2012 Impreza WRX STi

Consumer Reviews

2012 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

$16,639 - $30,851  MSRP Range
2012 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

14 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Subaru Impreza WRX STi?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

AWD Performance and daily driver

by ALL IN ONE from Oswego, NY on Mon Mar 12 2012

Car does everything important right. Great power, daily driver, great looks, quality interior. Takes curves without a bit of drama. The hum from the boxer engine and exhaust combo is absolutely hypnotizing. Exterior looks are definitely a plus. I get looks all the time. The plasma blue pearl color is absolutely great. The straight line power is way more than enough on highway speeds and I've only been driving on Intelligent mode. You can speed past traffic with absolute ease. The ride is firm, but it's incredibly comfortable. No back pain or cramps after a 5 1/2 hour drive. The SI and C. Differential systems are easy to understand. The navigation takes some getting used to but is quite useful and easy to use. The Ipod, Iphone, bluetooth connectivity is a must and makes you wonder how did you ever get around before without it. The telephone feature could use some work though. Hard for person to hear what you are saying at highway speeds. On;y other drawback are no push start and no power seats. Other than that its really a great little car. Quite the gas guzzler though. 22-23 on the highway and 91 to 93 are a must for filling up. But if you are buying an STI you aren't thinking about MPG. You're looking for a thrill. This those it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 wrx sti limited

by sti fan from kansas city on Mon Apr 16 2012

Limited has nice options compared to past years (leather seats, moon roof). The navagation/radio unit option is 100% better than previous years. Performance is as expected very good performance and speed. For the price this is a hard car to beat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

I loved it till it left me on the side of the roa.

by Jessed from Woodcreek on Wed Apr 18 2018

Beautiful, fun, fast, very fun, fast car. Just not reliable and expensive to fix. I would not recommend this car to anyone that does not have 20 thousand dollars laying around to fix it every 10 thousand miles.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The value is in the driving exp... ten fold

by 2012WRXLimited from San Francisco, CA on Sun Mar 10 2013

I drive a 2012 Subaru WRX Limited, not the Sti, but the cars are almost identical (Limited = 5-spd, Sti = 6-spd). The car is built for performance and speed over comfort, at an affordable cost. Period. Its not right for everyone. Sure it has the bells and whistles, the blue tooth cell phone pairing, the premium sound, sleek looking console and controls, but at its heart it's a real, highly customizable sports car. People who are familiar with WRX and people who are looking for a fast standard will love it equally. A note to parents: this car is not ideal for kids, I've heard they don't enjoy the noise the engine makes in the cab. Also, the gas milage isn't great in the city (I get about 16 mpg). Besides that: what a fantastic car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Car Can Do Everything

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Richmond, CA on Wed Sep 18 2013

Front and rear seats very comfortable. Kids fit great. Hatch space is a lot, perfect for camping trips. Control buttons are easy. AWD boxer turbo power, awesome! Able to adjust power to front or rear wheels. MPG is not so great but it's worth it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

wrx

by dr dave from WV on Mon Jan 16 2012

Got the wrx, not the sti. Needed something w/ awd for the winter. This car should do the trick and was very affordable compared to the other cars I considered. I got the base car b/c I didn't care about heated seats or a sunroof. The stereo has way more functions than I will ever use, and I doubt that I'll ever use the Bluetooth b/c I don't talk on the phone while driving...but they are standard equipment. The wheelbase is alot shorter than my other cars', so it seems like a hoot to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 blue WRX sedan

by artisticschmidt from Cleveland, OH on Mon Mar 05 2012

I have the base WRX model. The design, sound, affordability and performance of this car is off the charts. I couldn't be happier with it. I have never owned a stick car before and am really enjoying this one. The gear box is a bit chunky but I like it. It fits my 16 month old daughter in the back really well and the seats are surprisingly comfortable. My only slight complaint is that the interior feels a bit cheap but really who cares? I didn't need a sunroof, heated seats or any other luxury type items. The trunk is a nice size. It's also nice to have the ipod hookup. The all-wheel drives smoothly and incredibly well through rain or snow. It's probably good to note that the car comes with summer perf. tires so you'll need winter tires at some point. Love it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ethusiast car

by dave from ca, sacramento on Tue Feb 06 2018

amazing, fun, exciting ,lovely keeper, Subaru power is brilliant broooooooooooooooom brooooom A PLUS

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car. Fun drive.

by Tholin37 on Fri Nov 10 2017

Love this car. Have a great time driving it around on the weekend and going on cruises. Great looking car, too. Definitely make my other car enthusiast friends jealous!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subarashi!!!

by ripraw from on Thu Mar 16 2017

Very reliable car once you maintain it and treat it with love. It's not the smoothest of rides but it does what it's noted for.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2