1996 Tacoma

Consumer Reviews

1996 Toyota Tacoma

$1,909 - $10,397  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Toyota Tacoma?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

good runner

by chevy fan from aliquippa pa on Thu Nov 29 2007

runs really good and is super good on gas and still will haul a 1/2 ton of gravel any day of the week there is still no rust on the body at all

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

mighty tacoma!

by TACOMA woman from indiana on Tue Dec 05 2006

i'm the original owner and have had very few problems with this truck. it has over 100,000 miles but still runs great and looks great. it was well-maintained and waxed regularly.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

toyota tacoma xcab.1996.

by G.J from ceres ca. on Tue Jan 27 2015

replaced timing chain water pump and oil pump just for a little chirping i can't ear it was my daughter then do it water pump and oil pump not a problem was the same thing installed old one or new one.installed new one normal maintenance after 397.000 miles on original motor.now have 402.000 no problem. I bought on 1998 second owner. .amazing pick up

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck I ever owned

by dpeberly from Huntington Beach, CA on Tue May 15 2018

This truck is the best I've owned and reliable. Clean and drives like a new truck. Original owner and paint. All records available upon request.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

rockin toyo taco still strong at 285+++ miles

by rockintaco from Northern Colorado on Tue Dec 18 2012

So my wife had a 2000 tacoma pre runner new off the lot when i met her, part of the reason I fell for her 13 years ago ! A really nice truck but no real offroad ability in the colorado high country. It was a such a great truck, that i bought a nearly identical 96 tacoma loaded with a standard tranny, locking manual hubs and sported a slighly peppier 2.7l engine. This truck is rock solid and takes on all the colorado high country has to offer it gets great mpg for such an effeciant onroad/off road machine averaging 19-20 combuned hiway town miles. Love the truck, love the compatibility of years for parts to it makes keeping it looking fresh easy and affordable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This is a Life-time Sport truck, a classic Toyota.

by Don from Phoenix, AZ on Mon Jun 04 2018

This is my all time favorite 4WD Sport Truck. The best truck I have ever owned, and I do not like having to sell it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has lasted 22yrs

by Turkman from Central Pa on Sun Aug 19 2018

Truck gets u where u need to go. From logging roads to the beach. I haul coal and wood in wintertime. Still has cold a/c never been recharged with freon. Not a big cab only extended behind the seat, but all your important stuff fits. 22 mpg with 5 speed manual (Not many around) with 3.4 L V6. Rust is like gray hair on middle aged guys and Tacomas will rust.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck ever made imo

by Jutta from Acton, CA on Wed Oct 11 2017

At 340,000 miles the 3.4 v6 is so quiet at idle I sometimes think it stopped running. I’ve hauled a 10,000 pound trailer load of equipment up rediculous steep grades in low range 4wd many times. 5speed manual is bullet proof, tons of torque, no leaks no problems except for a radiator replacement at 310 kmiles. I can’t wear this thing out, what a work truck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Toyota always drives for a very long time

by Vahan777 on Fri Sep 01 2017

It is a very reliable car cause it's Toyota! And all Toyotas are all the same reliable and long driving car before it breaks down on you!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1