1995 Grand Am

Consumer Reviews

1995 Pontiac Grand Am

$1,234 - $3,094  MSRP Range

Review Score

3.4 out of 5 stars

3.4

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.2 out of 5 stars Performance
3.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1995 Pontiac Grand Am?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic 1st Car

by Al from Chicago, IL on Fri Dec 17 2010

I bought the vehicle about four months ago with 90k on it. I have put 6 thousand miles on it since. You can buy these Pontiacs cheap and the engines will last forever. If you don't drive like an idiot you get great gas mileage for a V6. I even put some rims on it and I think the car looks great. Its a fantastic first car. However the interior does squeak a little. But you can tighten the bolts that attach the dash to the frame and that stops the squeaking greatly. The stock radio is great and loud. The two front seats are roomy but there is no back seat because its a coupe... The trunk is big. I can fit my golf clubs in there with ease. The best part? The car starts no matter what. Even in cold windy chicago winters. You'll love this car if you take care of it and give it a little TLC and change the oil and do regular mantenince.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car i have ever had

by captainJack from on Sun May 15 2011

very nice car, extremely reliable. There were no problems with the one i had. As long as i changed the oil and had a few brake changes everything ran smoothly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Lots of little repairs

by Gman from st paul mn on Sat Mar 19 2011

i live in minnesota the car is great in the snow and cold weather. But ever since I got the car I have had to basically replace all the little components like alternator, radiator, fuel pressure reg, belt ten, started, heating coil, lower hose for coolant, windshield wiper motor, power stearing line, thermostat,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Great Car from New York, NY on Wed Jun 03 2009

I bought the car at 90,000 miles, have been driving it for 4 years, and it now has 140,000 miles! It really does run Great. There have been a few issues with it though (sensors, etc.); I've spent $1500 in repairs in 4 years. It now needs about $400 in repairs, but I know it'll run for another 50-60k EASILY. Brakes last forever, tires wear great, never needs alignment, etc. Starts in the coldest weather (-25 wind chill) and air works great in the hottest weather (95 degrees, 95% humidity). Very dependable, has never left me stranded. Always starts.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't Complain

by Doug from Dover, New Hampshire on Sat Jul 19 2008

My 1995 Pontiac Grand Am just clicked over 120,000 miles. It runs like a charm. It is the V6 model sport sedan. Outside of wear and tear replacement of parts, she has been the most reliable vehicle I have owned in my 34 or so years of owning and driving cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not very impressed!

by Sher from Ontario, Canada on Mon Apr 30 2007

This was my first car. I purchased it used from an older woman who only used it to drive to the store. I purchased it 10years old and they previouse owner never once changed the oil. I changed the oil 5 time in the first 4 months of owning it, it was black sludge!. I have had may problems with this car. Anit freeze leaks, power stearing leaks, unstraigh head, worn breaks, interior squeeks. FOr being the first car i have every purchased, and i am a little disapointed :(

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Down & Out at less the 70K

by MercedesJordan18 from Chicago, IL on Sat Jul 07 2012

My dad had this car for about 7 years with under 70K when he got rid of it. Reason being for that is because it would constantly leak oil. Sounds like a simple fix I guess but after a while, we got sick of it. Stay away from the '90s Grand Ams. Its to bad this car isn't reliable but has amazing exterior looks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great 1st car!!

by troy from cincinnati, oh on Wed Aug 05 2009

i bought this car after high school with about 85k on it. it was a great car. stylish, sporty, safe and reliable. after about 30k (around 115k) total a lot started going wrong. it still was a great car and i drove it until it topped 130k - not bad for a pontiac. this is a great car for the money. i would do it all over again in a second!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst Car Ever!

by Highway Cruiser from Northern, VA on Wed Jun 20 2007

I had problems with this car since day one and I had enough of it. I will never buy a Pontiac Again ever and you shouldn't either. I spent nearly the double the amount of the car to fix it. I was really upset I even bought this car in the first place.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Just ok

by SoccerMom3 from Minnesota on Wed Jan 31 2018

This car was fun and sporty, but had issues with leaking head gasket?s. I hear this is common in a lot of these cars. It ended up needing so much work that it was smarter to sell it and get a new vehicle. I would not purchase these again. The Pontiac G6 is a great alternative if you like GMC products though.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1995 Pontiac Grand Am

FORGET MONTE CARLO and other exotic auto racing locales. I offer a more challenging course -- the streets of Washington's National Airport.

Did I say "streets?" Precision demands correction. National Airport has no streets. It has paths -- ill-marked, ill-conceived and obstacle-strewn. Getting through National Airport thus requires more than a good car. It requires luck and good driving. What better place to hold a race?

Imagine! The Washington National Grand Prix! The idea occurred to me on a recent trip to the airport in a 1995 Pontiac Grand Am coupe. I was looking for a long-term parking space, a slot in that newfangled, brick-and-glass garage across from the airport's main terminal.

I... Read More