Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1993 Camry

Consumer Reviews

1993 Toyota Camry

$997 - $3,469  MSRP Range
1993 Toyota Camry

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1993 Toyota Camry?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

They CAN BE great Cars!!

by Crystal from on Fri Apr 09 2010

I got my 93 LE Camry 3 years ago...i got it from new york so i knew it was gonna have rust underneath but i took a chance cuz ive had alot of friends have a 90's camry... It was great for the first year or so but then my distributor went bad so the car wouldnt start but it was a easy fix. These cars are known for the door handles breaking off on the outside of the door..they are plastic so if i were looking to get another one i would pick a car with a common color..i have a skyblue camry which is what made me fall in love with it but with my handle broken it is nearly impossible to find another one.. Ive had to replace the driverside window motor another comon problem and my passigner side window just fell off track the other day.. The headlights are weak...but when it comes to the engine it is great... The engine in this car is one of the very few older engines where if the timing belt breaks it wont mess up the whole engine all you have to do is replace it which is what happened to me at 113,000 miles.. So over all ive had quite a few problems but all minor easy fixes. I still have it and will be probably putting it up on here soon to sell cuz i have 3 kids now and its a little tight but its great for 4 people very roomy. If you maintain it u will get great gas miliage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1993 Camry XLE V-6, 3.0

by Mashed Potatoes from Houston, Tx on Fri Jan 23 2009

This was a hand-me-down car from my brother. It was his second car and he gave it a beating, including minor wrecks and a cracked radiator. I began driving it about two years ago and it's been a great first car. I would prefer this over many newer cars, even with 157,000 miles. They have done a good bit of work on it...injector replacement, main head gasket, entire brake set, and springs among others. The only problem are the headlights, they're pretty weak. If you treat the car well and do regular maintenance, it will run forever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

More bang for the buck

by Toyota lover from Lakewood,CA on Sat May 15 2010

Its' like a new car ! With only 86K miles when bought and garage kept, the interior was nearly new and with Camry reliability, what else is needed ? OK, I had to put $1,200 into replacing parts BUT, I can see this car going another 100,000 miles with only little repairs and maint. On top of this - they no longer make a this body type since '96, so this gives it a rare image look to it as I drive around.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR / SOME PROBLEMS

by DAVER from fishers in on Fri May 01 2009

HAD 75000 WHEN I GOT IT, HAVE 216000 AND STILL RUNNING EVERY DAY. HAD ALL THE GASKETS REPLACED, FRONT DRIVE SHAFTS REPLACED A FEW TIMES, HAD 2 MAJOR TUNE UPS, THE AIR CONDITIONER JUST WENT OUT, AND THE WINDOWS ARE ACTING UP, BUT OVER ALL THE CAR HAS BEEN VERY DEPENDABLE, I MIGHT TRY FOR 300000 ??

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It had a long life

by Prefers sportier cars from on Sat Jan 03 2009

So the camry xle v6 was a gift from my aunt 5 years ago. the car ran great for 3 of those years but the last 2 years it was in the shop a lot; 1 thing after another until the engine failed a block test then we said okay we're done. it had a good life, very fun to drive, but died with only 155,xxx miles on it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

These are extremely dependable

by tool time tim from on Sat Nov 08 2008

this car is very dependable and cost effective. the exterior is not the greatest but the car was manufactured in 1993

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

310,000 miles and going......

by toyotaman from Monterey, California on Fri Jul 03 2009

This thing has 310,000 original miles and its still going, I would not drive anything other than a toyota.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I've always wanted one

by A school Photographer from Kansas city Mo. on Tue Dec 06 2011

this is a great car. it is comfortable and well maintained. I would go anywhere at any time in it. Cars.com helped me finding the car i wanted in my area. Everyone had a clear concise web site.I am glad I used Cars.com.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by muscle car enthusiast but loves reliable cars from Rhode Island on Sat Jul 08 2006

Toyotas are easily the most realible cars on the market, my sybling has a 93 camry and it now has 260000 miles on it and has never given any problems, not only does it have that many miles but it is still driven long distances. Great Car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

302k miles and still going strong!

by Live behind the wheel from New York, NY on Mon Jan 03 2011

This is the best car ever! I bought it used in 1996 with 41,000 miles and have been driving it strong every since! I've had several brand new cars between then and now and none of them can compare to my Camry. It's very comfortable to drive and I never hesitate on driving it long distances because I know it never will and never has let me down or left me stranded anywhere. Engine and Transmission are still original. With 300k miles, I keep impeccable records for the car and I've only ever replaced struts and mounts x2, brakes and rotors a few times, distributor, radiator and alternator over the course of 14 years! My LE is definately a keeper for life!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1993 Toyota Camry

Toyota could take a unique approach to selling the new Camry wagon.

It could make them all white, put a bar code on the doors and a big sticker on the hood that reads CAR.

Generic - that's the Camry wagon.

Make no mistake about it, though, the Camry wagon does nothing wrong. It's designed and assembled well, and it adheres to Toyota's high standards of quality. But the car lacks a distinct personality and has no soul.

If you prefer a sedate car that asks nothing of the driver, then you'll like the Camry wagon.

However, I prefer a car that doesn't remove me from the experience of driving.

The engine purrs more like an electric motor. It makes so little noise and vibration, one is tempted to... Read More