1997 Grand Am

Consumer Reviews
1997 Pontiac Grand Am

Change Vehicle
3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

13 Reviews
1997 Pontiac Grand Am
3.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

1 out of 5 stars

the worst car i have ever owned stay away

by goate from nyc on February 28, 2008

overheats all the time expensive to fix, one guy said it was the water pump another said the engine. sears told me the head gasket, and the last person said drive it till it finally dies dont spend money on it.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't go wrong

by CJ from Calgary, AB on February 6, 2016

Picked up a '97 SE V6 4 door to get back and forth from school while my Jeep was being repaired and it never let me down. Drives great, handles great, only problems I've had are the the radio not lighting up anymore and an exhaust leak which makes it sound pretty good to be honest.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for little money

by My favorite Car from Manchester TN on August 27, 2011

I bought my 97 Pontaic in 07 When I turned 16.. I drove it hard to be a little four cylinder.. Had a few performance upgrades. The only problem I had was at 220000 miles the transmission begin to give me a few problems, but all in all I loved it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great first cat

by young college girl from Princeton, MN on July 29, 2008

This is the first car I have owned. I bought it in June of 2008. I have had to make a few minor repairs, being that the car is older, but otherwise it has been good to me. It gets fairly good gas mileage for a V6; from 25 to 30 mpg. I like that it is small and somewhat sporty. I think it is an excellent first car for anybody.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best second car to own

by Love my cars from chicago il on January 16, 2007

The pontiac grand am is a great second car or perfect for first time drivers. The gt model has the power and handling to make you fell like you have a sports car, but for under $20,000 new, you just cant beat it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by B from Buffalo, NY on April 18, 2014

This is my first car. It had 97,500 when i got it last June. It's now April, and there's 105.200 on it. I love this car. It's little, good on gas, the heater is very powerful, and I like the exterior design. I've had to put a lot of money in to it because the previous owner was the type of person who drives cars, but was oblivious to anything else, but I'll surely be sad when I need to get a new car/ Northeastern rust sucksss.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable with V6

by Joe from Highlnd MI on January 16, 2008

I purchased a 97 Grand am back in April 2007 and it had 212000 miles on it. It runs perfect! No problems. It has a 3.1 V6 and gets reasonable gas mileage.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Car Enthusiast from Saint John NB on February 3, 2007

I own a 2 door Se model. Love the car. Has all the same options as the GT model, Same motor/ trans. Only difference is the ground effects, dual exhaust, and rims. Other than that, they the same. I've own it now for a few years, and only had to replace the odd part here and there. Like the Altinator and belt, and plugs and coils. Other than that, this car has treated me very very well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

ehh

by poooooontiac from Topeka, KS on July 21, 2011

Bought it used with 30K and now has near 125K, lots of minor repairs but for the most part a decent and affordable car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

goog car for the price

by Auto mechanic from Michigan on September 11, 2010

Have 2.4 engine great acceleration nice handling car some minor issues when bought but easily fixed. panel nicely laid out. fun car to drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1997 Pontiac Grand Am