2017 Highlander Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

$32,538 - $56,966  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

33 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Highlander Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Highlander to take your Driving to New Heights!

by Faithwalker7 from stone mtn, ga on Sun May 21 2017

I was very nice looking. Drove very smooth. Road noise to a minimum very quiet. Nice Console layout. Good Brakes and acceleration response. Good Mirror Coverage with only a small blind spot driver side. Good turn ratio if you need to turn around quickly in a short distance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value for the $$

by Boombah from Corfu, NY on Wed Apr 19 2017

After having two BMW's, I went way outside the box for a Limited Platinum Toyota Highlander Hybrid. It is extremely roomy and comfortable, very quiet, with a smooth, controlled ride. I applaud Toyota for making so many safety features standard. The fit and finish and attention to detail is excellent. I'm not going to be missing my Beemer as much as I thought!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So Far So Good

by WestSideSouthPaw from West Springfield on Thu Mar 23 2017

Only had it for a weak but love it so far. Car looks sharp and handles great. Would have gone through two fill-ups in old vehicle haven't even gone through a half tank yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have owned

by L squared from Ft. Lauderdale, Fl on Sat Jul 08 2017

Excellent. Better than Mercedes and BMW I have owned. Smooth ride, excellent powere, great gas mileage, super reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never met a bad Toyota

by Skeethree from Waretown, NJ on Tue Sep 05 2017

Replaced a 2014 Highlander with the new XLE Hybrid. Same great build quality as our old Highlander, and it uses 30% less gas. The vehicle in silver is beautiful, and driving the 40 miles home from the dealership netted 33 mpg. Pretty good for an 8 passenger 4wd SUV. Coupled with the fact that our previous Highlander only depreciated 22% over the 4 years we owned it makes the Hybrid an unbeatable deal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Highlander Owner and am Impressed

by Seports from Fort Myers, FL on Sun May 07 2017

Shopped Kia and Toyota and the highlander won us over with the interior space/comfort, safety features and the deal we made. We've only had it a week but we are not regretting the purchase and know we made a correct decision with the Highlander Limited. Best vehicle we've owned so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Sophisticated Car I have ever own!

by Rajan from Mount Prospect on Mon Nov 06 2017

After driving the all other SUV, Highlander Hybrid Platinum was by far the best value for my money. It is solidly built, quiet, and smooth. The ride is like a Lexus and it handles almost like a sedan. It's just the right size, has very comfortable seats and is loaded with technology! If you're looking for a new SUV in this segment, put this one on your short list to test drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car

by J&j from Chico, CA on Sat Apr 08 2017

This is a great car. Comfortable and easy to drive. Love the extra room. I always feel safe driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far,so good

by JGM from Minnesota on Mon Nov 27 2017

I just a typical Toyota, get in and go. Change oil, only this one says 10,000 miles first! It has one flaw in design, the GPS is stationary and does not rotate out of the sun. During certain times of the day, I cannot see the screen at all. Color combinations are limited. We ended up with a black exterior to get the interior color we wanted. After vowing to never own another black car, here we are. Seems like if they make it, you pay a lot extra for a "Limited" model and the only limited thing about it is your choices.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I owned this car

by Monwalker from Anchorage on Sat Apr 14 2018

The best car I ever have . Driving smoothly and quiet . Excellent safety features and very roomy . It’s very easy to navigate all the features . Have sunroof and loving it .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

The verdict:

If you're in the market for a non-luxury, hybrid SUV with three rows of seats, the Toyota Highlander Hybrid is a party of one. Now, thanks to wider trim level availability for 2017, the price is more reasonable than ever.

Versus the competition:

The Highlander Hybrid offers much better fuel economy than other three-row SUVs, but it also costs more.

For 2017, the regular Toyota Highlander gets a new powertrain and styling tweaks; the hybrid model gets the updated engine and fresh face, but its transmission carries over from 2016. The big news is that the hybrid is now available in LE and XLE trim levels, rounding out a lineup previously made up of the top Limited and Platinum trims only. All have all-wheel drive standard. You can compare the 2016 and 2017 hybrid models here and read about the non-hybrid model here.

Popular three-row SUVs include the Honda Pilot, Hyundai Santa Fe and Ford Explorer; compare them here.

Exterior & Styling

It looks like Toyota is pulling a page from Lexus' stylebook with the Highlander's 2017... Read More