2008 Camry Solara

Consumer Reviews

2008 Toyota Camry Solara

$3,738 - $14,422  MSRP Range
2008 Toyota Camry Solara

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

36 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Toyota Camry Solara?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I want to keep this car forever

by Woody from Michigan on Wed Jan 06 2010

The Solara has the smoothest and quietest ride of any car I've ever driven. I have an SLE V6 coupe. Visibility out of the rear takes a little bit of time to get used to because of the rising belt line towards the rear of the car. The suspension is a great balance between comfort and sportiness; the highway ride is pretty soft but the car can also be pushed through tight corners and freeway onramps. The JBL audio system sounds very good, and its bluetooth connectivity comes in handy. Headroom for taller people can be limited, especially in the back seat for passengers over 6 feet tall. There is tons of legroom in the front seats. The steering is extremely light, and it is possible to make a turn with one finger. The turning circle is pretty tight which makes it easy to maneuver the car. The 3.3 liter V6 is very quiet and smooth with good everyday driveability and plenty of passing power. Long interstate trips have yielded 30 mpg, and everyday driving usually gets around 20 mpg. Acceleration sometimes does not feel very aggressive, but I think that's because the car is so smooth, so light-footed driving takes a little practice. VSC and traction control helps especially in winter driving. All season tires do fine in snow and ice but winter tires are great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Toyota Solara Sport

by Machine1955 from NEW YORK on Sat Oct 03 2009

THE FIRST THING THAT INPRESSED ME WAS THE INTERIOR ROOM YOU DONT FIND ANY CONVERTABLES WITH THIS MUCH SIZE AT ANY PRICE RANGE,ALSO YOU GET A TRUNK THAT YOU CAN PUT SOMETHING IN WHAT A NOVEL IDEA TOYOTA CAME UP WITH,ALSO THE GROUND EFFECTS ON THE SPORT MODEL MAKES THE CAR LOOK GREAT. VERY GLAD I PURCHASED THIS CAR

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 sle convertible

by speed from york, pa. on Mon Mar 21 2016

have owned Toyotas since college (over 40 years now). this solara is as nice as any I have owned. very stylish, good performing, economical, reliable. absolutely only complaint is the limited visability through the rear window. would definitely recommend this vehicle- fun car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love my car

by mom's car from Raleigh,Nc on Sun Oct 07 2012

Love this car. It has everything. Convertible with toyota quality. Repairs are very affordable. Can't say enough good things about this car. Super roomy and comfortable back seat. One small negative, it does not have great visibility in rear window.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sports Car Sexy without breaking the bank

by Justme from Northern California on Sat Mar 19 2011

This car is AWESOME! I purchased an '06 in 2008. It had 31k miles. The styling, both inside and out, makes it look like a much more expensive sports car. Fuel economy is great and handles great on mountain curves. The sun/moon roof is great on those sunny California days. It's too bad Toyota discontinued this model. I would recommend to anyone that is considering purchasing a sports car but wants to keep a little money in their wallet. You won't be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Looking Convertible Cruiser

by Two time owner from Altoona, IA on Thu Aug 14 2014

First - the car is the convertible sport model. V6. I previously owned a 2004 coupe (which the 08 has much improved upon). The gearbox is silky smooth and the engine purrs nicely. Being that the car is nearing 7 years old, I was diligent in finding a car with a complete set of vehicle service records and one that had stability control. Seems many of these listings do not. I feel confident the car will be a great cruiser for years to come. Nice sounding stereo from the front but in the rear the side mounted speakers needed to go. Never understand why car makers don't put two-way speakers all around. Anyone who likes music notices a huge difference. But if that's the biggest of my problems I guess I'm okay. Really love every single thing about this gem. I do hate they aren't made anymore. Frankly, it's the sportiest thing Toyota had going for it in years. The engine has enough power but just enough. Would have loved more juice but I've owned this engine model three times now and it's a good one. Car is very quiet inside with the roof up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best convertible I've owned.

by ragtoprob from Cincinnati, OH on Fri Aug 24 2007

For the smoothest ride, suggest lower tire pressure. (Not their recommended higher level). You would not know it is a convertible unless the top is down. Rear window difficult to to see through. Only negative of the automobile.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Toyota man from Conn on Sun Sep 08 2013

These are awesome cars, these cars last forever. these cars are no longer made which makes the a novelty over time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy to have found another Solara

by Previous Solara owner from Tallahassee, Florida on Sun Aug 18 2013

I had a Solara a few years ago but it was totaled in an accident. Not our fault, and it did its job protecting us. I wanted another one and found this one a few hours away. I love it; it's perfect. Comfortable, fun, beautiful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't go wrong with a Toyota

by andrea from Marlton, NJ on Fri Feb 21 2014

Love it, just a bit frustrated with the fact it is not very efficient on gas. A typical 6 cylinder. Would've preferred a 4 cylinder and more gas conservation, but it didn't come in it. Hard to find a Toyota convertible younger than 2008.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4