Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 Camry

Consumer Reviews

1999 Toyota Camry

$836 - $5,412  MSRP Range
1999 Toyota Camry

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

68 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Toyota Camry?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 68 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car among all I owned in the past.

by brad from West Michigan on Mon Nov 06 2006

Car is very comfortable and the gas economy is excellent. Problems include Gear shift cable breakage, Accelerator paddle getting stuck when moving car from stop, and some noice in desh or suspension.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Well performing car for the miles and age.

by DylanB from Omaha, NE on Wed Nov 14 2018

There?s definitely some problems with this car, but it is a comftorable and reliable vehicle. If you really just need something to get from point A to point B, this is a well priced vehicle that should get many more miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable and Great Gas Mileage!

by katsings from Harpers Ferry, WV on Tue Aug 01 2017

Great for commuting and for a small family. It gets great gas mileage and has a nice big trunk. My back seats even folded down to accommodate bigger items.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

The most reliable car I have ever owned

by Datslimdude from Richmond,VA on Sun Mar 19 2017

The 1999 Toyota Camry is a good car if you are a student and it's tinted. Very good looking. It didn't give me much trouble.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car, but has its problems

by breeves from North Carolina on Tue Mar 11 2008

I have owned my 99' camry since it was new. It has been an excellent car with almost no problems. It has broken down once(broken timing belt). It could use a bit more legroom, but it isn't bad. Kinda low powered in the 4cyl but rock solid reliability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Toyota!

by BenVH from Appleton, Wisconsin on Sat Aug 05 2017

Why Toyota? Build quality, reliability and cost of ownership. I would have a hard time buying anything other than a Toyota/Lexus.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

keeps on tickin'

by japanesequalitylover from connecticut on Wed Jul 05 2017

it's got 215k and the original clutch. i bought it 15 years ago and hope to see it turn 300. incredibly reliant and runs as well as it did when i bought it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

by Toyota camry 1999 from Harrison,nj on Sat Mar 18 2017

Toyota camry 1999 xle Excellent condition Clean intioior No problem Fast running Import from california

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED!

by Getting from point A to B with no problems from New York, New York on Fri Aug 29 2008

I have owned my Camry for 9 years, and with just following the maintinence book, I have not had one problem in 9 years! I only have 87,000 miles and am looking forward to going over 200,000 miles:)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

305,000 Miles

by CamryAZ from Phoenix, AZ on Mon Mar 20 2017

I purchased my 1999 Camry new. I have put 305,000 miles on the car. It's a 6 cyl - manual transmission. I've never had an issue with the car. It runs perfect. I have friends who have gone through three cars since I purchased mine. It's sun burned from the Arizona sun, but drives like new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7