Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2018 Highlander Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2018 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

$36,870 - $48,480  MSRP Range
2018 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

29 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Toyota Highlander Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best CAR Ever- Surpasses all my expectations

by AngOregon from Hillsboro, OR on Wed Mar 07 2018

The car is beautiful inside an out - so comfortable for Driver and all passengers are so happy! The AWD technology is so precise - I felt so safe in Oregon's ice and pouring rain, no slide whatsoever! The semi-autonomous technology is something I never knew that I absolutely need. The Hybrid gas mileage has decreased my fill-up in half for the same commute and driving pattern. The only thing is that I wish I could speak and it texts, since it already can read your texts for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Elegant car I have owned

by PunjSP from Oregon on Thu Mar 15 2018

My Hybrid highlander meets all my needs. It is fuel efficient and less noisy. It has a great boot space and I can fit a lot of stuff when i am going on a long trip. The middle row is very comfortable with a lot of leg room. The best part is that the front seats are temperature controlled and I can heat up my back muscles while driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy Highlander Human.

by AP from Peoria Area on Thu Apr 12 2018

Very comfortable, responsive vehicle. The safety features are outstanding. I purchased the vehicles as I was looking to move away from a mini van and into an SUV. Because of my past positive, experience with a hybrid, I choose that model in the highlander as well. I am so happy with my decision with the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable and reliable car thus far.

by DaveM from Fairfield, CA on Fri Dec 29 2017

All the bells and whistles, this is one comfortable vehicle. 26+ MPG so far as well. Very happy thus far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Would buy another

by Daneasdad from Middleton, WI on Sun May 06 2018

This is our second Highlander but our first hybrid. We've owned several Toyotas including RAVs, Camry, and Venza. All were superb. A friend who owns a specialty car maintenance/repair business described the Highlander best when he said "It's now a luxury SUV". I absolutely agree.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Looking - Great Mileage

by Lucky-N-Nevada from Reno, NV on Mon Jul 16 2018

My wife and I bought this new Highlander Hybrid for our cross-country trip this fall. So far indications are we made the correct choice. Yes, we would have preferred the Lexus 450h, but the price difference is just not justified for the slight upgrades. We have and recommend then Limited model with the Platinum group option. We are averaging 29 MPG through our first 1,500 miles most of which was travel through mountains at interstate speeds. We had plenty of power and great comfort too. We expect to get 30-32 once we get to the later parts of the country on our fall trip!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rav4, 5 Prius, Highlander

by Kun-Nary from Everett, WA on Mon Aug 06 2018

Reliable, quality built, excellent service, aesthetic interior and exterior, excellent performance, long lasting, good resale value. I trust all Toyota models to fit these attributes. Trust is what they have earned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our new Highlander

by EBowman from Queensbury, NY on Sat Jun 16 2018

We purchased our new 2018 Highlander Hybrid to replace our 2011 FJ Cruiser. The interior comfort and size of the cargo area will make this vehicle a great addition to enjoy on vacation. The gas mileage has been fantastic, between 28 and 30.5 mpg. I would highly recommend this vehicle for families or just people wanting to own a very comfortable, large cargo spaced vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Only Large SUV to Own

by Fish 209 from Ontario Canada on Wed May 09 2018

Traded a five year old Highlander Hybrid Limited for this XLE. Gas mileage and performance are the main reasons it is such a good 8 passenger vehicle. Excellent trade in value. The 2018 XLE seats 8 passengers and has all the standard features my 2013 limited had and more. The new Limited unfortunately only comes with Captains seats in the middle row and I preferred the 60/40 split bench. The biggest improvement over the 2013 is the "Toyota Safety Sense" which includes Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection, Auto High Beam, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (full speed), Safety: Blind Spot Monitor System with Rear Cross Traffic Alert, Lane Departure Alert with Steering Assist along with many other safety features. I was skeptical at first, but after three weeks of driving it I can understand why I actually got a reduction on my insurance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family car

by Carlosf from Phoenix, AZ on Tue May 01 2018

Great mid size SUV with third row. Toyota is the way to go. Pro’s good gas mileage Con’s wish third row had a bit more leg room

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3