1998 Grand Am

Consumer Reviews

1998 Pontiac Grand Am

$220 - $3,672  MSRP Range
1998 Pontiac Grand Am

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

7 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Pontiac Grand Am?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Oldie but Goody

by GMsthebest from Torrington, CT on Thu Aug 06 2009

I got a 98 Grand Am at auction for only around $1000 and this vehicle is a GREAT performer for that price. When purchased it had about 100,000 miles on it already and its close to 146,000 now. It has only given me a couple issues, a sensor going bad and a heater core blowing. Its got a great paint job that still looks shiny as new and its a sturdy stable feeling car, unlike the tin can junk of today. Besides brakes being a little sloshy, the car has a lot of power (mine is the V6) and is a great highway car. Definitely a great value, and if properly cared for, I think this car will possibly make 200,000 if I want to take it that far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car i've ever owned at 450,000 miles

by baby from new york on Tue Dec 26 2006

i love this car it got though snow storms and even though my 18 year old kid. i love this car i only paid 7,500 dollars 7 years ago for my 1998 grand am from this nice old laddie. look this is a good cars for the money. p.s. just get it , its wonderful

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a great vehicle to own

by Rob from Calgary, AB on Fri Mar 09 2007

this is my first vehicle, purchased in February 2007. i have the Grand Am GT and i love it so far. i got the works, CD and Cass, V6, automatic, sunroof. the car handles like a dream, and the brakes stop you promptly and very precisely. the only problem i would have are the padding on the seats are just a tad thin. but that is not really a worry, just a comfort issue. this car though, has one heck of a sound system and i feel great every time i drive it. Great Job Pontiac on this one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Car so Far

by Pontiac Fan from Nebraska on Thu Sep 11 2008

1998 Pontiac Grand AM GT I've owned this car for about a month and so far i dont have problems with it. I like the power it has, its stylish, and fun to drive. Having the sunroof is a good bonus the only thing i dont like about this car is the stock radio which goes up and down screwy

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car -- Highly Recomended

by JT from South Central PA on Wed Jul 15 2009

We purchased two of these vehicles new in 1998 and just traded one of them in. Both cars ran for over 10 years with a minimum of repairs. Major items replaced are: Power steering pump and radio on both. The alternator, clutch, water pump, several O2 sensors, and parts of the ignition system on just one of them. Most items were replaced after the 6th year. The one traded had the most repairs and 130,000 miles on it. The one we kept only has 90,000 miles on it so we expect several more years of service from it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Interior and Exterior Design

by eduardo785 from Reson, VA on Mon Aug 20 2007

I bought this car used in Lawrence KS and even though it has some milleage on it, it still runs great. I love the exterior design and overall appearence. I haven't had any problems with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Didn't like it

by Beem from on Thu Feb 05 2009

i had one that was used....that might have been the problem. it was terrible. there was a leak somewhere in the car that just couldn't be found and it always smelt like mold.the handling was terrible as you almost always had to do a 3 point turn in even a large space if you wanted to be about face.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1998 Pontiac Grand Am

With all the bad news about GM lately, especially concerning the automaker's efforts to change its marketing, it's too easy to overlook Pontiac, one of the company's success stories.

It's too easy to forget that almost two decades ago, it was Pontiac that had lost its way. Like Oldsmobile today, rumors swirled concerning the future of the division. But Pontiac updated its '60s image as the performance division of GM, and one of its biggest successes was the Grand Am.

That's still true today, with the Pontiac selling more Grand Ams in 1997 than Volkswagen sold cars in the United States.

What has distinguished the Grand Am in the hotly contested compact car segment is its styling. Some find... Read More