Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 Impreza

Consumer Reviews

2002 Subaru Impreza

$260 - $12,708  MSRP Range
2002 Subaru Impreza

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

29 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Subaru Impreza?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchace discision i ever made

by Whilla from Chicago on Wed Dec 05 2007

This car has everything, speed, style, and AWD. Subaru thought of everything with this car from metal pedals to the 6 disc changer. I could not believe such features would exist on an affordable rally car that boasts times of 5.3 second 0 to 60.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Time will tell

by New to Subaru cars from Minneapolis on Wed Apr 30 2014

I just bought this car when it turned 14 yrs old for $4000 when it had 160,000 on it. The engine sounds beautiful and it drives fairly well. The automatic transmission shifts a tiny bit bumpily, and the steering is a little stiff. However, I plan to keep this car going for another 100,000 miles. I'll probably need a new tranny in the next two years, but I'm pretty sure it will be worth the investment.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun and fast - yet can haul a lot!

by jcs from New York City on Sun Nov 19 2006

Bought car new and love it. It is a BLAST to drive due to the acceleration and AWD handling. Great in the rain and snow. Also great as you can haul your mountain bike, lumber, family, and still have a fun to drive sports car. My wife loves it as much as I do - it really has universal appeal. Also great safety features (and safety rating) due to side and front airbags and AWD.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A fun car that can is good for the family, too

by Jason R. from Newport News, VA on Fri Oct 27 2017

Bought the WRX because I needed a four door car due to a growing family. Didn't know for sure, but had a good feeling about it. 12 years later, I have no regrets and have loved driving it for work and play.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Handling is Awesome

by adkdadto4 from NY on Wed Jun 21 2006

Hugs curves in dry or wet conditions very well. Plenty of punch when you need it. Good with Gas considering it is AWD. I would buy it again

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 WRX

by Rich from on Wed Dec 31 2014

The WRX has great performance in all weather conditions. It seats 4 comfortably. I bought mine new and its been very reliable. This is truly a great car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

amazing performance for the money

by Twizzler from Nashua, nh on Tue Oct 17 2006

this car will run with the best, keeps up with other cars twice the price. gas milage is pretty good as long as your not on it 24/7, which is hard with a 227hp turbocharged engine. the ride is comfortable, even with my 2in lowering kit. long rides can be a bit uncomfortable, but i often take 2-3 hr trips with no back pain. with an aftermarket turbo xs exhaust the sound in INTOXICATING. there is simply no other car out there with the same sound. you can tell its a wrx with out even looking. this is the first car iv owned that i can actually say "im happy with it how it is." do not hesitate. go out and buy one RIGHT NOW. and if you can afford it, get the STI, you wont regret it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice car

by zgdsf from st. cloud, mn on Thu Dec 06 2007

this car is overall the best car for the money. you would be amazed on how it drives! it is the best car i ever owned and very very fast.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Rhodan of Reliability

by Crazy8to9 from Boston, MA on Sun May 14 2017

This bug-eyed bomb can really scoot through corners with amazing, near-neutral poise. Downshift into second, set the front tires with mild (or wild) decel into the apex, mash the throttle and power through in a four-wheel drift to the outside, no muck, no muss, no WTF*^%s. Wherever the road turns, you really do feel like you are no longer in an economy car! Love it!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

No torque

by moparman from Denver on Sat Aug 19 2006

You have to have it reved up to squeeze any power out of it. No torque at low RPM. Handles great. Nice car for the average Joe.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2002 Subaru Impreza

If Mazda boasts "zoom, zoom," Subaru should lay claim to "hold on."

Subaru is the Japanese automaker known for initiating the craze to crossovers. It produces a lineup of sedans, wagons and sport-utility vehicles that since 1997 all feature all-wheel-drive.

So, Subaru has gained a reputation for being a vehicle that provides sure-footed motoring in foul weather--a winter necessity like boots, gloves, window scraper and snow blower.

Subaru spokesman Mike Whelan bangs his chest and proclaims: "All-wheel-drive is a shield that we proudly carry."

OK, when you're a hired company pitchman, you get carried away at times. But in riding AWD into battle through snow, sleet... Read More