Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2017 Outback

Consumer Reviews

$20,072 - $40,788  MSRP Range
2017 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

301 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 301 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love Our 2017 Subaru Outback

by perldark from Toano, VA on Wed Apr 05 2017

We are so happy with our new 2017 Subaru Outback! The ride is quiet and comfortable, the car's style is sleek and stylish, both inside and out. The safety features on this car are a huge plus and really sold us on the car. I feel confident and secure driving this vehicle. Subaru is an awesome car company!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EyeSight safety, best MPG and made in USA

by jean from Kalispell, MT on Thu Apr 06 2017

I have only had the car a few days but the safety features and ease of driving this Subaru Outback are amazing. I wanted a car that could tow a 1000# trailer, had good ground clearance, and all wheel drive. The Outback does all that and has the best MPG than any of other cars in its class. Besides addressing the environment footprint by the Subaru PERZA emission system, the Outback is also USA made in Indiana!! Ryan Murphy at AutoNation Spokane explained the feature the Outback has in away I could understand them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A real pleasure to drive

by DB and SB from Lake In The Hills, Il on Sun Apr 09 2017

Extremely easy to handle and it is great fun to drive. This is our first Subaru and probably wont be the last. My wife drives it everyday to work and feels extremely safe since it has fjll-time 4 wheel drive and all wheel disc brakes. Plenty of room inside and comfortable as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Buy used, slightly older model.

by DK454 from on Tue Apr 11 2017

I owned a 2013, it was a better car. All weather mats, thicker, cargo mat thicker, bumper protector thicker. It looks like the bean counters were at it. Door pockets smaller, center console smaller. Bridgestone tires have weak side walls causing the car to lean on turns. I had Hankooks on my other Subaru. Much more supportive drive. 2017 poorer GPS. Although the 2013 was no great shakes in the GPS department, it had a more defined image. I think you could get the image to 1/20 mile. The rest of the Subaru is very nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Technology is amazing.

by Roger from Bloomington, WI on Tue Apr 18 2017

Although we have only had the car several weeks, we love everything about it. Everybody we tell what kind of car we bought, they had already knew or heard about it's great reputation! Since my wife and I are in our 80s, I'm fairly sure it will be the last car we buy. It will outlast us.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great crossover.

by John from Jamesville, NY on Tue Apr 18 2017

This Subaru Outback is a great crossover. The ride is great. It's quiet. The interior is well designed and comfortable. The gas mileage is as good or better than rated. This is one great vehicle. I have the 2.5l engine and it is not a power house but it gets up to highway speeds with no problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Will always own a Subaru

by WRSports from on Fri Mar 10 2017

Do yourself a favor and check out the Subaru line of automobiles. Just read the safety reviews, and some of the stories from owners experiences, they speak for themselves.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good value for the money

by sportsfan from Walla Walla, WA on Sun Apr 02 2017

I like the car - the all wheel drive, how it handles, the spaciousness. I bought it new. It is a Subaru Outback 2.5i Premium.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

its a great car for its cost

by Gerald from on Mon Mar 27 2017

Not a bad car for its cost. Its reliable, comfortable, handles well on snow and wet roads. I actually prefer to drive this than my more expensive cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome! Best car I have ever owned.

by ScooterOB from Happy Valley, OR on Sat Mar 25 2017

So far so great. Cant wait for the first snow to drive my Subie in. I bought the 3.6R. I wanted more power for passing and uphill climbing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Subaru Outback

The verdict: Whether you consider the 2017 Subaru Outback a wagon or a crossover SUV, it's a home run for families and well-rounded enough to appeal to a large crowd.

Versus the competition:
Though the Outback doesn’t have the sheer capabilities and size of a traditional midsize SUV, there’s enough SUV flavor there to satisfy more than just loyal Subaru owners.

For 2017, the Subaru Outback adds a new Touring trim level that gives an extra bit of luxuriousness to the top of the four-cylinder (2.5i) and six-cylinder (3.6R) trim ranges. Outback trims now include the base 2.5i trim, plus 2.5i Premium, 2.5i Limited, 2.5i Touring, 3.6R Limited and 3.6R Touring. Compare the... Read More