2014 XV Crosstrek Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Hybrid

$13,423 - $22,559  MSRP Range
2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Hybrid

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

10 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

not very hybridy really

by fried003 from alexandria, va on July 18, 2014

This doesn't seem to save all that much gas over a 2009 Forester I traded. Subaru took the Crosstrek & decided to make a hybrid model as opposed to say Toyota designed the Prius as a hybrid vehicle only. The battery pack replaces the spare tire, so there isn't one. The car is comfortable enough though. The electronics are OK but not very intuitive. The bluetooth setting is often lost so I often have to re-set it, but it's quite good once it's working. I'm a bit disappointed as I had greater expectations - it's certainly not a bad car though.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I AM in love!

by Bold Beauty from on March 6, 2017

Just bought my certified used 2014 hybrid Crosstrek. Comparing it to the regular all gas crosstrek which I also leased in the passed, NO COMPARISON. My hybrid has a tight steering ratio which I have not had on a car in ages ( important to me ). Amenities are great ( fully loaded ). Brakes are bearly touched and it stops Other than the plasma green color which would not have been my first choice, this car is my new found love. only time will tell, as I have only had her since last week

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy driver

by Shapeeb from New London wi. on December 19, 2014

Still under 1000 miles but enjoying the car,city gas mileage isn't very good but I think it's because I only drive 7 minutes to work and the car isn't heated up yet. I'm in Wisconsin it's a little cold here, on the highway it's 30+ and in a bigger city where I drove a longer distance it also got ton over 30,so far I'm pretty happy I don't have any complaints.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Subaru Crosstrek XV

by JimD from Ocala, FL on March 27, 2018

The car has been very good. It gets great mileage. Has many options that a more expensive car would have! Very comfortable vehicle. Has been flawless and hybrid system does a great job!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Cross Trek Hybrid after thought

by Long Distance from Ft Lauderdale Fl on August 25, 2016

A nice enough car with the AWD, Hybrid system, and good cargo to size ratio. Less than 2 years old and I have had to replace the front drive axel and alternator and belt. I have averaged about 42,000 a year but I thought Subaru made a tougher car. The Hybrid system is of no help if you do a lot of highway miles like me and the car is noisy at highway speeds. A small SUV that they converted to Hybrid to help with CAFE standards.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable vehicle we have owned.

by Anna, Subaru Love from Gahanna, Ohio on December 22, 2017

The Crosstrek is the most comfortable vehicle we have owned. I have back problems, requiring lumbar spinal fusion surgery. We drove all kinds of vehicles, and the Subaru Crosstrek had the most comfortable seats. Our next vehicle will be a Subaru Crosstrek.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for my needs!

by MissBrook from Ossining on May 24, 2018

Needed something to fit my grandchildren's 'stuff' plus easy for my 92yo Mom to get in and out of. With the price of gas constantly fluctuating gas consumption was a key factor and my 'new' ride averages 31mpg! It's a solid QUIET ride with plenty of pick-up! (Coming out of an Infiniti Q60 I thought I would notice less pick-up.)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST AMAZING CAR EVER

by Fitfashion from Larchmont, NY on December 22, 2017

This car is stunningly stylish on the outside, extremely spacious inside (huge trunk), comfortable seating (heated seats), excellent drive (breaks control) and super affordable for a SUV this size. I couldn´t be happier with my crosstrek, always got compliments on it and it broke my heart when I had to sell due to relocating overseas. I highly recommend this model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

its awesome

by winterdr from Birmingham, AL on May 24, 2017

Very impressed! much more pick up than I expected from a hybrid. Love everything about this car, so far!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Awesome True AWD system but!

by ToppCat from Nothern California on February 22, 2014

Awesome True AWD system, Great Handling! Comforable Ride! Good looking body style! Cheap interior,VERY CHEAP! outdated electrical system, aweful sound system! Stupit Hybrid system!! Soft body metal! the hybrid has noise insulation package! ,i heard the regular Crosstrek are very noisy!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Hybrid

Some things in life just don't make sense, like decaf coffee and our country's continued fascination with the Kardashians. Now, we can add Subaru's first hybrid to the list.

The 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek is a likable little wagon with comfort and utility, but paying a premium for the inefficient, unrefined hybrid version doesn't make sense.

The XV Crosstrek is based on Subaru's Impreza and debuted for the 2013 model year; the hybrid variant is new for 2014. Compare them here. This review covers the hybrid; click here for our review of the gas-powered XV Crosstrek.

The XV Hybrid's direct competitor is the Toyota Prius, but Volkswagen's diesel-powered Jetta SportWagen TDI and its upcoming Golf SportWagen TDI... Read More