2006 Baja

Consumer Reviews

2006 Subaru Baja

$4,972 - $15,392  MSRP Range
2006 Subaru Baja

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

31 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Subaru Baja?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Aesomeness!

by Yogi from Colorado on Sun Mar 15 2009

I love these things. I've owned three of these, I will never own anything else ever again! Power, versatility, reliability, sports car handling, and style. You can't go wrong. JCRG

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Vehicle

by Ghosting from NE Oregon on Sat May 10 2014

I recently bought a 2003 5-speed with 74k miles. I had looked into the Baja when they came out, but with a large family, a vehicle that only seats four didn't make sense. Now with two kids through college, it was a logical choice. I looked at the Turbo as well, but ultimately decided I didn't need the extra power, and also read that those motors were less reliable. It is a rock solid vehicle that is zippy and grippy to drive. It allows you to haul small loads of garbage and recycling without having to worry about trashing the interior of your vehicle (as has happened in our old minivan). Since I bought this vehicle, I have had dozens of people ask me about it, and claim that they wish they could have one. It seems odd, as the reviews of the Baja when it came out panned it, and sales weren't great. This vehicle also holds its value. They regularly sell for over bluebook, and I imagine that trend will continue as they become more and more rare.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Stylish and Safe

by Mssally from Kilgore, TX on Tue Jan 03 2012

All the above. It's a true Cruck. Good seating in car type cab for four and great little bed for hauling potting soil, dog food, etc. Bring Back the Baja!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Subaru Baja Sport

by Segundo from SW PA on Tue Aug 02 2011

I love this vehicle. My other vehicle was eating me alive on fuel for my daily commute so I was looking for something better. I selected the Baja because of the styling and the increased fuel economy and have not been sorry. It is a shame that Subaru decided to stop production on this vehicle since most of the people who see it are interested in it as well. Just wish the roof was a tad taller so I would not have to bend like a pretzel to enter.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

How did these things not sell better?

by SubiConvert from St. Louis, MO on Wed Nov 30 2011

I've had my Baja for a few months now, and have fallen in love. I rarely haul anything too big, and I don't carry drywall or plywood, so the 44"x41" bed is a good fit for most of my hauling, and with the bed extender, I can carry most anything I need. I have the turbo version, so the performance is exceptional. It handles better than anything with over 9" of ground clearance should.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Versatility!!

by Rico from Houston on Tue Apr 26 2011

The most practical car I have ever owned!! Everything is engineered perfectly! It is quiet, comfortable, spacious, and handles like a car even though some would call it a truck. The turbo is fantastic!!! The downside is the gas mileage suffers a bit and takes premium. I average 22mpg, which is not horrible. I would buy this vehicle again without hesitation. The AWD system is great in the rain and snow too. While the rear wheel drive trucks are spinning out, I keep on truckin'.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It's the brakes that I have a problem with

by 2005 baja from flatwoods, ky on Wed Nov 15 2006

The brakes and the local subaru service dept.; subaru could've have transferred the seat heaters over from their other models and the sound system lacks umph. other than those things, it's everything that the reviews have mentioned. I hope to hang onto mine until they bring them back out again.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Nice!

by Vehicle to hold my style of driving :) from Lowman, NY on Tue Nov 29 2011

I love my Baja!!! This car handles so smooth, corners real nice - would recommend to anyone. The only complaint I have is that Subaru quit making these in 2006. I love this car!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great all-arounder

by Hiking fisherman from Balt,MD on Tue Jun 20 2006

Very solid little truck.Great for fishing,hiking,poor traction conditions.Best mpg I've had in a 4wd/AWD.Can't wait for snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by Maria from Madison wi on Mon Sep 18 2017

Didn't expect to downsize , but did it out of need. This car surprised me. Easy to drive, it handles very well and feels solid. Good gas milage too. The interior is comfortable too even though is small. Trunk is a good size, not crazy about the separate key. Overall happy with my purchase.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com