2013 Highlander Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2013 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

$16,521 - $28,209  MSRP Range
2013 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

13 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 Toyota Highlander Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very well thought out vehicle

by Burl from Maine on Sat Feb 16 2013

I generally purchase the best in a class of auto and then run for at least ten years. Toyota has earned it's high reputation for reliability and value. This vehicle gives me 29.8 MPG with excellent security and plenty of power. Starts well at -18* and goes well in heavy snow. We are very happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this Hybrid

by Love Aston Martin from Kansas City, MO on Sun Jan 27 2013

Bought a new 2013 Highlander Hybrid Limited, and love the vehicle. Drove it on a 1,800 mile trip and the ride and feel were great. Got 27 - 28 mpg on the trip. Have gotten as much as 28.5 in town. The Limited is loaded, with features, lots of cup holders for passengers, great if you have kids. Love the 3D view of the Navigation system. It is quite to drive and there was very little road noise.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Toyoya Highlander Hybred

by Mom of Two from Portland, Oregon on Tue Apr 08 2014

We bought my Toyota Highlander Hybred last may and I love it. I am averaging 32MPG, BUT that is really dependent on how you drive this truck. In town driving like you should it is easy to get 32mpg, but if you can not keep your foot out of the accelerator it will not give you the gas mileage you are looking for. On long trips driving in the mountains I get between 26 and 28MPG, but that is driving 70, so I am sure it would do much better if I was driving at a lower speed limit. I have plenty of room for my family. Two car seat fit fine. Drives very nice in the snow and ice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car I've owned

by ianmichael from decatur,il on Sat Nov 09 2013

A+ nice ride, good gas mileage, quiet on the road,the interior looks great lot of room, and even more room when you fold the back seats down

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fuel efficient for the comfort of all.

by Dantheman on Wed Aug 09 2017

We wanted a vehicle that would be able to comfortably carry 6 passengers, but also didn't want a minivan. The highlander had the most amount of legroom. Also we are getting 32mpg with the hybrid model. We'll worth the fuel savings. Very smooth ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

HIGHLANDER HYBRID

by LANDSCAPING from DURHAM, CT on Fri Feb 01 2013

TRADED IN A 2008 HIGHLANDER HYBRID FOR A 2013 HIGHLANDER HYBRID LIMITED . GOT A GREAT TRADE IN VALUE AND THE LIMITED HAS ALL POSSIBLE OPTION INCLUDED IN THIS MODEL. NEVER HAD THE 2008 BROUGHT IN FOR ANY SERVICE BUT OIL CHANGES. AVERAGE MPG WAS 26 MPG. WITH GAS GOING UP THIS CAR WILL PAY FOR ITSELF.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A most desirable and reliable hybriod

by Hybrid Enthusiast from Thornton, Colorado on Wed Feb 06 2013

My 2013 Highlander Hybrid Limited is a most desirable auto in all repects. My other auto is a 2009 Highlander Hybrid Limited with 50,00o + miles. I am so satisfied with it that I kept it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not as good as expected

by Andreas from San Jose, CA on Sun Jul 14 2013

We were looking for a fairly big car with good gas mileage and while this car fullfills this requirement, there are some very clear wrong statements in the advertising and short comings with this car. Wrong statements : If you don't change your driving style, there is no way to get a 28/28 mpg with this car. Over the last 4000 miles, my wife got overall 24.4 mpg with probably a mix of 50/50 of highway/city driving. She is not driving overly agressive, but she hasn't learned the "hybrid driving" way means basically "no acceleration", "drive slower as the speed limit" and so on. The car has some very annoying "features" for a car in a price range of >$45k. A few examples : the key looks to be for 15k car - basically very cheap - please look at your competitors, the navigation system is really bad and doesn't allow passengers to enter a new target while driving, the design of the seat warmer switches is probably the worst I have ever seen and the brand new central radio / navi / traffic .... system is far behind competitors systems. These are some of the annoying things with this car. Also - get used to the fact that maintenance is not incldued at all - like with many other competitors. You pay from day 1 for any maintenance needs. This was our first Toyota and I have to say, I am not too impressed and I am not certain we will go this way again in the future.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Car mileage

by Mafiz from Ontairo, Canada on Thu Sep 03 2015

TRADED IN A 2002 HIGHLANDER HYBRID FOR A 2013 HIGHLANDER HYBRID LIMITED . GOT A TRADE IN VALUE AND THE LIMITED HAS ALL POSSIBLE OPTION INCLUDED IN THIS MODEL. NEVER HAD THE 2002 BROUGHT IN FOR ANY SERVICE BUT OIL CHANGES. I'M GETTING 26 MPG. ADVERTISE MILEAGE 32/36 MPG HWY/CITY. I'M NOT ATT ALL HAPPY WITH THE GAS CONSUMPTION.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great car

by Lutsen Perkins from MN on Fri Jul 27 2018

I loved the style of my 2006. purchased a used 2013 and I feel the car is too big but comfortable. I like the older style better. If you want a bigger car you could move up to the 4-runner. Not sure why they changed the size, it was not necessary and I don't like the look as well. However, the ride is comfortable and good mileage for the hybrid

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2013 Toyota Highlander Hybrid


If there are four people or fewer in your family, the 2013 Toyota Highlander Hybrid rocks as a family hauler. With good looks, great fuel efficiency and flexible seating configurations, everything about it screams family SUV. Unless of course there are more than four people in your family — it won't quite rock for you.

While the 2013 Toyota Highlander Hybrid does have three rows and available seating for seven, the third row eats up most of the cargo space.

Toyota is addressing this by redesigning the Highlander and Highlander Hybrid for 2014. The SUV grows 3 inches in length and will have room for eight passengers and more cargo space. It's expected to go on sale in early 2014.

I was excited... Read More