1996 Grand Am

Consumer Reviews

1996 Pontiac Grand Am

$958 - $3,570  MSRP Range

Review Score

2.9 out of 5 stars

2.9

8 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3 out of 5 stars Performance
3.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1996 Pontiac Grand Am?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

great starter car

by bobfunland from maine on Wed Jul 18 2007

i loved my grand am it was a great first car. i would only recommand this car for new drivers. i drove mine for 2 years with no real problems. i would have kept it longer but i wanted more of a car. i miss the car on the days i go to the pump, i got an avg. of 30mpg.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

niggling issues, no doubt, but v. economical

by Meli from Morgantown, WV on Wed Jul 25 2007

I have been fairly pleased with this car. If you don't put some money into your car every month, at least with oil changes and fuel additives, I wouldn't be surprised if you are unhappy with the performance of your car. However, I do everything I can to take care of this car, and the problems it gives me are mostly annoyances, not serious issues. I don't think it handles as well as a car could. It still looks normal in a parking lot, not old like it is, and mine (4 door SE) is loaded with features.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

moneys worth & more

by Love my GT GrandAM from Baltimore, MD on Mon Jun 22 2009

Great car purchased new and has been regularly maintained for 13 years. 30 mpg which is great for a V6. Great trunk space. Bucket seats better for a younger back - though lumbar support very effective. While great for "just getting around." Also used for commute to work and a cross country move. Loved this car!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car

by Mustang 36 from Aurora, IL on Sun May 11 2014

A grand am was my first car and i love it. When I am going 50 it makes me feel like I am actually going 50mph unlike some of these newer cars. I have not had to fix much on this car except little things like a window motor. I love this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

worst lemon i ever owned

by Won't Make The Same Mistake Again from Akron,OH on Sat Jul 14 2007

avoid! This car was a sure lemon. Every month this year I put money into it! I would NEVER recomend this car to ANYONE! I hate this car. Please make sure to not buy this car I beg of you.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

A Red 96 4cyl.

by Mr.Dad from Riverside, Ca on Tue Dec 15 2009

It was a great car for the first 7months it was strong good on gas and the inside was ok i bought it when it was just under 60,000mil. But once things started to break down it was one thing after an other and it was a domino affect.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

bad car

by carmandan from on Fri Aug 21 2009

i found this car to be not running and tht the price is to high

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

lots of repairs

by gta fan from Wichita, Ks on Tue Jun 14 2016

I bought this when on sale + red tag sale in 2002, ever since than I've spent more on repairs than the car is worth...every few years the driver window gets off track when rolling up...A/C isn't cold enough after me being outside for hours outside during summer, I've had the car in for this and the A/C would blow ice to real cold air for only 2 or 3 days...the car takes about 5 mins to warm up to use the heater during winter...i've had to replace the alternator 3 times since I had the car...i've had to replace the engine cause of the head gasket...i've had to also replace the instrument panel 3 times...the driver door squeaks when opening/closing...the glue holding the felts on the door panels have lost their hold years ago...i've also replaced the battery I'm not sure how many times........spent more on this car than it's worth (past, present and future)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1996 Pontiac Grand Am

For 1996, Pontiac offers a mea culpa, though most folks simply call it the Grand Am.

Grand Am has been Pontiac's best-selling model, thanks to sporty looks and a respectable price tag.

But Grand Am had some warts--a seat-belt system attached to the door ratherthan the pillar that made it awkward and an air bag only in the driver's steering-wheel hub and none in the dash to serve the passenger.

For 1996 the belts are anchored to the door pillar, not the door; dual air bags and anti-lock brakes are standard; the optional 3.1-liter, 155-h.p., V-6 is spirited (and so you notice, the exhaust provides muffled rumble sound effects) yet able to nurse a gallon of fuel for 21 miles in the city... Read More