NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Outback

Consumer Reviews

$17,889 - $35,477  MSRP Range
2017 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

307 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

91 - 100 of 307 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Shawn Kyle

by kimsuann soeng from grand Junction on Fri Apr 28 2017

Nice car good for family and home. Good dealership to purchase from, friendly and easy to work with. I would recommend Shawn to anyone to purchase your car from.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sabaru and Toyota

by JSwab from Statesboro, Ga on Sun Apr 30 2017

Sabaru is a reliable car. This is the third we have owned. I bought a v 6 this time, i love it. It is a very comfortable car and has all the bells and whistles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Subaru Outback

by Dragonfly from Richmond, VA on Mon May 01 2017

I've only had my new Subaru Outback for 2 weeks. However, I am truly enjoying it. I love all the safety features on this car and feel very comfortable driving it. I especially like the intuitive cruise control that automatically slows the car when you come up on a vehicle in front of you. I feel that the Subaru is a great value and a great car. I would recommend it to everyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love!!!

by akvh from Oklahoma City, OK on Mon May 01 2017

Could not be happier with my new Outback! Very pleased with everything about it. Only one small complaint - the Outback does not have an automatic lock feature (does not auto lock when car turned on or hit a certain speed). Not a huge thing and overall fantastic vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy, Content and what I Wanted!

by YakARu from Cleveland, Ohio on Thu May 04 2017

I first thought the ride would be a little Stiff like a Truck or Loose like a lot of SUV's. This However seemed to Skirt in the middle. Took the Rolling Hills Level and Steady. No Drop in the Belly feeling. I have the 2.5L- AWD and it performed better than I expected. I love to Kayak and with the Hideaway Cross Bars and its Wagon length. I have no need to have a Trailer.. Plenty of room when the Rear seats are down for my Furry Paddling buddies as well. I don't see any problems reaching my Off Road launch areas with the Ground Clearance it has also. It's All I wanted and most importantly.. The Price I Wanted!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Jay 503 from Portland ore on Fri May 05 2017

Nice car all the way around sporty,comfy,up to date and great on gas.has plenty of room for my kids and family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our Outback

by Hockey family from New Hampshire on Mon Mar 27 2017

We recently purchased our families first Subaru and could not be happier. From the amazing safety tech that it comes with to the comfortable seating position. All the controls are easy to use and within reach. We have not had it long enough for the engine to fully break in but the fuel mileage has been great. It rides and handles like a car and is an animal in the snow. I am not going to say that the Outback is perfect because it is not. Its a touch noisier than I would like and I think that the roof rack and CVT are to blame for that. When the vehicle is cold and you begin your trip the CVT has a tendency of revving a little high and holding in that gear. I am sure it is something we will get used to. But if you are looking for a safe comfortable vehicle that fits five and you live in an area that gets snow I would be shocked if there was another vehicle that was as capable and a better value than the Outback. Believe me, you are doing yourself a disservice if you are not at least test driving this before your next SUV/Wagon purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable

by Josie from Ridgecrest, Ca on Fri Mar 24 2017

First Subaru owned. So far in love. Ithe has many different features, safety and otherwise. I truly love how comfortable it is.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by HeatherW from on Sun Apr 02 2017

So happy with the car. I had been wanting to get a Subaru for awhile and finally decided to make the jump. I am so glad I did. The car is so comfortable and handles very well. It was the right choice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru Outback

by Marty from on Wed Apr 05 2017

Very comfortable and quiet on the road. Can not judge on reliability or economy but if other peoples experience holds true it will be fine

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Subaru Outback

The verdict: Whether you consider the 2017 Subaru Outback a wagon or a crossover SUV, it's a home run for families and well-rounded enough to appeal to a large crowd.

Versus the competition:
Though the Outback doesn’t have the sheer capabilities and size of a traditional midsize SUV, there’s enough SUV flavor there to satisfy more than just loyal Subaru owners.

For 2017, the Subaru Outback adds a new Touring trim level that gives an extra bit of luxuriousness to the top of the four-cylinder (2.5i) and six-cylinder (3.6R) trim ranges. Outback trims now include the base 2.5i trim, plus 2.5i Premium, 2.5i Limited, 2.5i Touring, 3.6R Limited and 3.6R Touring. Compare the... Read More