1999 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

1999 Toyota 4Runner

$15 - $14,595  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

43 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 43 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I Never Owned The Toyota Car

by nokia7000 from San Diego, CA on Fri Aug 11 2006

It's great, but I never owned a 4Runner in my life! It's cool. I love the car. Good car and I can officialy guess. Can't tell how many seats it haves. It's a cool car, love it, great! But I can compare it to a GMC Jimmy or a Isuzu Rodeo. The car must be on sale used. If they like the car, they can keep it for 15 years or longer. The car inside is almost gray, I dont like the color, but the comfort. I just love it! The best car is almost the greatest! I love Toyota!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable low miles for its age

by Rambo from Spring field va. on Mon Jul 01 2019

Am selling 99 4runner am the second owner car has 168k miles its low for its age bought from a familly who took care of the car. Am selling it because am moving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned

by NikiS from Apex on Mon May 15 2017

Love my Toyota 4 runner, great vehicle super reliable. Plenty of room for my family of four and our furry friends. Best used vehicle I have ever purchased

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The best car/SUV I've ever owned.

by MasterGuide from Redwood Valley, CA on Tue Feb 06 2018

Dependable, "put the key in and go" reliablity. Good performance, low maintenance, aggressive 4WD. Drives as good as it looks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

last long

by JBAutoKing from Sicklerville, NJ on Mon Jul 31 2017

this will last for years, over 200000 miles and still runs like new would definatly buy one again great truck

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV

by stxstars from Salida, CO on Fri Mar 02 2018

This SUV was wonderful for my husband and I. We spent many road trips and off-road adventures in this SUV, even camping in the back. Great gas mileage. Do lack a little bit of power going over mountain passes. Roomy. Reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ive ever owned

by StarGazerJESI from Copiague, NY on Sat Nov 24 2018

This car has been through so much and is still running the space is amazing and its a monster on the road. Done have any complaints

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car

by Diamond from Idaho falls id on Mon Nov 13 2017

Nice car yes it was exactly what we were looking for, however I had purchased a vehicle before this one came. Cars.com sent the cars as promised. Thanks Dave Snell

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love my 99.

by C. Henry from Wildomar, CA on Thu Apr 25 2019

Great vehicle. I keep it well maintained. However nothing lasts forever. I have had to make some expensive repairs only because of the age of the vehicle. But the engine and transmission are both top notch. My interior is in very good condition. I take care of my 99 and it takes care of me. 💕

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The smart man's SUV. Range Rover alternative.

by slapmaster2 from Baltimore on Wed Jun 26 2019

"Tha Beast", black SR5, Highlander pkg, loaded, Yakima rack, brush guard, 5spd. Has over 200k miles. I'm its 2nd owner. Maintenance costs, other than stuff I broke, or that Sears Auto Center screwed up. Sunroof doesn't work, CD player/changer sucks, persistent electrical/charging issue; kills batteries. Front end rubber bushings worn out = "death roll." Still drives fine, and smooth, regardless. My favorite vehicle ever. 2nd favorite was my '97 SR5 totaled due to black ice. Saved my life on more than one occasion. Favorite feature: hood scoop aka cod piece/snout/head hump/kok. 2nd favorite feature: power rear window. Can't kill it. Can't seem to bring myself to sell or trade it. Bury me in it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 1999 Toyota 4Runner

On second thought . . .

When last we visited the Toyota 4Runner sport-utility vehicle it was just being introduced as a redesigned 1996 model.

Loved it. A worthy and much-lower-cost alternative to the much larger Lexus LX450 (which has since become the LX470), we said at the time.

But that was then and this is now, and once again we’ve tested the 4Runner, this time the 1999 base four-wheel-drive version with its 2.7-liter, 150-horsepower... Read More