Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2001 Corolla

Consumer Reviews

2001 Toyota Corolla

$1,036 - $5,748  MSRP Range
2001 Toyota Corolla

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

31 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Toyota Corolla?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 31 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Agree with Deb- Too much oil consumption

by Liz from GA from Atlanta, GA on Mon Jan 26 2009

Like Deb, I have a 2001 manual 5 speed Corolla. It does burn up gas a great deal; every 400-500 miles I have to put 2 quarts of oil in it. The wheel bearing also developed a problem and I have to spend $350 to get it fixed. The Corolla is a reliable car overall, but I would caution anyone considering it to buy a newer one i.e less than 2 years old. I've had mine for a year and already considering trading it in for a newer Matrix.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I ever have

by Tim from Chicago IL on Sun Aug 19 2018

The car is very economy in gas. Very strong and dependable , reliable, gas saver, easy to maintain, leg room, power clean air conditioner cd radio

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

corolla01

by Kikoman from Ottawa Ontario on Wed Jan 20 2010

Over all bland car and not any more reliable than any other car on the road. ..................................................................................................................................

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car i owned.

by Joo from Florida on Thu May 11 2017

Very Reliable, gets the job done perfectly.I never had a major problem in the car. Ac works fine . You can always trust old Toyota cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ever

by Corollalova from Cortland on Wed Oct 04 2017

The corolla lasts so long that it is not just a car but it is your family, family never lets you down and neither does the Corolla

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 TOYOTA COROLLA LE

by Anand from Edison on Tue May 01 2018

Excellent Condition !! Runs very good and comfortable seating arrangements. Interiors very well maintained. Rarely driven. Was used basically for commuting. Brand New Tires and Battery under Warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Always reliable. I loved it.i really loved this ac

by Barb from Wilmington OH on Tue Jan 30 2018

I really loved this car. Good mileage very few problems over the years. Comfortable with plenty of leg room in front and large trunk.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good car.

by Rased from Paterson, nj on Mon Jun 19 2017

Good value for price & less money for fuel.codt effective & good shape for parking.eventhough its old, it has all basic feature for daily use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car insurance had so far

by Mimisam from Fresno on Sun Jun 11 2017

I always love corollas but this one was stick shift so it was a lot more fun than the older ones. I still miss my Lil Igloo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Super Reliable!

by carlover325 from Placentia, CA on Thu Oct 12 2017

This is a great commuter car. It gets great gas mileage and has never broken down on us in over 15 years and 190,000 miles.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2001 Toyota Corolla

Okay, I'll admit it. As a car enthusiast, the Toyota Corolla isn't high on my list when it comes to the lust factor.

The thrills this car delivers are the sort that non-enthusiasts (that is, most people) look for in a car. It's fuel-efficient, well-built and doesn't have extravagant or wild styling that will make you look foolish two years from now.

For 2001, this pinnacle of automotive sanity gets a freshening, although only Corolla diehards will notice.

Lights go round. In the rear, new lenses lend the car a resemblance to the pricey Lexus GS 300/400. Up front, new round, multi-reflector headlamp lenses bookend a new chrome-trimmed grille that calls to mind the Toyota Camry. A new front fascia... Read More