2011 4Runner

Consumer Reviews

2011 Toyota 4Runner

$12,962 - $25,674  MSRP Range
2011 Toyota 4Runner

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

64 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Toyota 4Runner?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 64 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1st Car

by 4Runner from Greeneville,Tennessee on Thu May 15 2014

This was the first car my Granddaughter purchased for herself. She is very pleased with the vehicles performance and appearance. Her salesman , Derrick, showed her how everything worked and what the car could do. It was very helpful to have someone who knew the vehicle, rather that just someone to sell without any information about the car. All in all, a Great Car and a Great Salesperson!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

unexpected glitch

by 3Runner from colorado high country on Wed Jan 01 2014

I don't love it yet (bot used 3 mos ago at 20,000 miles) the way I did my last two 4 Runners ( '89 and '03) but I am optimistic. Very high step up to enter ( no left hand grip handle) is not comfortable. MPG--16.6!!! Is this normal?? Occasional sudden "flat spot" during early acceleration is worrisome (push on gas = no response). Got any ideas/?? Dealer denies tranny recall is impending. But lots of good stuff during 1400 mile trip (but 16.6 mpg?).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

4 Runner evaluation

by F150 Platinum from Port Byron, IL 61275 on Thu Feb 16 2012

Overall the vehicle is solid. It has some gaps as far as my wife is concerned as it is her vehicle. 1) Third Row of seats are very cramped she need the additional space for hauling Girl Scouts around and friends of our kids when running to activities. 2) Third row of seats came without floor mats. 3) Rear wiper is to small and when in use view is still obstructed with rear view mirror. 4) Seems a bit over priced when compared to the highlander we traded on it. High Lander while smaller seemed to have more room. 5) Limited cup holders as when compared to my F-150 Platinum and the 2008 Highlander. If we are in the vehicle as family and take a coffee and water bottle only enough space for one. Then if water bottle is a little oversize will not fit in the location in the door. 6) Power points, The one in glove box is very inconvienient. No for he second row. 7) Tires on the vehicle are cheap low end tires and this is an 4Runner, Limited, 4X4 should put a much better tire on this vehicle. Performance in snow and on wet surfaces are less than perfect. 8) Seat warmers in very cold weather take for every to warm up and don't get real warm even on high. 9) Rear hatch is heavy and very cumbersome to close for a person as short as my wife 5'-1". 10) Seat adjustments are limited and at times uncomfortable. 11) Frame paint chipping off already and rusting will require me to paint this spring to keep from looking terrible. 12) Gas mileage whether on the highway or city is the same and only the minimum from sticker. 13) Overall better than the 2008 Highlander but still below our expectation. 14) Backup camera in the rear view mirror is to small and somewhat limited at night when backing out of a parting spot. 15) Entrance method to the third row of seats is very limited so if you have kids your probably okay but for older adults would be difficult. Probably anything more than 20-30 minutes in these seats for adults would cause problems. 16) Interior could be designed more ergonomically friendly for the Ladies who don't want mini-van.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2011 Toyota 4Runner

by Gaad from Cordova, TN on Sat May 31 2014

Ralf was excellent in dealing with me! I recommend dealing with him in your car shopping. The 4Runner is one of the best choice for a suv

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

cramped front passenger space

by SUV driver from Glen Mills, PA on Fri May 13 2011

I was quite pleased with the 2011 Toyota 4Runner until I sat in the front passenger seat while my wife drove. I am 6'3" tall and weigh 220. I could barely squeeze in. The enormous plastic covering for what I suppose is the air conditioner air handler and God knows what else went almost straight down to the floor from under the glove compartment. It stopped about one inch from the floor allowing the toes of your shoes to just slip under. It was virtually impossible to stretch out in any fashion. One of the worst interior designs I have ever encountered. This is an SUV for very small! people

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT SERVICE AND PRICE

by GMEN!!!!!! from NEW JERSEY on Sat Jan 07 2012

I WENT TO ROUTE 22 TOYOTA AND PURCHASED A 2012 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER, WHAT AN AWESOME VEHICLE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS DEALERSHIP TO FAMILY AND FRIENDS. MY SALESMAN WAS HONEST AND PLAYED NO GAMES, HIS MGR HELPED US WITH OUR PAYMENTS AND MADE THIS TRANSACTION PAINLESS. THANKS AGAIN RT 22 TOYOTA!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Don't buy a 2011 4runner; Airbag issue

by Elysse from jax beach on Wed Apr 26 2017

Don't buy a 2011 4runner; the airbag recall has not been resolved. Dangerous situaition for the passenger if there is an accident.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luv my 4Runner!!!!

by LilPomPom314 from Arkansas on Sat Jan 13 2018

Finally got the vehicle I’ve always wanted and it is perfect us and our Pom babies! Ty Cauldwell Toyota and Joel Tomlinson!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hard to find fault

by avacenna from Dallas TX on Mon Dec 05 2011

Everything just as good as I expected. Got 196,000 miles from our Toyota Sequoia, so hopefully this 4Runner will be just as reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So Far, Great

by Ogwo42 on Fri Apr 06 2018

This vehicle replaced a 2006 4Runner that a tree crushed, was forced in to the market for another vehicle. Comfortable ride, elevated driving position, lots of room. 73K miles on this vehicle and looking to get many, many more out of it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2011 Toyota 4Runner

Editor’s note: This review was written in February 2010 about the 2010 Toyota 4Runner. Little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2011, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The completely redesigned 2010 Toyota 4Runner reminds me why Americans fell in love with truck-based SUVs — and why we’re falling out of love with them. If you’re someone who wants a rugged, off-road-capable truck — or simply wants the rugged look — you’ll find the 4Runner a strong competitor to the likes of Nissan’s Pathfinder and the 2010 Ford Explorer. If you’re simply looking for the utility of a vehicle with... Read More