2004 Grand Am

Consumer Reviews
2004 Pontiac Grand Am

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

44 Reviews
2004 Pontiac Grand Am
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This was my Grand Am 1G2NF52E34M540245

by Previous owner of this car from Kansas City, MO on May 6, 2012

I bought this Grand Am in Dec 2004. It had approx 25000 miles on it at the time. Other than oil changes, the only repairs I did to it where front brake pads and rotors, new battery, and new tires. I drove the vehicle for 7+ years and it never left me on the side of the road or gave me any problems at all. I even drove it from KC to Georgia and back one year on vacation. My only reason for selling it was to move up to a SUV for more versatility and after 7 yrs it was time for a change. The mileage is accurate. I sold it with just under 73000 on it. This is a great car and to my knowledge has no major problems with it. I decided to write this review because I hate buying a used car and not knowing what your getting. If you buy this car you should be able to drive with no worries. I hope this helps and I hope you enjoy the car as much as I did.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Too bad they stopped making them!

by Vinnie from Youngstown, OH on September 1, 2012

My 2004 Grand Am has close to 200,000 miles and starts, runs, stops, and turns, the same today as it did when i bought it '05. I wish they still made them, I'd buy another one. I've had only minor problems with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for the money

by Aircraft Mechanic from Ohio on February 15, 2007

Bought it used with only 5500 miles.Have since put 43,000 more on it.Engine is on par with the best four cylinders as far as power.Air conditioning needed replaced under warrenty.But other then that the car has been very reliable.Fit and finish is not as good as a toyota or honda but still very nice.Handleing is good and goes very good in the snow. I get between 30 and 34 MPG driving at 70-75 mph on the highway(It depends upon how cold it is outside)I used to drive a honda just before this and I wouldn't have given it all 5 stars.The grand am is just as good as my honda so far.I guess I'm just a hard grader.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2004 Grand Am/Alero

by Consumer Report from Texas on June 25, 2010

For 2004 the Grand Am and Alero had many 'neat' features. The leather interior is soft, the ride is fairly quiet, and the height adjustment is great. However, the rear seat is awkward. The legroom is minimal, and the windows are high. The trunk is descent, and mainly suited for groceries and brief cases, not luggage. A major plus is how quickly both models cool down in the heat, and heat up in the winter, due to its design. The Grand Am and Alero are best suited for young families, or commuting.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Grand Am -- She's a keeper!

by PIBguy from on November 18, 2009

I bought a 2004 Grand Am SE1 in July of 2004. It had 6800 miles on it. The car has been reliable but I was glad I bought the extended warranty. The Extra Warranty paid for itself. Had a new Water pump at 48,000 miles, Broken driver side window (Wouldn't go down) twice. It does handle great even with the 86,000 miles it has on it now.It has gone through its fair share of light bulb outages also, including the dash, the radio, taillights, and headlights. The dash was the hardest, the whole console had to be replaced along with the radio. I know I sound critical but it has never let me down, starts right up on the first try even at its now advancing age. I think its a car worth the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2004 Pontiac Grand Am

by "Candy Apple" owner from Pewee Valley, KY on February 9, 2010

I love the look of the car and all the features it has. It is great for long road trips and handles alright on Michigan roads (the worst roads in the country I would say). Plus I love GM cars. The car has a few problems though... when it hit about 50,000 miles, I started having major issues with the security system. I have to go through this 33 minute long procedure to get the car to start when the security system decides it wants to act up... when that acts up sometimes my monsoon stereo system will say "LOCKED" and won't let me play anything. Wheel bearings need to be replaced on it a lot too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Car

by Grad Student from Akron, OH on December 6, 2010

I have the 2.2 liter SE, automatic. What I like best: Fuel Economy! I get 35+ mpg highway. I have a two hour highway commute four times a week, and I only need to fill up the 12 gal. tank once a week. (I also once took a weekend trip with three other people in the car, and the initial fill-up lasted the entire trip. Friends were amazed.) What I like least: Performance. Acceleration isn't great, and usually takes a while to shift. As with most smaller cars, you need to be extra careful when driving in snow, and this car is no exception.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great running 134xxx mile 04 Grand AM

by CalJoe from Illinois on January 30, 2018

Thus car is very reliable in the first year that i have used it (bought 2017, 13 year old) Slight rust (fixed), radio upgraded, potentially replace headlights for better looking LEDS. Has been very reliable with only a window not opening, but was fixed by the dealer that I had purchased it from for free. I think that this car was a great deal as it was $3500 ($4000 with tax and title), had ~130,000 miles, very good condition, and VERY peppy 3.4L V6 (without RAM AIR). Love this car, the tranny is also smooth! would recommend to everyone even if it is now a 14 year old car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned.

by ItsWats from Athens on July 3, 2017

I bought the car with 100k miles on it for around 2000 dollars. It had 250k miles on it when I sold it, and it still ran as excellent as the day I bought it! Only minor problems, I had to replace the throttle position sensor, brakes, rotors, tires, all the usual stuff. The worst part about the car by far is changing the belt! It is awful! Otherwise, I can't think of another complaint. I'm currently looking into buying another with lower miles! Excellent choice for the money!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best one yet

by xheatherxannx from Minot, ND on September 7, 2008

I have owned many vehicles in my short life, and by far my GT1 is the best i have ever had. It may be a used 2004(bought with 72200mi) I will say that the dash is quite clustered, but nothing can be perfect, so the car is a DREAM! LOVE IT, hands down. Has the get up and go, slows FAST, reliable, and smooth riding for the size of the car. LOVE it, but the GT1 is a cop magnet...ive been followed on a regular basis. I would recommend this vehicle to parents sending their kids to college, or parents just wanting to be cool, whatever your looking for, you found it with this car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5