterra: "Everything you need and nothing you don't." They are true their word.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

No offroading 4 side airbags

by Mack from Utah on Fri Nov 13 2009

Do not get the side curtain airbags if you drive off road. I have a 2008 Off Road package. Driving off road in a national park in Utah the front seat belts locked up and both side curtain airbags went off. The truck was in no way near tipping over. It was fairly well loaded. Nissan tells me the truck acted as designed and to call my insurance company.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great looking inside and out

by kevin tulsa from TULSA on Sat Apr 10 2010

I have wanted a xterra for years, finally got one . had to track down a dark blue from another state to get it. needs usb connections inside and remote seats, but other than that has alot of nice extra features. great looking bold and sharp lines inside and out. [ that helps to keep it's newnest looks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most fun vehicle to drive

by BOAT HAULER from Packer country WI on Fri Nov 18 2011

A real MAN CAVE or family vehicle. Powerful is the word. Im a 65 old Grandma who actually don' mind potholes. Absolutely fun to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

decent vehicle

by joe car guy from North Florida on Sat Aug 28 2010

Fits a niche. A somewhat comfortable highway vehicle that can go off-road. Although not very fuel efficient for today,s market, IT HAS A FRAME!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good solid stable vehicle. Looks good, drives good

by Yvonne SSI from SALT SPRING IS on Sat Jan 13 2018

This SUV handles well. 4x4 works great. I love the fold down seats for using it as a work truck. The back of the seats and the rear of the vehicle is durable and great for tools etc.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable

by vince from sc on Mon Oct 19 2009

im impressed with this SUV,handles very well, gas mileage is 18 city and 23 hwy serious off road capabilities. i used to own H3 , and have to say that xterra is seriour competetor to hummer family

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Something New but used

by Nissan Buyer from Baton Rouge, LA on Fri Oct 29 2010

I can't complain about my new Nissan Xterra. I love it! It drives good and so far great on gas. Very roomy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a great off-roader!

by RobL from Detroit, MI on Fri May 05 2017

Bought this as a multipurpose car - commuting, driving around the family, and towing. It does it all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Nissan Xterra


The 2009 Nissan Xterra may be more refined, but I just don't like it.

I want to.

I think it looks really cool when you walk up to it. The straight-line design conveys a kind of high-tech ruggedness. The vehicle's face is smushed as if a giant grandmother squeezed it just a little too long. There's an appeal to the Xterra.

And when you see people riding in one, they always look so happy -- and young. These are the people who kayak on Monday, bungee jump Wednesday, skydive Saturday and then go clubbing.

While I'm no spring chicken, I don't consider myself old either. The 40s are the new 30s aren't they? I could krump, if I knew what it was.

But the Xterra, despite the exterior refresh for this model... Read More