2017 Outback

Consumer Reviews

$20,537 - $40,290  MSRP Range
2017 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

295 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

91 - 100 of 295 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Gold stars for this Outback

by gomary from Murrells Inlet, SC on Sat Apr 22 2017

I upgraded from the Subaru Forester to the Outback and have been completed satisfied. It has more room and lots of cargo space. Took trip from New York to South Carolina and it was fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love the new Outback!

by Happy Subaru Owner from Michigan City on Tue Apr 25 2017

Getting 30 or close to 30 mpg when i watch my speed and use cruise control. Love the eyesight technology

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

customer review

by RalphRC from Arlington, WA on Wed Apr 26 2017

The Outback is a solidly built car. It has optional features that are well worth the extra money. It has safety features that are fantastic. I am proud to be a Subaru owner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2017 Outback

by Wendy M from DAvenport, IA on Thu Apr 27 2017

Best car I have ever owned!! Comfortable for the family road trips. Fun to take off road. Reliable and safe! This is my second Outback and I will never own anything else but a Subaru!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Shawn Kyle

by kimsuann soeng from grand Junction on Fri Apr 28 2017

Nice car good for family and home. Good dealership to purchase from, friendly and easy to work with. I would recommend Shawn to anyone to purchase your car from.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sabaru and Toyota

by JSwab from Statesboro, Ga on Sun Apr 30 2017

Sabaru is a reliable car. This is the third we have owned. I bought a v 6 this time, i love it. It is a very comfortable car and has all the bells and whistles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Subaru Outback

by Dragonfly from Richmond, VA on Mon May 01 2017

I've only had my new Subaru Outback for 2 weeks. However, I am truly enjoying it. I love all the safety features on this car and feel very comfortable driving it. I especially like the intuitive cruise control that automatically slows the car when you come up on a vehicle in front of you. I feel that the Subaru is a great value and a great car. I would recommend it to everyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love!!!

by akvh from Oklahoma City, OK on Mon May 01 2017

Could not be happier with my new Outback! Very pleased with everything about it. Only one small complaint - the Outback does not have an automatic lock feature (does not auto lock when car turned on or hit a certain speed). Not a huge thing and overall fantastic vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy, Content and what I Wanted!

by YakARu from Cleveland, Ohio on Thu May 04 2017

I first thought the ride would be a little Stiff like a Truck or Loose like a lot of SUV's. This However seemed to Skirt in the middle. Took the Rolling Hills Level and Steady. No Drop in the Belly feeling. I have the 2.5L- AWD and it performed better than I expected. I love to Kayak and with the Hideaway Cross Bars and its Wagon length. I have no need to have a Trailer.. Plenty of room when the Rear seats are down for my Furry Paddling buddies as well. I don't see any problems reaching my Off Road launch areas with the Ground Clearance it has also. It's All I wanted and most importantly.. The Price I Wanted!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Jay 503 from Portland ore on Fri May 05 2017

Nice car all the way around sporty,comfy,up to date and great on gas.has plenty of room for my kids and family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Subaru Outback

The verdict: Whether you consider the 2017 Subaru Outback a wagon or a crossover SUV, it's a home run for families and well-rounded enough to appeal to a large crowd.

Versus the competition:
Though the Outback doesn’t have the sheer capabilities and size of a traditional midsize SUV, there’s enough SUV flavor there to satisfy more than just loyal Subaru owners.

For 2017, the Subaru Outback adds a new Touring trim level that gives an extra bit of luxuriousness to the top of the four-cylinder (2.5i) and six-cylinder (3.6R) trim ranges. Outback trims now include the base 2.5i trim, plus 2.5i Premium, 2.5i Limited, 2.5i Touring, 3.6R Limited and 3.6R Touring. Compare the... Read More