2004 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2004 Toyota 4Runner

$2,771 - $14,671  MSRP Range
2004 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

66 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 66 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV on market

by Yota from Richmond, VA on Thu May 31 2007

Best car I've owner. A bit pricey but no doubt you will get your money worth and probably have money to spare when it comes time to upgrade. A good mix of luxury and rugged. I would recommend this vehicle to friends and family!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Runner

by Carolina Runner from North Carolina on Sat Apr 04 2015

I've had very liitle problems. It has 194K but I forget it has that many miles. I've never owned a car with high mileage. The thought of it used to scare me. Looking to buy another one and give this one to hubby. Love the engine and the way it handles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever owned

by runner from San antonio TX on Tue Nov 11 2014

bought it new , just turned 210,000 miles , this is a great car, what I like most about it , is when you step on the gas it moves, no hesitation . Plan to keep it for another 100K miles

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

just bought a few months back. Great so far.

by neesee from Maine on Thu Dec 29 2011

This is my first 4 wheel drive and im in my 40's. I love it so far. It has a v8 in it so you would think its a gas guzzler but not bad. I think ive figured it to be 17 to 19 miles per gallon, not bad. I can't tell you if it will be the most reliable vehicle i've ever owned because i just recently purchased it but i have high hopes. Love every thing about my 2004 toyota 4 runner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

this was the most reliable car I owned

by Realtor from Minnetonka on Tue Aug 04 2020

I had this Toyota for 16 years, it was great for everything, I had the 3rd row of seats, had for my kids when they were little. Great reliable car, I drove it until 185,000 miles and never had an issue with it. I traded it in they gave me way more than I thought for the Toyota. They really hold thier value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most comfortable and reliable vehicle

by Toyota 4ever from Sammamish on Fri Nov 01 2019

This was and still is my dream car. It's comfortable, reliable & great in all types of weather. Also it is roomy and can carry my dog easily. I will never own anything other than a Toyota.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by YoungMoneyCars from Fort Worth, TX on Wed Feb 06 2013

Great car all around. Looks tight and runs great. Seats are comfortable and there is a truck load of storage space. This car does its job and keeps you lookin fresh too.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good car

by Walewale from Reading PA on Sun Sep 08 2013

I Like this car very much. I will always buy the Toyota 4runner again I love this car I will like to get the 2014

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Tough vehicle

by CG Palermo from Virginia on Wed Apr 11 2018

On the Toyota the Toyota for 4 years had no major problems, will the great running vehicle very good for four wheel driving used to drive on dirt roads with it all the time and rain snow four-wheel drive on the unit was great in the mud and snow recommended vehicle to anybody who can buy one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love Toyotas

by Melissar from Graham on Fri Mar 24 2017

I absolutely love my 4 runner. I've previously owned a camry and a tacoma. Can't go wrong with a toyota!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7