1998 Bonneville

Consumer Reviews

1998 Pontiac Bonneville

$7 - $4,911  MSRP Range
1998 Pontiac Bonneville

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Pontiac Bonneville?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle

by Bonneville Owner from Indiana on Mon Aug 22 2011

I have owned many cars in my 14 years on the road. This car was by far the most reliable I have ever purchased. It is fast, spacious, and very comfortable. The only problems I ever had were ones that could be fixed at any local mechanics shop. (belts, battery, brakes, and other problems that go wrong on any automobile.) My Bonneville has 170,000 miles on it and still runs and shifts great. I really know nothing about transmissions but the 3800 engine is a real example of American craftsmanship. I would recommend this vehicle to any of my family members. I work for the railroad NOT a car company.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good, fast car

by Hellothere from Orlando, Fl on Mon Jul 25 2011

My 1998 Bonneville has 61,000 miles on it. Since we have owned it, which is only 2 1/2 months, we have had to change the transmission fluid, fix a crack in the fan belt, and replace the O2 sensor due to the check engine light coming on. The car had been sitting for about 2 years before I acquired it. My favorite thing about this car is the engine. I only have the base 205 HP 3.8 litre V6, but it still has plenty of power. You can merge, take off from a stoplight, and pass with ease. This is also a big car, which can fit four adults comfortably. The car's handling is just ok, with a fair amount of body lean in turns, but it is a fast family car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned yet

by spy dog from on Fri Aug 07 2009

my last pontiac bonnaville SSEI had 432043 miles on it it is a fun car to drive good in winter cheap to fix and has a good crash rating so it is also a safe car plenty of power

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good car

by joe from on Mon Jan 19 2009

Gret car overall good gas mileage ad great performance with supercharger just beware that the supercharger has a separate oil system so when you change the motor oil change the oil in the supercharger ive seen many complaints about the supercharger going out because people dont know that you have to change the oil in the supercharger with that being said this car is very reliable and it has served me well

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I'll miss her!

by tkruz from Wisconsin on Thu Sep 09 2010

Wonderful car. Has 205,000 on it and she is showing interior wear. 98 SSEI that I changed out the pneumatic suspension at 120K and had one wheel bearing go. If the wife stops hitting deer we would have gotten more. Leather seats are wore. And the nine position seats don't always work. Would love to have this car again.....sigh!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I loved my Bonneville

by Azurajade97 on Tue Sep 12 2017

Marvin and I were the best of friends. Despite high centering and frozen spark plugs in winter, this was the best car I've ever owned. Comfortable and reliable, even if it is a boat. This car never died, it just moved on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My Bonnie

by Girl in the Gold Bonnie from Philadelphia, PA on Wed Jun 04 2008

I've had this car for about two years now, and it currently has about 147,000 miles on it. I've had to get some work done on it (alignment, rack and pinion,few others), but overall this is a great car; its stylish and don't underestimate her speed! Pontiac should continue making Bonnevilles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car!

by Pontiac CRAZY MAN from Waverly, Ohio on Mon Apr 12 2010

This is no doubt the best car. Everything is good. AMAZING POWER!!!! even the SE version. Sounds very very VERY good, rides good, great in snow etc. Mine is sliver and bought it new in 99. ONLY problerm was leaking gas and that was from salt on the roads. Have no second though. To show you the power go to youtube and type in the year and model and make and you will be right in the driver seat next day no doubt! SSEi even has a supercharger. Finally, it gets way better miles to the gallon that it says.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My SSEI

by Jon from on Wed Nov 12 2008

The car diver like a dream and I'm confident that the motor could go for about 500000 strong before giving the only problems I have seen are with the AC system and the supercharger belt (SSEI) theu have both broken 2 times. Over all sweet car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bonni car guy

by h3im3r from Minneapolis, MN on Wed Jun 20 2007

Great everyday car with nice engine power. All is good with these cars except for poor transmission life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2