NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Legacy

Consumer Reviews

2016 Subaru Legacy

$14,033 - $23,781  MSRP Range
2016 Subaru Legacy

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

58 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Subaru Legacy?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 58 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

A good daily driver

by Ranger1 from Greenwich, NY on Fri Nov 10 2017

The ride is good on short trips, but on extended ones not so for me. I would prefer normal transmission over the CVT. You cannot see the clock if you have both hands on the wheel and I would prefer to have the gas tank filler on the drivers side.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hands Down Best Car Ever Owned

by Neverquit33 from Mountain Home AFB on Sun Mar 12 2017

I have the 3.6R model and it has everything you could possibly want and more. The Eyesight technology is amazing. I couldn't ask for a better car. It has the looks and performance to match.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable, reliable, good gas mileage AWD

by Krishna from Cleveland, OH on Mon May 22 2017

Legacy is the most comfortable AWD car one could imagine in this segment that is reliable for any weather with a good gas mileage despite the all wheel drive. I used to average between 29 and 32 with mixed local roads and highway driving and 35 to 36 on highways that is really a great gas mileage for a car of this size. The ride quality is quite cushy although a little more cushier tuning would make the ride lot better in broken roads. I have no complaints and I owned this car close to 30,000 miles and enjoyed driving it everyday. Variable transmission keeps the driving smooth. If Subaru can pack the wheel wells with sound proof material, this car would feel more like a luxury car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3.6... Wow!

by The Mayor from Orange, CA on Mon May 15 2017

I bought the 3.6 Tim, and I love it. The engine's 256 hp is very well built. I accelerate and the car takes off. It's deceptively quick. You can't beat the safety features of a Subaru! Steel framing around the car, eye sight features, excellent brakingThe indoor styling is luxurious and I find the controls easy to use. The infotainment system is pretty cool.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best cat ever

by Dellaray from Medford or on Mon Aug 28 2017

This car is amazing. I recommend this car. I don't have any complaints. Let it snow. I can go anywhere.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Subaru

by SharingTheLove from Charlottesville, VA on Mon May 08 2017

I purchased the 6 cylinder model with Eyesight and I absolutely love it! It is luxurious with soft, smooth leather. It is spacious with folding seats. It is modern with all the latest technology. But, most important, IT IS SAFE!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best family sedan made!

by JEMM from Western Massachusetts on Mon Jul 17 2017

This car does and has everything a family could ask and hope for in a sedan. Handles like a dream, amazing gas mileage with extra large fuel tank, the best performing set of safety features out there, very comfortable interior with the best overall design and feel of any car we have ever owned. Top performer in rain, snow and ice. Very nice classy design which somehow still has a sporty feel to it as well. So glad we made this choice. No looking back!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All Around Great Vehicle

by NYRangerfan2 from Freehold, NJ on Tue Jul 18 2017

I commute to and from work (30 miles a trip) and have not begun to feel uncomfortable at all. The car does not sacrifice style for comfort either, both the exterior and interior are modern and wonderfully designed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, Comfortable and Safe

by MMD from Baton Rouge on Thu Jun 08 2017

Great mid-size car! One of the best in its class! 5 star safety rating!Seats are amazing comfortable and the ride is great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A little different choice and that's why I got it

by Clint from Evansville, IN on Thu Sep 07 2017

Bad: Horribly dim witted infotainment system Excruciatingly slow CVT transmission is clunky Good: comfortable Great gas mileage Excellent emissions rating Green company Safe with all-wheel-drive and well made

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2016 Subaru Legacy

The verdict: When life's hamster wheel of school drop-offs, long work days and endless grocery runs is at full velocity, I forget what I'm driving. The 2016 Subaru Legacy only deepens that rut; while it's practical and safe, it's also charmless and forgettable.

Against the competition: Like its middle-of-the-road placement in Cars.com's 2016 Midsize Sedan Challenge, the Legacy is midpack among the more refined Chevrolet Malibu and more spirited Kia Optima, though its road manners are more pleasant than other competitors, like the Honda Accord and Toyota Camry. Compare them all here.

The Legacy was redesigned for 2015, so changes for 2016 are minor. The steering system... Read More