Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 Montana SV6

Consumer Reviews

2005 Pontiac Montana SV6

$72 - $8,324  MSRP Range
2005 Pontiac Montana SV6

Review Score

3.4 out of 5 stars

3.4

15 Reviews
53% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.3 out of 5 stars Performance
3.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Pontiac Montana SV6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Montana

by mommatee46 from Harrisburg, PA on Fri Jan 23 2015

I have a 2005 Pontiac Montana and it is still going strong in 2015! Very durable car, I kept it maintained mechanically with the oil changes and obvious wear and tear on it but I have had NO engin or Transmission problems to date. We purchased this van used in 2007 and have been nothing but pleased, 3 kids and all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family van

by Mini-Van Dad from Nebraska on Wed Jul 21 2010

Owned this van for 5 years now. After reading previous posts, I have had to replace the front sway bars, also the breaks at 40K. Tires at 50K. Of course I drive it like a truck at times and not a mini-van, plus live near gravel roads, so I anticipated the upkeep I have experienced. Overall this has been a GREAT van for me and my family. No problems hauling the kids or my wood projects. Kept it clean with two kids, normal stains and wear and tear after 5 years, but it still cleans up nicely. I have also experienced the "hard starts". Was told by GM same as everyone else. And listening to other GM cards starting in parking lots, it appears this is a "normal" GM occurence. Never was unable to start the van. On cross-country trips, had no problems with comfort. Family always was confortable, and the kids loved the DVD player. I would recomend this van to anyone looking to get a mini-van.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I like my minivan vey much

by amy from MD on Mon Jun 24 2013

I bought a 05 montana sv6 a year ago, it drives perfect, no problem at all, it is strong and kids like the DVD, we all like this van, it is all wheel drive, I dont worry about the snow time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fine Mini Put 140,000 miles on it.

by tom from St.Louis Mo. on Wed Jan 30 2013

Put 140,000 mile on this van and an still driving it every day. It was hard on the first set of front brakes and rotors but replaced them at 52,000 and had no other problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pritchie's Pontiac

by Pritchie from Marion NC on Fri Sep 10 2010

Overall very satisfied with the car. Ergonomics of the driver's seat leaves something to be desired. Armrest is too low, doesn't support my arm at all. Seems to be made for shorter people. I'm a six-footer. Engine is powerful and responsive but has a real task in hauling around this 3500 pound vehicle.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW

by shortcake from Stanley, NY on Fri Apr 13 2007

I drove a 2006 Dodge Grand caravan and then 2 montanas sv6 and they certainly out do the caravan by far in comfort handling, everything all the way around Great Van!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very nice family car for money

by family from tx on Sat Dec 02 2006

i got the car for my wife and three kids we are always on the go it is very comfortable and gets us there in style we got it used and do not regret the purchase i love it and my wife loves it more it has great pickup and good gas milage i cant get enough of it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Panasonic Montana

by Kathleenalexander from Rensselaer on Sat Nov 25 2017

I love it because it's a good running vehicle it's a gas saver be honest with you I wouldn't trade it for the world. If I would get another vehicle that's what it would be

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

The worst

by advia from Connecticut on Fri Aug 14 2009

-cloth seats stain badly with just water -both front sway bar links fell off -battery at 60K miles -front brakes and rotors(warped badly) -sliding rear doors quit-pulled the fuses -rear seat removal will give you a groin problem -steering wheel radio controls quit -emergency brake linkage got loose -underpowered 3.5 V6- have to pull it out of overdrive constantly -doubt the xmission will go 100K miles

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The worst vehicle we have owned

by Snowy from ON on Wed Apr 30 2008

We bought this van new, and from the first week we had it, we had problems. The horn would not work, so it was replaced, the sway bar was replaced. It took three turns to get the engine fired up , took it to the shop they said it was supposed to hard start. The sliding door either refuses to close or reopens when closed. Replaced the front brakes and had to resurface the rotors at 40,000 kms. The rear back windows have to be manually closed. The cd player refuse to go past the 7th track. The info button on the radio works periodically. The seats are uncomfortable. And the list goes on!!!!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2