2006 Grand Prix

Consumer Reviews
2006 Pontiac Grand Prix

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

52 Reviews
2006 Pontiac Grand Prix
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever.

by GXP06 from minnesota on October 2, 2012

i bought my 2006 Grand Prix GXP about 2 months ago and i absolutely love it. i am getting 22MPG in the city and getting about 27 when driving back an fourth to work. i bought it with 165,XXX miles for dirt cheep from an older gal. there is nothing wrong with it at all. i have 3 key fobs for it, i fit my kids in there with room to spare, ones in a car seat and sits behind me, im 5'8" so moving the chair up doesn't bother me. the other one sits behind the passenger seat and is in a booster seat, he has lots of leg room also. i can fix tons of stuff in the trunk. my wife has a 08 Tahoe LTZ, she likes my GXP more, so most of the time I'm stuck with the Tahoe. i hope to be driving my grand prix for another 200K.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safest Car By Far

by smariematt from on July 23, 2009

I bought a 2006 Grand Prix and had it for 10 months this month. I got into an accident the other day and the person at fault I hit dead on with the front of my car going 50 mph. Then I went through two people's yards and going about 45 or 50 hit a pine tree. My car was totaled. It was the most terrifying experience I've ever had. I only had an abrasion on my hand from the airbag and a cut on my elbow. I used to have a Sunfire. Needless to say I know that this car saved my life because if I still had the Sunfire I wouldn't be here. I would highly recommend this car to any parent for their child or any person for that matter!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe, Sporty, and Great Value

by kimberlyabc611 from Peru, IN on August 21, 2009

I bought my 08 GP about 10 mos. ago. Got a great deal! The one I purchased had all the options/pkgs. available. I loved this car! My son was driving it couple weeks ago and totalled it. He was not hurt except a cut on his forehead and seat belt bruising! He missed a curve hit a reinforced telephone pole going about 50 mph. The EMT and police were amazed at how well the car protected him. Will continue to buy this make/model as long as possible. I wouldn't have my son if the car wasn't designed so well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow

by gfpstudios from Arizona on June 21, 2010

Wow is the only word that comes to mind when thinking about this car. I rented one and put 5,000+ miles on it in 2 weeks. There is nothing the car does not do well. At 50 to 55 mph I was getting over 32 mpg much to my astonishment. I picked up the car from a major car rental agency as a free upgrade since they didn?t have a Taurus available. I knew nothing of Pontiac Grand Prix GTs. When I first drove it I heard weird noises from the engine. I pulled over to see what sort of engine it was since I had never heard a V8 sound like that. To my amazement when I opened the hood I found a V6 with a supercharger bolted to the top of the engine. The supercharger makes a wonderful machine noise. The acceleration is smooth, constant, and starts the moment you floor the gas pedal. No turbo lag in this car. It is an astounding automobile. The engine is a masterpiece. I hope GM brings back an equivalent in one of the remaining product lines.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Definitely a Sleeper!

by Speed Racer from LaVale, MD on June 9, 2012

I bought this car off of the lot used with around 40k miles on it. The experience driving it is stunning. You sit in the driver seat and it feels like your ready to fly a fighter jet into combat. This car is definitely a drivers car! But it is not a passengers car. While the shotgun seat has plenty of room, people in the back are cramped. Its odd for a car of this size and class, but I can see why. The trunk has a lot of space for cargo. If you're looking for a good car to carry your family, it is a safe car, but be aware you wont have a lot of room in the back. Now for the power of this beast. I have a tendency to smash the accelerator to the floor in any car, but I love it when driving my GP. It is very tame when just cruising around, but when you want power the engine roars to live with a loud, unmistakable one-of-a-kind grunt and scream that turns the head of the car you're passing and leaving in the dust. You feel all 200 horses hit the ground and it will throw you in the seat. And that's just the stock, un-supercharged motor! The only regret i have is the transmission. It is very testy and sometimes doesn't want to cooperate, but thankfully the GM engineers have put a full 1-4 Semi-auto stick so you can force it in a more torquier gear. I would love to grind a five or six speed manual in this thing. Definitely a car you want if you like to surprise tuners. The sound quality of the stock stereo is so-so, but with a new head unit the speakers sound amazing. The A/C is very cold if you like to use it (I really don't) And it is fast to cool down. It also has a lot of hidden, subtle features, such as a trip computer, powered driver seat, and well thought out gauges. Like I said before, this is drivers car. If you want a car that is practical, affordable, and can deliver an adrenaline rush, then this is your car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Car

by Dan from Pittsburgh, PA on June 30, 2012

I was recently car shopping and had a few different types of cars I was looking at and did research on. I decided just to stop into a local dealership just to see what they had and the salesman recommended a nice looking '06 GP. I didn't know anything about the car but as soon as I took the test drive I knew I wanted it. I previously had a Toyota Solara and if I wanted to keep pace with traffic going up hill I had to turn the A/C off. This car has no such problem, It's fun to drive, very smooth suspension and about any type of bell or whistle that a person needs. I really like this car a lot and hope I can keep it going for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Value

by Pontiac Man from Waukesha, WI on December 29, 2010

Great car! Full size trunk and plenty of room for me. Im 6'3''. And this this gets 24mpg. And its supercharged. Ive had it for 3 months and put 10,000miles on it. No problems at all. Just hit the 60k mark and going strong. The 3.8L motor can't be beat. Great value too. Really happy with my purchase. As a bonus, I got heated leather seats, premium sound, sunroof, and remote start for those cold WI winters

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far, so good...

by Sq from Cincinnati, OH on August 27, 2010

We purchased our 2006 Grand Prix in 2008 and it had only around 14k miles on it. It was a really good deal and that is why we bought it. It has good performance, but not as much room as our Impala. The ride is pretty good. It has black cloth seats which are impossible to keep clean with 2 kids riding in the back. My son is now a teen and he doesn't have all that much room in the back...and he's not a tall teen. We have had no mechanical problems and it now has about 58k miles. We just replaced the original tires. Mileage has never been as good as our Impala despite them sharing the same 3.8L engine. We would buy this car again if the price was good and mileage low...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Another positive review...

by sales rep from NC on March 25, 2009

I have had my 06 base GP for 2.5 years and 80k miles now and it has been very reliable. I use it for work- lots of highway miles. I am quite pleased with this vehicle and the value for the money. Acceleration, braking, handling and performance are all very worthy. I can get 26-27 mpg on the highway going 75mph with a loaded trunk. There are flashier and far more expensive options on the road but if you want an ecomical, attractive and reliable vehicle this has fit the bill for me.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome value

by Love my Pontiac from on May 1, 2012

The car is stylish outside and inside, has a sporty ride. Is a quick response vehicle, very reliable and has good gas mileage for a car with the V-8 engine. I love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6