NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 RAV4 Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2019 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

$27,850 - $35,850  MSRP Range
2019 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

55 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Hybrid > 8 Speed

by Dante from WA on Wed May 01 2019

I own a 2019 Hybrid RAV4 XLE and am surprised by some of the negative press this vehicle has received. Granted, my previous vehicle was a '00 pickup. The experience is like upgrading from a rowboat to the U.S.S. Enterprise. My last car had a cassette deck! That said, Toyota's new Hybrid RAV4 is an exceptional vehicle. It is also vastly superior to the 8-speed RAV4. I test drove both, and could see why the 8-speed is criticized for being loud and "gravelly." The Hybrid is virtually silent (even for an eCVT), cabin noise is minimal, and engine noise during rapid acceleration is acceptable. During the past month, I've averaged 43-44mpg (better than the advertised mpg) in the city. More than impressive for an SUV/Crossover. Driving a hybrid is not the same as a traditional automatic. There are great videos online that explain how to achieve good fuel efficiency. I recommend the Hybrid RAV4 without reservation. If you're in the market for a RAV4, pay the extra $800 for the hybrid. It's more than worth the upgrade.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

82 out of 82 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

RAV 4 - Best car i have owned

by Photographer from Pueblo Colorado on Tue Jul 09 2019

Out of 11 vehicles I have owned in my lifetime this RAV 4 Hybrid ranks # 1. I’ve owned 2019 Subaru Ascent, 2017 Subaru Outback Honda CRV’s and other older cars since 1969. This RAV 4 is far superior in quality and performance. Enough written.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great successor to my previous Rav4

by Badhat from Belle Mead, NJ on Sat Jun 15 2019

The Hybrid option on this vehicle is a no-brainer. Better performance, better mileage (by a lot), and much quieter than gasoline engine model. The cost for this option is not excessive given the benefits.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new Rav4 Limited Hybrid

by Clair D. from Madison, WI. on Mon Jul 01 2019

It is exactly what I thought it would be, easy to enter and exit, solidly built, all of the latest safety equipment , good mileage ( average over 39 mpg with 1200 mi driven), looks great inside and out, over all, a wonderful vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I own

by Claudia from Riverhead ny on Wed May 08 2019

I love this car the system that brings everything I recommends economy lo recomiendo mucho el sistema que trae y es súper económico y cómodo

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

RAV4 Hybrid

by Karen from Sugar Grove on Sun Jun 23 2019

I continue to be impressed with the features and comfort of this SUV. Larger than my previous automobile, it offers easy handling and major safety options.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VERY nice inside, decent mileage, quiet 37mpg

by MTB Mikey from Laguna, CA on Mon Jul 22 2019

Limited has all the bells and whistles, i got ALL the upgrades too. Replaced a 2001 Highlander Limited which I loved, but this is sooooo much nicer! The ONLY thing I think the manufacturer needs to offer is a 2” receiver that is in the middle of bumper. I had to buy asfter-market and install, which wasn’t bad but it lost me 3” of clearance in rear. Car is very peppy and I find it quiet after 1000 miles. You WILL NOT get the estimated 40mpg. I have been babying the gas pedal, and am squeezing out 36-37. I put in all the extras and LOVE the 360 degree “view”, heated/cooled seats, apple car play, and huge sunroof. I got the extended warranty pushed out to 10years, and 6years of full maintenance. Total car cost $47k everything included. A steal for such a quality vehicle.. I’ve had 6 prior toyotas and loved them all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable driving car

by Lucyspin from Gainesville, FL on Mon Aug 05 2019

If Toyota still made the Matrix, I would have bought another. But, facing an expensive repair bill after 17 years and over 190,000 miles, we decided to buy a car that gets better gas mileage. With the Rav4 Hybrid I am getting 39 mpg in town so far. It is comfortable, roomy, has lots of great safety features, a smooth ride. I am learning to really love driving this car. Can't wait to take it on a long trip.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High Tech Hybrid

by Retired Judge from Eagle, ID on Tue Jun 04 2019

There is a lot to learn, but this is because this is a lot of car. I very much enjoy the safety, economy and comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new car

by Anita from Durango, Colorado on Thu Jul 04 2019

Car drives great. Cannot comment on reliability since I just bought it yesterday. Very computerized so will take some getting used to. The only thing I do not like is that the interior storage spaces are smaller than in my old 2012 Subaru Forrester. I will have to be judicious in the junk I keep I the car. But the power this vehicle has compared to my old car makes up for a smaller door side pocket!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6