Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 GTO

Consumer Reviews

2005 Pontiac GTO

$5,505 - $27,249  MSRP Range
2005 Pontiac GTO

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

35 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Pontiac GTO?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Biggest bang for the buck

by JOHN [ DIZZY ] from CT on Fri Feb 26 2010

My 05 GTO has been completely trouble free since purchased new in January 2005. True muscle car performance with Caddy comfort. It is a Corvette with a back seat. Low production numbers makes the chance of seeing one on the road very rare. If you can find one, get it. It's closest competition in price is the Mustang but the GTO is twice as nice as the out dated styling and cheap looking interior offered by the Mustang .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Factory ROCKET

by DIZZY from NEW ENGLAND on Sun Aug 05 2007

This car is a full IN YOUR FACE hot rod, Both the LS1 and LS2 make big HP numbers right out of the box, enough power to take on ANYONE on the street, It responds very well to Mods, either minor on major. I have done a CAM, headers, exhaust, Cold Air Intake, Typhoon intake Manifold and a few others, Car now has over 500 RWHP and still gets great gas mileage, very civilized in normal driving, but get hard on the gas and it hits like Mike Tyson in his prime.. If you can find one, BUY it. There is nothing out there anywhere from 25 to 45 thousand dollars that can match it's Raw power and brute strength..Even in stock form, this car will distroy Mustangs, Chargers, Magnums. ALL OF THEM

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for the Buck

by myred2004gto from Fairfax, VA on Sun Aug 09 2009

I purchased a 04' GTO in 04' and it was the best decision I ever made for purchasing a new muscle car. You cant beat this car for the cost. Out of the box it has HP and handling. With mods its almost unbeatable in its class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic all around car

by Professional driver from Houston, TX on Thu Feb 28 2008

The 2005+ GTO is one of the best bang for the buck performance machines you can buy in the used market, it has fantastic power, good handling, and cruises more like a bmw/mercedes than a muscle car. Has plenty of power at any rpm and still gets up to 30mpg with the 6-speed, there is simply no comparison. The only thing wrong with the car is the exterior styling is slightly bland, but that can be remedied with a good set of wheels. Otherwise this is an untouchable muscle/sports car at a great price in the used market!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Performance for $33,000

by DeanDawg from Tucson, AZ on Mon Jul 31 2006

The '05 GTO I purchased is awesome! You can't touch it's performance for the price. The interior is something special. The seats are the most comfortable butt holders on the planet. If anyone out there is contemplating a GTO or Mustang, please go and test drive both cars with an open mind and there is no doubt that you'll be leaving the Pontiac dealership with a much bigger smile than when you leave the Ford dealership. I LOVE MY GTO!!!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So glad I purchased a GTO when they were available

by DaytonaRick from Daytona Beach, FL on Tue May 15 2018

Back in 2005 I never thought I would purchase a $35,000 car, but the Pontiac GTO had everything I was looking for in a sporty car: Excellent styling, rear wheel drive, large powerful V8 engine, solid transmission, and a stiff suspension. I am SO glad I bought it when I did, rather than waiting for the "new" Camaro to debut. The Camaro was a HUGE disappointment, with its high belt-line (meaning much smaller windows that are too high to comfortably rest your arm on the window sill while driving!), poor visibility, and cheap interior plastics. In contrast, the GTO has large windows, very nice soft plastics in the interior and very nice suede fabric on the door panels. The seats provide excellent support. While the GTO is low to the ground (it IS a sport car, after all), it is not difficult to get into and out of as many sporty cars are. And you do not feel like you are sitting in a "bucket" that you need to climb out of, as is the case with most unibody constructed cars. The LS2 6.0L V8 engine is awesome, with plenty of power in reserve at all times. Yes, premium fuel is recommended, but at least the engine has no gimmicks like a turbo that needs to be cooled down after you stop, before you turn the engine off! The automatic transmission is also a very strong 4-speed (including overdrive) model, rather than those newer 6-, 7-, and 8-speed automatics that cannot decide what gear to be in when you are trying to accelerate quickly or climb the mountains! The steering and suspension are very tight, with no play whatsoever. Problems? The throttle-body unit had to be replaced, and would have been under warranty if I had driven it more in the first 3 years (warranty period). The radiator sprung a leak after 120,000 miles, and a small plastic heater valve developed a crack at 146,000 miles, causing all coolant to drain out; then the replacement part also cracked within 3 weeks! But that has been it. One interior mistake was the standard power seats. When you are in a hurry to get into or out of the back seat, you need to press a button and hold it to move the seat forward to give enough space to climb in and out of the back. This mechanism has broken on BOTH of my front seats; the passenger seat now cannot move at all; it cannot even recline. I have not had it fixed because the estimate for parts and labor was close to $1100! Speaking of the back seat, you would be hard-pressed to find a two-door car with as roomy a back seat as this one. Back seat passengers have a tremendous amount of room. Because of the different rear-impact standards in the USA from Australia (where the GTO was made), the gasoline tank had to be relocated for the US market to behind the back seat. The result is that the trunk is quite small. I have not had a problem with it, but that's because I travel alone. My GTO has 147,000 miles now and is still on the original set of brakes! I am upset that this vehicle is nearing the end of its reliable life (how much longer can the water pump, fuel pump, hoses, etc last before I get stranded?) because there is really nothing else to replace it at a reasonable price. The Camaro design is poor (a shame because I usually love the feel and characteristics of GM cars), and I don't trust Ford (Mustang) or Chrysler (Dodge Challenger) reliability; I have heard of too many problems with them (Challenger = 8-speed automatic transmission.... ridiculous!). And I don't want to buy any technology that is older than this GTO. I don't mind continuing to pay for repairs, since I still love this car, but I just don't want to get stranded in some remote unfamiliar area, away from repair shops I trust. I wonder about parts availability in the future too, since it is a Pontiac, and there were so few GTO's built during its 3-year run (I believe it was limited to 18,000 per year?).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

400 hp beast

by 2005 GOAT from stockton, ca on Sat Oct 28 2006

this car is really awesome, it is very quick and has all the options already when you buy it. the gto is really a great car to have to cruise on the weekends or to drive everyday to work or errands, either way this car should be kept and cherished

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bought the car as a retirement gift to myself

by DAHILLA from LAPORTE TX on Wed Mar 20 2013

After a year of research I purchased a 2005 gto with 35k miles on the vehicle. The car is very clean and a pure joy to drive. The suspension issues are well documented on the internet forums. I have had the vehicle for about three months and have been approached a number of times by persons wanting to buy the vehicle. IT is not for sale! It is the phantom black, auto, 18 inch wheels AWESOME CAR

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, but not excellent.

by Sabby from Buffalo, NY on Wed Oct 25 2006

I bought new a 2005 GTO. It has been in the shop a few times already for mechanical problems (passenger door lock stopped working, trunk light still does not work properly). For a $30,000+ vehicle, I would have expected a little more quality. However, for the price and performance, it can not be beat. If you like the 'sleeper' look, with high performance (better than 350z, Mustang GT, Charger), this is the car for you!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it.

by Nickname from Missouri on Wed Jan 11 2012

very happy with it. If your not a car enthusiast steer clear. Its sort of a specialty car. Needs some suspension work and it only has 39k. But I love it so much I don't care. Paid 16k for it so it was a steal. I would not recommend this car for a daily driver due to the city milage and suspension issues. It eats tires like crazy. But that's also caused by a heavy right foot.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4