2017 Outback

Consumer Reviews

$19,672 - $40,190  MSRP Range
2017 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

298 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 298 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love our Subaru Outback

by JanS from Chicago,IL on Sat Mar 11 2017

We love our 2017 Subaru Outback. It handles like a dream and has such a smooth ride. The seating is really comfortable. We love the interior and exterior design. It is a sharp looking car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by Chifan from Chicago, IL on Fri Feb 02 2018

We couldn't be happier with the vehicle. The car is loaded with safety features and the AWD has come in handy for the winter. Excellent family car and a great value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our Outback

by Hockey family from New Hampshire on Mon Mar 27 2017

We recently purchased our families first Subaru and could not be happier. From the amazing safety tech that it comes with to the comfortable seating position. All the controls are easy to use and within reach. We have not had it long enough for the engine to fully break in but the fuel mileage has been great. It rides and handles like a car and is an animal in the snow. I am not going to say that the Outback is perfect because it is not. Its a touch noisier than I would like and I think that the roof rack and CVT are to blame for that. When the vehicle is cold and you begin your trip the CVT has a tendency of revving a little high and holding in that gear. I am sure it is something we will get used to. But if you are looking for a safe comfortable vehicle that fits five and you live in an area that gets snow I would be shocked if there was another vehicle that was as capable and a better value than the Outback. Believe me, you are doing yourself a disservice if you are not at least test driving this before your next SUV/Wagon purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

its a great car for its cost

by Gerald from on Mon Mar 27 2017

Not a bad car for its cost. Its reliable, comfortable, handles well on snow and wet roads. I actually prefer to drive this than my more expensive cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just bought it

by JSW from Central NJ on Sat May 05 2018

Very pleased with car so far Bought car at a different dealership that provided same car as shown on cars.com Meeting or exceeding all expectations Happy with purchase

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love It.

by zillarunner from Bethalto, IL on Tue Jun 26 2018

I have the touring edition. It is very comfortable, I love the sight assisted cruise control. It keeps me comfortable behind the car in front of me. When stopped and the car in front moves forward and I'm not, it tells me. Also if I cross lane lines, it will let me know. I purchased it "Used" From the dealer with 6000 miles on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this wagon

by Gaylen on Tue Nov 21 2017

Great ride; quiet and comfortable. Lots of features. Wonderful lease option and super sales staff at Victory Subaru in Franklin Twp. NJ

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Thought it too small and I was wrong.

by Nbw from Austin, texas on Tue Mar 28 2017

Don't doubt the size. Engineering magic inside. I am 6'3" and have plenty head and leg room even with two people in back seat. I even fit in back seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by HeatherW from on Sun Apr 02 2017

So happy with the car. I had been wanting to get a Subaru for awhile and finally decided to make the jump. I am so glad I did. The car is so comfortable and handles very well. It was the right choice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru Outback

by Marty from on Wed Apr 05 2017

Very comfortable and quiet on the road. Can not judge on reliability or economy but if other peoples experience holds true it will be fine

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Subaru Outback

The verdict: Whether you consider the 2017 Subaru Outback a wagon or a crossover SUV, it's a home run for families and well-rounded enough to appeal to a large crowd.

Versus the competition:
Though the Outback doesn’t have the sheer capabilities and size of a traditional midsize SUV, there’s enough SUV flavor there to satisfy more than just loyal Subaru owners.

For 2017, the Subaru Outback adds a new Touring trim level that gives an extra bit of luxuriousness to the top of the four-cylinder (2.5i) and six-cylinder (3.6R) trim ranges. Outback trims now include the base 2.5i trim, plus 2.5i Premium, 2.5i Limited, 2.5i Touring, 3.6R Limited and 3.6R Touring. Compare the... Read More