2017 Prius Prime

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Prius Prime

$17,115 - $26,555  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Prius Prime

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

81 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 81 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Plug-in great option for additional mpg

by miker from Hopkinton, MA on Mon Mar 26 2018

Real life MPG (without plugging in) ranged between 63-68 April-November and about 50-54 December-March. I drive with the aim of maximizing fuel economy and range. With an 8.8 kWh capacity battery, the all electric range is only 25 miles. I pay about $0.21 per kWh of electricity from Eversource MA; if we assume it really only uses 75% of the rated capacity and to recharge back to full requires only 6.6 kWh at $0.21, that translates to approximately $1.39. This means the equivalent per gallon gasoline break-even price during the winter months is about $2.77 (6.6×0.21×50/25) and about $3.49 (6.6×0.21×63/25) during the warmer months. At todays gasoline prices, it is clearly a great option if you can plug it in for free or for less than what it costs me for delivered electricity.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Economist from Delaware on Fri Dec 08 2017

Let me say that I've only owned this car for a month. My husband has done most of the driving since I had flipped surgery and can't drive for six weeks. But that being said the ride is very comfortable, the styling inside and out is very comfortable and stylish. I love the fact that the first 25 miles is electric so all of my local driving is electric only and uses no gas. Getting 60 miles to the gallon means that when I drive to Florida we only have to stop for gas once. The only option I would like to see is opening the hatchback the use of your foot when you are carrying heavy packages One of my decisions in the purchase of this vehicle for the outstanding safety features

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is off the scale !!!

by HYPRMYLR from Queensbury, NY on Fri Nov 24 2017

Having owned a 2007 Prius, which was the best car I have ever owned, the Prius Prime is off the scale in comparison. Magnificent car !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius is a winner!

by crys58 from on Sun Apr 23 2017

The improvements for this vehicle is awesome. Lots of room and great handling. So improved, I bought one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Prius Prime

by PeterB from Middletown RI on Thu Apr 05 2018

My wife and I are 1st generation Prius owners: we had a used 2001, traded for a new 2007 to have more space for our growing family; picked up a used 2013 V when "the other car" died, and in 2018 bought a Prime when the 2007 died (215,000 miles). We still have the V for the family trips when we need the luggage space, but have been pleasantly surprised by how much the Prime can hold. And for performance, economy, styling and all around FUN, the Prime is far and away our favorite one yet. The all-electric acceleration is tremendous compared to the standard Prius. The ergonomics of the controls are superior to the past models. "400 miles on 1/4 tank of gas" is fun to say. We drive many short all-electric trip per week. Thanks Toyota for developing this amazing machine!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Who would've guessed a Prius could look so snazzy?

by CarolynS. from Pittsfield, MA on Sat Apr 07 2018

Loving my new Prius Prime! It's absolutely beautiful in red, very sporty, and drives like a dream. I've only had it for 500 miles so far, so I really can't speak to it's reliability, but so far everything's been great. The electric motor lets me plug it in at night (to a regular outlet in my garage), and my commute to work and home is primarily electric, but it also generates electricity via the wheels, and the gas kicks in when going uphills. I got up to 103 mpg the first week I owned it, and I can get even more whenever I'm just driving in town. The gas gauge didn't budge all week, and the mpg just kept going up and up. It's seamless, and so quiet, yet powerful, too. My only disappointment was that there isn't more storage room. The trunk and glove compartment are small, but, the high gas mileage is so worth it, and the seats fold down if I need to carry something bulky. If you're at all tempted to buy a hydrid, I'd recommend looking at this one!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best of both worlds--EV & Hybrid

by ShawnS from Portland, OR on Mon Sep 18 2017

Fun to watch the (lack of) movement of the gas gauge. Most of my trips are within the car's EV range. Have driven about 600 miles thus far and estimate I have used about a gallon of gas. Lots of safety bells and whistles (parks itself, has a blind spot monitor, dynamic radar cruise control, etc.) Down side: No rear windshield wiper, which affects visibility out the back window, and not a lot of luggage space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR I OWNED

by KIRK from NEW YORK on Mon Oct 02 2017

GREAT GAS MILEAGE, THE VEHICLES SAFETY FEATURES ARE STANDARD. FINDING ELECTRIC STATIONS MAY BE A PROBLEM. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius Prime

by Mugsy from Jamesville, New York on Thu Aug 31 2017

The most comfortable car I have ever had and that is many! I feel very safe in it, all the controls are easy to maneuver right in front of me. I love the styling and color. Everything about this car is perfect!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High Tech Wonder

by Davidstress from SoCal on Thu Aug 31 2017

So many amazing high tech features it really needs to be appreciated by an Engineer. Love the big screen, love the HUD, love having 2 real seats in the back without trying to shoehorn in a 3rd. Did I say I love the look, both inside and out. But you do need the center console applique package to get rid of the urinal look. Easy to install if you are handy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime

The verdict:


The 2017 Toyota Prius Prime is quirky in the driving department and overly expressive in the looks department, but its electric-only range, gas mileage and green-car mission are admirable.

Versus the competition:


Other plug-ins offer similar fuel efficiency and electric-driving range, as well as more understated, regular-car styling, but the Prius Prime's value is hard to beat.

As many of us learn in playing (losing) the stock market, timing is everything. Toyota is likely in the middle of that lesson. New for 2017, the Prius Prime is a plug-in version of the regular Prius gas/electric hybrid, and now is not a prime time for it to debut: Sales of hybrids and electrics are down, and low gas prices and a White House teeming with climate-change deniers will likely keep them that way. That’s a shame; the Prime delivers a solid fuel economy win — you just have to put up with some quirks in exchange.  

The Prime goes up against other plug-in hybrids like the Kia Optima Plug-In, Chevrolet Volt and Ford C-Max Energi. Compare them here

A Curious Blend of Strange and... Read More