Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 Grand Am

Consumer Reviews

2004 Pontiac Grand Am

$952 - $5,484  MSRP Range
2004 Pontiac Grand Am

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

46 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Pontiac Grand Am?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This was my Grand Am 1G2NF52E34M540245

by Previous owner of this car from Kansas City, MO on Sun May 06 2012

I bought this Grand Am in Dec 2004. It had approx 25000 miles on it at the time. Other than oil changes, the only repairs I did to it where front brake pads and rotors, new battery, and new tires. I drove the vehicle for 7+ years and it never left me on the side of the road or gave me any problems at all. I even drove it from KC to Georgia and back one year on vacation. My only reason for selling it was to move up to a SUV for more versatility and after 7 yrs it was time for a change. The mileage is accurate. I sold it with just under 73000 on it. This is a great car and to my knowledge has no major problems with it. I decided to write this review because I hate buying a used car and not knowing what your getting. If you buy this car you should be able to drive with no worries. I hope this helps and I hope you enjoy the car as much as I did.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Too bad they stopped making them!

by Vinnie from Youngstown, OH on Sat Sep 01 2012

My 2004 Grand Am has close to 200,000 miles and starts, runs, stops, and turns, the same today as it did when i bought it '05. I wish they still made them, I'd buy another one. I've had only minor problems with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for the money

by Aircraft Mechanic from Ohio on Thu Feb 15 2007

Bought it used with only 5500 miles.Have since put 43,000 more on it.Engine is on par with the best four cylinders as far as power.Air conditioning needed replaced under warrenty.But other then that the car has been very reliable.Fit and finish is not as good as a toyota or honda but still very nice.Handleing is good and goes very good in the snow. I get between 30 and 34 MPG driving at 70-75 mph on the highway(It depends upon how cold it is outside)I used to drive a honda just before this and I wouldn't have given it all 5 stars.The grand am is just as good as my honda so far.I guess I'm just a hard grader.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2004 Pontiac Grand Am

by "Candy Apple" owner from Pewee Valley, KY on Tue Feb 09 2010

I love the look of the car and all the features it has. It is great for long road trips and handles alright on Michigan roads (the worst roads in the country I would say). Plus I love GM cars. The car has a few problems though... when it hit about 50,000 miles, I started having major issues with the security system. I have to go through this 33 minute long procedure to get the car to start when the security system decides it wants to act up... when that acts up sometimes my monsoon stereo system will say "LOCKED" and won't let me play anything. Wheel bearings need to be replaced on it a lot too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Grand Am -- She's a keeper!

by PIBguy from on Wed Nov 18 2009

I bought a 2004 Grand Am SE1 in July of 2004. It had 6800 miles on it. The car has been reliable but I was glad I bought the extended warranty. The Extra Warranty paid for itself. Had a new Water pump at 48,000 miles, Broken driver side window (Wouldn't go down) twice. It does handle great even with the 86,000 miles it has on it now.It has gone through its fair share of light bulb outages also, including the dash, the radio, taillights, and headlights. The dash was the hardest, the whole console had to be replaced along with the radio. I know I sound critical but it has never let me down, starts right up on the first try even at its now advancing age. I think its a car worth the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned.

by ItsWats from Athens on Mon Jul 03 2017

I bought the car with 100k miles on it for around 2000 dollars. It had 250k miles on it when I sold it, and it still ran as excellent as the day I bought it! Only minor problems, I had to replace the throttle position sensor, brakes, rotors, tires, all the usual stuff. The worst part about the car by far is changing the belt! It is awful! Otherwise, I can't think of another complaint. I'm currently looking into buying another with lower miles! Excellent choice for the money!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Car

by Grad Student from Akron, OH on Mon Dec 06 2010

I have the 2.2 liter SE, automatic. What I like best: Fuel Economy! I get 35+ mpg highway. I have a two hour highway commute four times a week, and I only need to fill up the 12 gal. tank once a week. (I also once took a weekend trip with three other people in the car, and the initial fill-up lasted the entire trip. Friends were amazed.) What I like least: Performance. Acceleration isn't great, and usually takes a while to shift. As with most smaller cars, you need to be extra careful when driving in snow, and this car is no exception.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great running 134xxx mile 04 Grand AM

by CalJoe from Illinois on Tue Jan 30 2018

Thus car is very reliable in the first year that i have used it (bought 2017, 13 year old) Slight rust (fixed), radio upgraded, potentially replace headlights for better looking LEDS. Has been very reliable with only a window not opening, but was fixed by the dealer that I had purchased it from for free. I think that this car was a great deal as it was $3500 ($4000 with tax and title), had ~130,000 miles, very good condition, and VERY peppy 3.4L V6 (without RAM AIR). Love this car, the tranny is also smooth! would recommend to everyone even if it is now a 14 year old car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 Grand Am GT best car ever !

by Grand Am on Thu Mar 08 2018

I got this car Nov 05 from dealer n it was his wife’s car with 12,000 miles on it. This has been the best car I could ever ask for, no problems whatsoever, knock on wood. 13 1/2 yrs later it is still going strong. I do change oil n brakes pads on it when required n take care of it. Family keeps telling me it’s time for a new car and I keep telling them never as long as this one is still running...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car. Terrible Rear Defroster.

by Chris from Pensacola Floriday on Fri Jan 18 2008

Good car. Terrible Rear Defroster. One of the two Rear Defroster tabs came off the rear window. I was told by the dealership and other repair shops I would have to replace the rare window to fixed the Rear Defroster. There is nothing wrong with the window.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5