2016 Crosstrek Hybrid

Consumer Reviews
2016 Subaru Crosstrek Hybrid

Change Vehicle
3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

12 Reviews
2016 Subaru Crosstrek Hybrid
3.5 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

This car is not a true hybrid

by Jonzee7 from Chantilly, VA on February 21, 2017

I actually have a 2014 crosstrek hybrid (base model). Subaru just discontinued the hybrid version of this car in 2016 due to poor sales. As mentioned in the title, this is not a true hybrid. I get significantly better gas mileage on the highway than I do the city. Most true hybrids get better gas mileage in the city or the same as the highway. Overall I'm averaging in the upper 20's and often see the mid 30's on the highway. Overall, a good car, but the biggest negative for me is the stop/start system, which can't be turned off. The boxer engine is just too unrefined for such a system. I'll stop at a light, the car shuts itself off, and then all of sudden it will come back on. But when it does, it vibrates badly. Sometimes I feel embarrassed when I'm at the light because the car shakes so badly after it decides to come back on. Also, the engine is really loud when starting up cold. On the positive side, when I'm in bad weather, the car feels very safe and solid. Because of the battery pack, it weighs about the same as the larger Subaru Legacy (3400 lbs) I have 27K on it with no major problems so far. But, I'll probably trade it in on a Mazda CX-5 diesel at the end of the year.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car for its value

by Nadinne19 from Los Angeles on March 14, 2018

I absolutely love Subaru Crosstek. I have the best time driving it, it’s very smooth, responsive and fun to drive. The mpg is great too. Enough room for my needs and I love the interior and exceptional exterior color. It’s my first car and I can’t stop loving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive and fuel efficient

by mrp64 from Decatur on January 19, 2018

I've owned this car for about two years. It is fun to drive, fuel efficient and gets in and out of small spaces quite nicely. For such a small footprint, it also has a great deal of storage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best handling hybrid

by CHF from Milwaukee, WI on March 6, 2017

Best value for an AWD hybrid on the market. Very happy with it in winter and snow. Gets really good gas milage in the city in summer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Hybrid system sucks but I like the car.

by Jill from Manchester NH on March 26, 2018

I regret trading my Impreza in for the hybrid cross trek but I needed the extra space. The hybrid is really awkward to drive, it’s not fun to drive since the engine shuts off and on whenever it wants. Doesn’t seem to save any gas, it never runs on hybrid. Not sure if I just got a dud but it sucks. My trunk opens when I’m driving with my dog in the back and i have electrical issues. No wonder the previous owners traded it in. I absolutely adored my Impreza, definitely test drive the cross trek for A WHILE before you go and buy it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR

by Cindy from Hershey, PA on May 21, 2017

Head room was not designed for tall people. Leather seat covers were very rich looking. The exterior was black, with ever so slight, sparkles. I normally would not buy a black car; however, it was so attractive and sleek looking.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Crosstrek

by Erica from Aurora on March 22, 2017

Rides smooth, good gas mileage, good features. Fun to drive, good acceleration, much better than non hybrid model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car

by Tbird605 from on April 1, 2017

Love this car. Subarus can be a bit spendy but have good upgrades and runs amazing! I actually really love the interior of this car it's unique and makes it different then everything else.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

This car would be a good investment

by Just because on September 12, 2017

I was truly impressed with the control of this vehicle as well as the gas mileage! The drive is smooth. Based on my family size I needed a vehicle much larger

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Do not stop adv on hannity. We need the truth

by Bev from on May 24, 2017

Conservatism is good. Do not stop advertising on fox. Specially haannity. We need to know truth of what's goin on.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 44 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2