2017 Outback

Consumer Reviews
2017 Subaru Outback

Change Vehicle
4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

291 Reviews
2017 Subaru Outback
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 291 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Just bought it

by JSW from Central NJ on May 5, 2018

Very pleased with car so far Bought car at a different dealership that provided same car as shown on cars.com Meeting or exceeding all expectations Happy with purchase

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A real pleasure to drive

by DB and SB from Lake In The Hills, Il on April 9, 2017

Extremely easy to handle and it is great fun to drive. This is our first Subaru and probably wont be the last. My wife drives it everyday to work and feels extremely safe since it has fjll-time 4 wheel drive and all wheel disc brakes. Plenty of room inside and comfortable as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Buy used, slightly older model.

by DK454 from on April 11, 2017

I owned a 2013, it was a better car. All weather mats, thicker, cargo mat thicker, bumper protector thicker. It looks like the bean counters were at it. Door pockets smaller, center console smaller. Bridgestone tires have weak side walls causing the car to lean on turns. I had Hankooks on my other Subaru. Much more supportive drive. 2017 poorer GPS. Although the 2013 was no great shakes in the GPS department, it had a more defined image. I think you could get the image to 1/20 mile. The rest of the Subaru is very nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Technology is amazing.

by Roger from Bloomington, WI on April 18, 2017

Although we have only had the car several weeks, we love everything about it. Everybody we tell what kind of car we bought, they had already knew or heard about it's great reputation! Since my wife and I are in our 80s, I'm fairly sure it will be the last car we buy. It will outlast us.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great crossover.

by John from Jamesville, NY on April 18, 2017

This Subaru Outback is a great crossover. The ride is great. It's quiet. The interior is well designed and comfortable. The gas mileage is as good or better than rated. This is one great vehicle. I have the 2.5l engine and it is not a power house but it gets up to highway speeds with no problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Gold stars for this Outback

by gomary from Murrells Inlet, SC on April 22, 2017

I upgraded from the Subaru Forester to the Outback and have been completed satisfied. It has more room and lots of cargo space. Took trip from New York to South Carolina and it was fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EyeSight safety, best MPG and made in USA

by jean from Kalispell, MT on April 6, 2017

I have only had the car a few days but the safety features and ease of driving this Subaru Outback are amazing. I wanted a car that could tow a 1000# trailer, had good ground clearance, and all wheel drive. The Outback does all that and has the best MPG than any of other cars in its class. Besides addressing the environment footprint by the Subaru PERZA emission system, the Outback is also USA made in Indiana!! Ryan Murphy at AutoNation Spokane explained the feature the Outback has in away I could understand them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Eight Subaru I have owned.

by Sis from Middle Grove, NY on March 31, 2017

The car is reliable and the new features will make it even safer. I am short and like that I can move the seat to accommodate me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy outback owner

by Bob the old guy from T-burg, NY on March 23, 2017

Nice car; all we had hoped for.Comfortable, quiet, stylish, adequate power(2.5i engine), smooth shifting. Love the safety features( we added the eyesight package).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable

by Josie from Ridgecrest, Ca on March 24, 2017

First Subaru owned. So far in love. Ithe has many different features, safety and otherwise. I truly love how comfortable it is.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Expert Review: 2017 Subaru Outback